We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”
Review of Alpine Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alpine Guesthouse
Ranked #30 of 75 Dingle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We really enjoyed the Alpine Guesthouse, situated overlooking Dingle Town, the harbor, and sheep grazing on the hillside behind. We had a corner room on the second floor with a great view of the harbor and wonderful sunsets. Breakfast was excellent. Paul, the owner, offered exc excellent suggestions for places to eat and listen to music. He couldn't have been more hospitable. The guesthouse is a five minute walk from the town, where there are lots of nice shops, a great bookstore, and many good places to eat.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 165 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2013

We were delighted with our welcoming bright sunshiny double room on the second floor, with a view of the ocean! It was clean, and inviting. We also appreciated the free wifi which worked in the room. The lovely girl who greeted us makes this place really special, and it’s recommended by Rick Steves so we received a discount when we mentioned it. I asked the girl where to go for music and dinner. She recommended “Lord Baxter” for good fish and meat. Great recommendations! The owner seated us and a delightful local couple sat at a reserved table to our right. They apparently enjoy dinner there every Sunday and he was a riot! We moved on to the “Courthouse Pub” her second recommendation of the evening for traditional Irish music. We had walked around the town and discovered many places advertising music, however this one started early. The place was absolutely packed, so we ended up in the back room with, as it turned out, fellow Canadians! In the morning we enjoyed a delicious Irish fry, one of my favorite things about this country - my first is the friendly Irish people! We really liked this hotel, it felt like a B&B, because it was clean and comfortable, but most of all because of the friendly hostess who greeted us and gave us great recommendations! We walked to the restaurant and pub, the hotel is in a good location. It was also very quiet.

Room Tip: We had a room on the street side with a lovely view of the ocean and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank netnrrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

The guest house is very easy to find as it is just as you enter Dingle. A short walk and you are in the town and by the harbour. We had a very good well sized room at the back, away from the road, the room was very quite. Breakfast was good and the staff very friendly.
There are some very good pubs in Dingle, we went in Murphys, for 'Murphys' and food. The atmosphere in there was buzzing and beer good and the food very tasty.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GAD_and_LPD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I was unable to book one of the more expensive B&B's in Dingle but was fortunate to book the Alpine Guesthouse. Close to everything but not noisy. Room was charming and the bathroom large. The host Paul was one of the friendliest folks I have met and wanted to make sure I had a good stay with helpful suggestions. Included breakfast was good. Really enjoyed walking the town and all the music in the pubs. One of my favorite places on my tour of Ireland.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank BartLasVegas_Nevada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

My friend and I stayed 2 nights here recently in Dingle. The location of the B&B was great and their breakfast in the morning was more than generous! Paul, the owner, was extremely gracious, helpful and a great source for recommendations in Dingle. The rooms were clean, large in size and the bathroom was a perfect size for two people. Based on our stay, I would highly recommend staying at Paul's B&B for your next trip to Dingle.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

The central location and friendliness of the owner (Paul) were the highlights of this hotel. The rooms are quite small and tv is circa 1980. The bathroom is large and shower was hot. The rooms were very clean, dated furniture and decor. It is a good homebase if you need a place in dingle town, but it is pretty basic accommodation for a pretty hefty price (which is typical in Ireland). Wifi in room was spotty, signal strength was poor.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lewisrotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I stayed here the weekend and dont have any really complaints except maybe for the price at €45 p.p its alot for this b&b as it badly needs redecoration. The rooms are very unmodern alot of old furniture but clean. The showers were not great and the bathrooms really need an update.

The breakfast was nice a great variety, the owners seemed lovely and friendly. To be honest I would stay here again but its nothing to write home about its a very average b&b taking advantage of the hotspot that Dingle is.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mariekerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dingle hotels
0.2 mi away
Dingle Benners Hotel
Dingle Benners Hotel
#4 of 9 in Dingle
798 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Dingle Quayside
The Dingle Quayside
#10 of 75 in Dingle
374 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Lighthouse B & B
The Lighthouse B & B
#9 of 75 in Dingle
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Paddy's Palace  Dingle Peninsula
0.5 mi away
Harbour Nights Bed and Breakfast
0.8 mi away
Milltown House
Milltown House
#6 of 75 in Dingle
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Guesthouse

Address: Alpine Guesthouse Mail Road, Dingle, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Dingle
Price Range: $80 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Alpine Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Guesthouse Hotel Dingle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing