We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good value for wholesome food”
Review of Chowder Cafe

Chowder Cafe
Ranked #2 of 77 Restaurants in Dingle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $23
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: We are a small restaurant serving breakfast using locally made bacon, puddings and sausages along with local free range eggs. We also have pancakes with fresh fruit and maple flavour syrup. served 10-12, Our lunch menu 12-4 is about Dingle fresh fish and Irish meat. Our Chowder is recommended We do have a great Club sandwich menu including veggie ones. Please note that we are a small kitchen which means we cannot cater for gluten/nut allergies, also vegans should be aware of our limitations. Regarding credit/debit cards we don't accept them as the bank charges we are offered are too high.We would rather keep our prices as reasonable as possible.
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“very good value for wholesome food”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

good food, reasonably priced,well presented and fresh from the sea. no complaints about our evening meal here.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank bridinban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    390
    108
    18
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great for a quick bite to eat”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Grabbed an early lunch here one afternoon. Service was great and food was yummy. Glad we got there a little early, as the place filled up quick.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsGable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlegregory, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great menu, great service. Go!”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Popped in recently for a spot of lunch. I couldnt help but get the chowder... The service was quick and extremely helpful. The chower wasnt as thick as I usually like it but it had an array of fish and shellfish in it...delicious!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank harry h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
copenhagen
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“friendly talkative staff”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Had a small snack which was nice. Staff chatted and informed me plenty here. Cosy atmosphere and well priced.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paula J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very yummy lunch spot”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stopped here for lunch during our day in Dingle. Very yummy food and very good location. Don't skip dessert either!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KAEF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chowder Cafe also viewed

Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
 
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
 

Been to Chowder Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing