We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great quality hostel”
Review of The Hideout Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hideout Hostel
Ranked #3 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Dingle
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great quality hostel”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Very good, clean, quality hostel. I's in a quiet side street but very near to the harbour, restaurants, pubs, etc. You can park in the street outside if you're travelling by car, but you won't need a car in Dingle, it's quite compact.

The room we were given was well appointed, with proper wardrobe, bedside tables and dressing table, plus nice decor. The bathroom was a bit dated, but everything worked fine. Not like the very basic hostels we stayed at in Dublin (some don't even have wardrobes, never mind bedside tables). The staff were fine: friendly, informative and efficient. Breakfast was good - the usual help yourself fare, not much choice as usual for hostels but good quality cereal, yoghurt, etc, and tasted great. There is also a lounge with Wifi access and comfy sofas. Compared with the prices of accommodation in Dingle this is excellent value and we would stay again without hesitation.

Dingle is brilliant - don't miss the boat trip to see Funghi the dolphin, most trips do see him and you get your money back if he doesn't show up that day. A ride up Connor's Pass, the mountain just behind Dingle, is the highest pass in Ireland and not great for those drivers who suffer vertigo (we had white knuckles!). However, it's worth it as the views at the top are unforgettable. There is also a great beach at Inch Strand for a bracing walk or some surfing. We didn't get to see all the Peninsula, but we will be back for more!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie0042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    36
    9
    3
    5
See reviews for
13
41
26
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

The Hideout Hostel was the best part of my trip to Ireland. The owner, Mihal, and staff (Eleanor, Chuck) make this a truly remarkable place. It will feel like home, not a hostel. It is located 2 min from the main street in Dingle and about 30 seconds from the grocery store (SuperValu) and several of Dingle's best restaurants and pubs. Need a dinner recommendation or directions to the pub with best music, Mihal and Chuck know it all.

I stayed in a dormitory room for 3 nights and had only 1 roommate for two of those nights. The rooms are cleaned every day, towels provided free of charge, and roomy bathrooms en suite with hot water that never goes cold. I hired a bike for two days and they have a safe storage area located around back that is locked every night. For those with a car, there is plenty of street parking available for free.

Looking for good, fresh fish and chips? Mihal has a takeaway place located just up the street that serves the freshest fish around. And don't forget to try the cheese curry fries. I will miss those for years to come.

Perhaps the best part of it all is the staff's devotion to providing the best possible experience for their guests. Walk-ins are welcome, but the staff is not interested in those guests looking for a cheap place to sleep after a heavy night of drinking. They were always looking out for their current guests and went out of their to make sure we had a safe, cozy place to stay.

I would stay here again without a second thought. I hope to return sometime in the next year and look forward to catching up with the staff again.

Room Tip: Any room is a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomastown, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Stayed in this hostel for 2 nights this week. Travelled with my boyfriend and three friends. Rang ahead to book rooms - absolutely no problem at all. We had a private double en suite and thought that the €25pp per night was reasonable. Definitely feels more like a guest house than a hostel.

One small complaint... When we arrived, we rang the door bell and the door was opened. We were then left wondering if the guy who had answered worked there or was a guest, A few seconds of awkwardness ensued. He was quite vague and odd, but helpful. As I said, only a very small thing.

Parking was no problem at all. Plenty of space around the street - we had two cars, never a problem parking.

It was great that you are allowed to hang out in the living room as long as you want at night. But, if you are a light sleeper or plan on getting up very early, this could be a problem. Suited our group perfectly though!

Rooms were good. Basic, but clean and comfortable. Always hot water for a shower. They even supply towels at no extra charge!!! TV in room, never seen that in a hostel room before - a hangover from it's guest house days, I'm guessing.

Breakfast was good. Cereals, toast, tea coffee and orange juice. Serve and clean up yourself. Was a shame to see a draining board full of stuff that guests hadn't put away after them....

I would happily go back to this hostel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alfkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

More like a bed and breakfast than a hostel. When we arrived at hideout we were greeted by the friendly staff who showed us around. It is great having a living room, dining room, and a nice kitchen to use when staying here and to make you feel at home. The ensuite rooms are clean, airy, and spacious with cozy duvets. A nice place to stay, relax, unwind and enjoy the peninsula.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SiobhanEK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meath
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 21, 2012

This is my first time to review anything on tripadvisor-that's how much I enjoyed my stay in the Hideout Hostel in Dingle! Myself and my boyfriend travelled down to spend a few days in Dingle over St. Patrick's weekend this year. This is probably one of the nicest, friendliest hostels I have ever stayed in( and I have stayed in alot both in Ireland and abroad). We booked a double private room with ensuite...got a really lovely room overlooking street on top floor. Wasn't noisey at all and room very clean and comfortable.

The communal area down stairs is really lovely-a home from home with big comfy couches and an open fire. Michael, the guy that owns it, could not have been anymore helpful. He reccomended lots of good places to eat, including his very own chipper up the reoad (forget what it was called) where you will get a mighty fish n chip supper.

The hostel is bang in the centre of twn which is so handy-no need for any taxis or any of that malarky. There are lots of maps and information booklets lying about the hostel with all you need to know about discovering the area-walking, cycling, surfing etc..

I think we will be making a return trip for next St. Patrick's Day, if not before. Thanks again Michael!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Devinebrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Wonderful staff and very comfortable. Everyone at this hostel was funny, friendly and accommodating. Very helpful with tips for local sights and activities. We will absolutley be back! Thanks for everything. Ken and Teresa

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be great. We were in a private double room #16 which was very quiet and comfortabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluecrabchorizo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damariscotta, Maine
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

My family and I were all very pleased with this hostel. It was an excellent value, the staff were very friendly and helpful, the breakfast was great and common areas were quite clean. We would be glad to stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Madurai86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dingle hotels
0.1 mi away
Dingle Benners Hotel
Dingle Benners Hotel
#4 of 9 in Dingle
742 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dingle Skellig Hotel
0.2 mi away
Dingle Bay Hotel
Dingle Bay Hotel
#6 of 9 in Dingle
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Dingle Pub
The Dingle Pub
#8 of 9 in Dingle
168 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dingle Gate Hostel
Dingle Gate Hostel
#7 of 23 in Dingle
49 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Dingle Quayside
The Dingle Quayside
#9 of 75 in Dingle
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hideout Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hideout Hostel

Property: The Hideout Hostel
Address: Dykegate Street, Dingle, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Dingle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your The Hideout Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing