We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over-rated”

Doyle's Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 78 Restaurants in Dingle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $34
Cuisines: French, Irish, Seafood, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Doyle’s Seafood Restaurant. This multi award-winning restaurant is located on John Street in Dingle town, a small picturesque fishing town on the west coast of Ireland. This elegant restaurant is now being run by chef and proprietors Sean Roche and Anna Scanlon.Having trained in some of the best restaurants in Ireland and Europe, Sean now creates an array of modern dishes with a combination of robust and integral flavours.Doyle’s Seafood Restaurant endeavours to serve great food in a relaxed and friendly setting and continues to maintain a strong commitment to the sourcing of sustainable seafood, working very closely with our local suppliers to serve the best of local and seasonal produce.
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Over-rated”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We are 2 Dubs and we ate in Doyle's restaurant on St Patrick's weekend 2012. The food was reasonable but the overall feeling from the service was that we had just eaten in a Dublin restaurant. The service was distant & functional at best and in no way representative of the chat & friendliness we have come to love about Dingle, where in every pub & restaurant they want you to enjoy the experience & the locality. Overall we were very disappointed with our meal which was well below standard for restaurants in Dingle. Please try "Global Village" or "Ashes" instead.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BadHof-fans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    535
    154
    39
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nicest chips ever!!!”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We dined in Doyles on Sat night and it was gorgeous! Really friendly and helpful staff, delicious food, relaxed atmosphere and the nicest chips ever!!! The early bird menu offers good value for money- we will definitely return here again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shoes38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portarlington, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Good value. Early bird all evening. Nice place. The fish was very nice and fresh. Service was friendly and efficient.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart
Level 6 Contributor
45 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great irish food...”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We were here in November 2012.
And some other Restaurants were closed. So we went to Doyle's. They have a Menue that they call "Early Bird Menu" with 2 courses that costs only about 23€ or 3 courses for 28€. We were a group of 3 people there. So 2 people took the Menu, and I took only 2 Starters.
For Starter we all got "Doyles Seafood Chowder" It was sooooo deliciuos. We couldn' t believe it. It was a really thick and creamy soup. There was Salmon in it, oysters. And some other fish or seafood that
I couldn't recognize. And the bread was also very fresh and tasty. Everything was really great.
We talked all the evening about that chowder. It was really great.
Then I got my Scalopps they were good!
My brother had the god which was really nice, the only thing to complain was that it was fried and it tastet a little bit like it was baked in old oil. And my mother got the "Seafood Risotto" that was really great too.
The Service was also very good.

It was a great place to have a nice tranquil meal.
Would recommend it to everyone.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeanluc1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fresh Seafood”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We had a very nice dinner while visiting Dingle. I was visiting with my mother and my 8 year old, it was very nice that they could accomodate us for an early dinner, they opened at 5pm, so after a busy day of touring the Dingle Peninsula we were able to have a wonderful early dinner at 6pm. We really enjoyed the mussels and their great bread. The service was great and it was a great cozy restaurant. We did have reservations.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alicia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doyle's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
 
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
 

Been to Doyle's Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing