We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could improve”
Review of Alpine Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alpine Guesthouse
Ranked #28 of 75 Dingle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pine Grove, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Could improve”
Reviewed June 30, 2011

The staff were neither very knowledgeable nor friendly despite a recommendation from Rick Steves'. We never saw the owners in the 3 days that we stayed there. There is no elevator, so be prepared to carry your luggage up 2 flights of stairs. We go for B & Bs because of the personal touch we get from the locals. This would not be a place I'd recommend going to.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lms15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    66
    23
    4
    2
See reviews for
34
76
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2011

Alpine House was a great location in Dingle. We could easily walk to town.
Paul and his staff were very helpful with restaurant recommendations, things to do and even with the time of the church service. Nice breakfast, clean rooms and great staff made our stay very pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Duckygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2011

The Alpine is sort of non-discript, mid range, clean and quiet. The bed was a little hard, which europeans like. The high point, breakfast was lovely and the man running the place is as nice as can be. It is a little off the main drag but really not far, maybe two blocks. The price was 70 EUR for the night-two people. See our photo. Another good option around the corner is the Captain's house around the corner.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank km3021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2010

The Alpine Guest House, situated slightly out of dingle, but certainly within walkling distance is a charming place. The room was average hotel fare, and nothing really significant stuck out. The proprietor was helpful in telling us where to go in Dingle and what we really should see. The only problem was our 2-3am wake up call where the people above us decided to come in from the bar and then have loud 'fun time'. Besides that, I'm sure your stay would be much quieter and just as lovely. Very comfortable beds: I slept better than I had in a month.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZenonZyyzzkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2010

Visited Dingle for a few days in March 2010. Drove into town without a reservation and were delighted to find Alpine House. Owners were very helpful with suggestions for sightseeing, golf, etc. Alpine House is within walking distance of all Dingle's restaurants and pubs. Looking forward to returning!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JW_3301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2010

This nice guesthouse was in a perfect location on the edge of town. The host was helpful and informative, the room was comfortable and pretty, and the breakfast was delicious. I highly recommend this place. Great price, too.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pattys83problems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2010

This hotel is excellent for the price. They charge a reasonable rate which includes breakfast and parking. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The owner personally showed us to our room, explaining the ammenities and telling us what sites we shouldn't miss. He then cooked our breakfast the next morning! Its location is ideal - close enough to walk into downtown, but far enough away from the noise of the crowds. Breakfast included standard buffet items and delicious cooked-to-order foods. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davejeanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dingle hotels
0.3 mi away
The Dingle Pub
The Dingle Pub
#8 of 9 in Dingle
183 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dingle Benners Hotel
Dingle Benners Hotel
#4 of 9 in Dingle
762 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Dingle Quayside
The Dingle Quayside
#9 of 75 in Dingle
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Barr Na Sraide Inn
Barr Na Sraide Inn
#29 of 75 in Dingle
196 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dingle Atlantic Lodge B&B
0.5 mi away
Dingle Harbour Lodge
Dingle Harbour Lodge
#48 of 75 in Dingle
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Guesthouse

Property: Alpine Guesthouse
Address: Alpine Guesthouse Mail Road, Dingle, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Dingle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Alpine Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Guesthouse Hotel Dingle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing