We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely respite on a "desperate day"”
Review of Alpine Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alpine Guesthouse
Ranked #25 of 75 Dingle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
California, USA
728
Reviewed July 13, 2005

Stayed in a charming single room on 25 May 2005. There was a cozy fire in the sitting room when we arrived in a storm. Furniture was lovely. Luckily the next morning was sunny and we could enjoy the spacious lawn with its benches and mini stone circle.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 165 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2005

Of all the places I have stayed in Dingle (while is alot) this was the worst but dont get me wrong they may have ironed out the problems since I was last there. Its a bit further out than most of the B&B`s in Dingle and a fair old jaunt back from the nightclub. I stayed there in February and as far as I`m aware they use it as a kind of boarding house then. Was there with my ex when 2 nurses came barging into our room, the room which they had been staying in for a week while working in Dingle and nearly caught us in a compromising position. Kinda dodgy the way their rooms have 2 sets of keys. Staff could be more friendly too.

  • Stayed: February 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank hannigan007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2004

Stayed here August 15 and 16, 2004. Booked a family room for 120 euros per night.Rate was fine which is why I booked it, however compared to the places we paid 130 euros for, like Murphys in Killarney and Aranview in Doolin, this place was a dump.Family room for 4 was tiny , obviously for double occupancy but 2 additional single beds were put in as well. Bathroom was a box, used soap when we arrived, hair in bed. Carpets were filthy, need a good steam clean. It was cold and heat was not on, and coming from Canada we can tolerate fairly low temps.Bathtowels should be cut up and used as rags. Towels were plentiful but threadbare with frayed edges, literally threads on each side. Breakfast was good. Paul is pleasant , but needs to spruce up his rooms. Also no harbour view even though it seems so on the web site photos. If you can AVOID this place, pay the difference and stay elewhere. It is cute to look at on the outside , but the room we had was gross.We could not wait to leave and it spoilt our time in Dingle. Not worth the price.

  • Stayed: August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Sungirlxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Rio Rancho, NM
17
Reviewed June 7, 2004

We were in Dingle from PM, 4/19/04 to AM 4/21/04. Fortunately, we (three adults) stayed at the Alpine House, a lovely small hotel. We liked everything about this hotel, including the substantial breakfasts.

There are many things to see & do in Dingle & the food is uniformly good. One Pub at which we ate had less than adequate service--perhaps it was just an "off" day. We had both food & drink at The Armada--highly recommended.

If it rains in Dingle, it may be formidable. (It was the night of the 20th--very hard rain plus hail.)

A "must see" is St. Mary's Church--lovely.

We all wished we'd allocated more time to spend in Dingle--a fascinating, friendly little town!

Daniel

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niko O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne-Laure B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2016, traveled with friends
Thank Corin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dingle hotels
0.2 mi away
Dingle Benners Hotel
Dingle Benners Hotel
#5 of 10 in Dingle
812 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Dingle Pub
The Dingle Pub
#9 of 10 in Dingle
197 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dingle Bay Hotel
Dingle Bay Hotel
#7 of 10 in Dingle
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Tower View Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Sraid Eoin House
Sraid Eoin House
#40 of 75 in Dingle
80 reviews
0.4 mi away
Barr Na Sraide Inn
Barr Na Sraide Inn
#30 of 75 in Dingle
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Guesthouse

Address: Alpine Guesthouse Mail Road, Dingle, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Dingle
Price Range: $103 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Alpine Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Guesthouse Hotel Dingle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing