We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch poor value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dingle Skellig Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Dingle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We ordered soup of the day, a chicken salad sandwich and tea for two. The soup was average, the sandwich @ €6 was made with dry sliced bread and the contents unimaginative. A pot of tea cost €5. Just not good value for money in a reputable hotel.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Anne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham F, General Manager at Dingle Skellig Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Dear Anne O
I was most disappointed to read your review of your recent lunch with us here at The Dingle Skellig Hotel. I would like to assure you that every day we receive a delivery of fresh bread from a local supplier ensuring that the bread is as fresh as possible. Any added extras are available on request to any of our Sandwiches.
I hope that you will return to the hotel on another occassion.
Kind regards
Graham Fitzgerald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,683)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

879 - 885 of 1,683 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and all I can say is it was an average stay. Yes, as many have stated, the hotel needs an upgrade, both the grounds and interior common spaces are worn and dated. Our room was quite large and and was immaculately clean. The bed was as hard as a rock and was difficult to to sleep on. The hotel does serve an excellent breakfast and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank ccmckn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham F, General Manager at Dingle Skellig Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Dear ccmckn

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at The Dingle Skellig Hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your breakfast and I have passed on your kind compliments about our staff directly to them. Regarding the common areas there has been a recent major refurbisment to the Lobby area and a plan is in place to continue these refurbishments to the common areas mentioned at the end of the current season.
I hope to welcome you back to the Dingle Skelig Hotel in the near future.
Kind regards
Graham Fitzgerald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Our overall experience of this hotel was very poor, the food and drink were very expensive and the food was not great at all, We had 4 dinners in the restaurant and the dessert was the best part.. The reception staff and some of the management team are exceptionally rude. There were a group of 8 of us and all had the same experience. Basic Customer service skills should be thought to these people. Always check your bill as there were several mistakes on all our bills. We definitely will not be going back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was small and the toilet was tiny. No air-conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Claregirl1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham F, General Manager at Dingle Skellig Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Dear lela14

I was most surprised to read your recent review of your stay at the Dingle Skellig Hotel. Especially puzzling is the comments regarding our Management and Staff as I receive high levels of positive feedback from our guests regarding the staff on a regular basis. After such comments in your review I would hope you afford me the time to discuss the matters with you directly at a suitable time.
Graham Fitzgerald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights and it was a nice change from a B & B to a more traditional hotel. The rooms were a nice size with big bathrooms and very friendly personnel. The breakfast buffet was awesome, so many choices and different types of foods available. The only issue is if you have a room on the first floor near the driveway, it is noisy as cars do drive back and forth at all hours and since there is no AC, the windows stayed open and it was noisy. If you can avoid those rooms, the hotel is wonderful.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tats802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham F, General Manager at Dingle Skellig Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Dear tats802

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay at the Dingle Skellig Hotel. I was delighted to read your compliments on our Breakfast and our friendly staff. I hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back again for another stay.
Warm regards
Graham Fitzgerald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

For Ireland I would consider this a large resort with several dining rooms, bars and a huge breakfast buffet. we all got junior suites which indeed had plenty of room to spread out. Our view of the water overlooked the parking lot so not so spectacular however the view from breakfast area was beautiful. Buffet was good, they don't know how to cook eggs. my omelet was less than special. The bar area was great and served after hours in the private location. the grounds were beautiful and peaceful. a little walking and you're in town, so its pretty quite as far as road noise and people noise.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sllass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham F, General Manager at Dingle Skellig Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Dear sugarlandlass

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us at the Dingle Skellig Hotel. It was a pleasure to read your nice comments regarding our bedrooms, location, grounds and our Blaskets Bar. I hope that you will return to the hotel for another visit.
Kind regards
Graham Fitzgerald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Although it was a long time since my visit, I keep dreaming of the breakfast buffet and can't wait to revisit. The hotel breakfast was sincerely out of this world and the best breakfast I've ever had.

Lovely view from the jacuzzi. And Sharon at the Spa was absolutely fantastic. Look forward to have a YonKa treatment again.

The dinner both at the restaurant and the bar (thai curry) was perfect. Highly recommend this place and look forward to visit again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lylnas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham F, General Manager at Dingle Skellig Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Dear Yazmine82

Thank you for reviewing your recent visit to the Dingle Skellig Hotel and for the very kind compliments about our Breakfast, Barfood and your experience at our Peninsula Spa. We hope to see you for another occassion.
Kind regards
Graham Fitzgerald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

This place wouldn't win any style awards, but if it's relaxation and comfort you're looking for this is the place. From the hot-tub outdoors with the view of Dingle Bay, to the cosy fires and can't do enough for you staff, this place is a great hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham F, General Manager at Dingle Skellig Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Dear Michael O

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at the Dingle Skellig Hotel. I was delighted that you awarded us the title of "most comfortable hotel" you have stayed in and thank you for your compliments regarding our staff. I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again for a future stay.
Kind regards
Graham Fitzgerald
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dingle hotels
0.5 mi away
Dingle Benners Hotel
Dingle Benners Hotel
#4 of 9 in Dingle
801 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dingle Bay Hotel
Dingle Bay Hotel
#6 of 9 in Dingle
471 reviews
0.4 mi away
Greenmount House
Greenmount House
#2 of 9 in Dingle
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Heaton's Guesthouse
0.5 mi away
The Dingle Pub
The Dingle Pub
#8 of 9 in Dingle
197 reviews
0.9 mi away
Milltown House
Milltown House
#5 of 75 in Dingle
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dingle Skellig Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dingle Skellig Hotel

Address: Annascaul Road | Dingle Bay, Dingle, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Dingle
Price Range: $155 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dingle Skellig Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dingle Skellig Hotel is situated on the magnificent Dingle Peninsula and boasts stunning views of Dingle Bay. The Peninsula Spa offers a wide range of luxurious treatments using Yon Ka products. Dingle Skellig Hotel is renowned for it's outstanding service, great food and superior hospitality. Facilities include Skellig Creche, Fungi Kids Club, Leisure Club including Pool, Kids Pool and Gymnasium.Dingle town center is a short stroll away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dingle Skellig Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skellig Hotel
Skellig Dingle
Dingle Hotel Skellig

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing