We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Seafood Chowder ever!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chowder Cafe & Restaurant

Chowder Cafe & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 79 Restaurants in Dingle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $22
Cuisines: Irish, Cafe, Seafood, European, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Cash Only, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are a small restaurant serving breakfast using locally made bacon, puddings and sausages along with local free range eggs. We also have pancakes with fresh fruit and maple flavour syrup. served 10-12, Our lunch menu 12-4 is about Dingle fresh fish and Irish meat. Our Chowder is recommended We do have a great Club sandwich menu including veggie ones. Please note that we are a small kitchen which means we cannot cater for gluten/nut allergies, also vegans should be aware we of our limitations. Regarding credit/debit cards we don't accept them as the bank charges we are offered are too high.We would rather keep our prices as reasonable as possible.
Colorado
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Best Seafood Chowder ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Quaint restaurant in Dingle that we stumbled upon. I grew up in New England and I have eaten all kinds of chowder, but the Chowder House seafood chowder was the best I've ever had. Chunks of fresh seafood in a light base, not a heavy cream. Soooo good!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank paintedtoenails2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    327
    93
    14
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, MN
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“See why it's a chef's favorite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stopped by the Bull's Head to eat, but they weren't open. However the chef was preparing food for that night. We asked him where we should eat for a late lunch and he said he and some of his buddies like the Chowder Cafe. We now know why. The seafood chowder put the others I've had in Ireland to shame. Rich flavor, a variety of seafood, oh by the way, did I mention the flavor. I also had the mussels. Excellent as well. My wife had a Fish Chowder Pie with a fresh salad that she also enjoyed. We wish Dingle wasn't so far away from Killarney so we could come back tomorrow before we take off to Dublin.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fred_from_Rocester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“very good value for wholesome food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

good food, reasonably priced,well presented and fresh from the sea. no complaints about our evening meal here.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank bridinban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great for a quick bite to eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Grabbed an early lunch here one afternoon. Service was great and food was yummy. Glad we got there a little early, as the place filled up quick.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsGable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlegregory, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great menu, great service. Go!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Popped in recently for a spot of lunch. I couldnt help but get the chowder... The service was quick and extremely helpful. The chower wasnt as thick as I usually like it but it had an array of fish and shellfish in it...delicious!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank harry h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chowder Cafe & Restaurant also viewed

Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
 
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
 

Been to Chowder Cafe & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing