We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”
Review of Alpine Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alpine Guesthouse
Ranked #25 of 75 Dingle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
Reviewed September 27, 2009

My husband, adult daughter and I all really enjoyed our stay at the Alpine Guesthouse, Dingle Town. The triple room was spacious, very clean and comfortable. Our room had the added bonus of a lovely view. Breakfasts were generous and tasty. The gardens were lovely with huge, beautiful hydrangeas! Paul O'Shea was a warm and welcoming host. Dingle Town was an easy, two block walk from the guesthouse. There is a spacious parking lot. I can think of nothing negative to say about our stay!

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeenOnTheRoadAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    65
    22
    4
    2
See reviews for
33
73
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2009

This place needs a serious makeover. The rooms are poorly decorated and amount of dust on the carpets is incredible - little clouds of dust from every footstep!!!! When looking for an electric socket to plug in a phone charger I moved the locker in the room to reveal mounds of cobwebs and dust.

I'm surprised at all the good reviews here... Location is good, owners are friendly but the dirt is appalling.

Dirty, musty and overpriced.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank little_explorer_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 8, 2009

Located on the main road into Dingle from Tralee, but just a very short walk (less than 5 minutes) from the town center, the Alpine is a great find and great value. Due to its status as a tourist hot-spot, rooms in Dingle B&B's average around e70/night for a standard single room, but one can be had here for e40! I was very fortunate to find a room on Race Week and not be overcharged.

I must admit, the rooms are VERY outdated, and the walls seem a bit thin - I could hear someone snoring in another room. However, as I was visiting family, all I needed was a comfortable bed for the night and a powerful shower. Both of these requirements were satisfied.

As I was told by the manager/owner, "it's a tiny room, but I charge you a tiny price"!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MilesDarkely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, PA
1 review
Reviewed August 3, 2009

We were scheduled to arrive at the Alpine on a Saturday night, and ran into a huge problem. We were broken down by the side of the road with no help from the car rental agency. We called the Alpine to let them know we may not make it there, and Paul arranged a bus service (big enough for 6 people, their luggage and golf clubs) to come and "collect" us within and hour. We would be arriving after restaurants stopped serving, so he even called a nearby spot and had them hold a table for us. His help didn't end there. WIth no car, we were able to spend an extra night there. The guesthouse had a wonderful breakfast, rooms and sitting area. Nice views from the room, too!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelhound59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 3, 2008

We read Rick Steve's recommendations for Dingle and he was right on the money. We contacted the Alpine directly and Paul O'Shea responded right away. The price was very affordable for the nice accomodations we received and the great breakfast too. Paul also advised us on pubs, places to see, and other things of interest. He was very nice and made our visit to Dingle so enjoyable. I know this place is real busy during the summer months. It was still a very nice place to visit in November and I would recommend it. We plan to return again and hope Paul will still be there. Great Job Paul!

  • Liked — The host, Paul O'Shea
  • Disliked — Nothing, everything was great.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank blackpono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2008

We were driving around Ireland on our honeymoon & found the Alpine Guesthouse nice, comfortable, and friendly. It is a large, 3-storey building that's like a cross between a motel and a B&B. The owner, Paul, was very nice, and the breakfast (which is included) was good. We had a nice, spacious double room with ensuite and it had a big wardrobe, TV, another single bed, mirrored dresser, and double bedside tables. They left a kettle, tea bags, sugar, etc, in the room so we could make tea anytime. The location was good, and the view is ok. Since it is on the way into town, it's not right in the heart of everything, but that also means it's very quiet. And Dingle isn't very big so the Guesthouse is within 3-5 mins walk to everything anyway. It's right near a gas bar with convenience store, which also has a laundry/dry cleaner next door, so all of that is quite handy. It's not posh or anything (see photos of room & exterior), but it's clean, comfortable, roomy, and reasonably-priced. We thought it was great, and loved the town of Dingle generally. Definitely consider staying here!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westielover_TO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2007

This place was fairly inexpensive (38E/night, double room with a private bathroom) and a great base of operations for visiting Dingle and the surrounding area. We liked the view of a cow pasture across the road from our front-facing room. The proprietor, though introverted for a B&B guy, was very nice and responsive to questions and concerns. Breakfast itself was traditional and quite good. The walls were thin, but fortunately none of our neighbors during this stay were loud. Bed was very comfortable. A tiny television in the room brought in two or three channels. A small shower stall (even by European standards) made for a cramped bathing experience, and it was a little chilly in our room and bathroom.
We were eating a lot of picnic meals, so we appreciated that next door is a large convenience/store market, and the SuperValu supermarket is about five minutes' walk away. It's also about a 15-minute walk or stumble from any pub in Dingle home to the Alpine.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank rue_papillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dingle hotels
0.4 mi away
Barr Na Sraide Inn
Barr Na Sraide Inn
#34 of 75 in Dingle
183 reviews
0.5 mi away
Harbour Nights Bed and Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Bambury's Guesthouse
Bambury's Guesthouse
#11 of 75 in Dingle
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Dingle Quayside
The Dingle Quayside
#9 of 75 in Dingle
348 reviews
0.7 mi away
Coastline House
Coastline House
#12 of 75 in Dingle
358 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dingle Esk View
Dingle Esk View
#7 of 23 in Dingle
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Guesthouse

Property: Alpine Guesthouse
Address: Alpine Guesthouse Mail Road, Dingle, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Dingle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Alpine Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Guesthouse Hotel Dingle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing