We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully comfortable”
Review of The Hideout Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hideout Hostel
Ranked #1 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Dingle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 28, 2011

This place is feels like home to me. It is really comfortable, clean, safe and really friendly people. The sitting room is really much cozier than it looks. It is easy to find and central in Dingle. Micheal recommended the walk to light house which was great and I managed to see Fungi the dolphin. I stayed in a four person dorm but as it was quiet time, I had the whole room to myself and it was great. Overall fun and relaxing experience.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ladyinawe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 142 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2011

Cage here during the off season, staff were helpful and the facilities were great. Three rooms were basic but clean. Overall good experience

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank godzillalad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

Absolutely wonderful stay. Chuck was our warden and he was warm and friendly. Our room was clean, with mismatched linens making it feel homey. The sheets had the amazing wonderful softness that comes from being washed so many times. It felt like we stayed in Grandma's guest room! Chuck filled us in on GREAT tips for dinner, and gave us ideas on where to hit for the most entertaining music. We loved our stay and will be sure to return when we are back in Dingle!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grizwald_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2011

Hideout Hostel in Dingle was in a very central location. It was clean and safe. The staff was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharon8876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

This was the best hostel we stayed at while in Ireland. It was within walking distance to a lot of pubs and in a safe area. The guy working for the proprieter knew where to go for different kinds of music, and told us that they sometimes turn people away who look like they are up to no-good, so it just reinforced the safety of the hostel all the more.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deliriou599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

More like a B&B than a hostel. Very cute homely lounge area, and nice homestyle kitchen. The owner and his mum were very friendly and accomodating. My partner and I were deciding between a double or 4 share room, but were told that if we booked a 4 share we'd have the room to ourselves anyway. It was definately a welcome change from the usual loud, cold and dirty hostels. My only complaint was that the hot water ran out at the end of the night!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BridgetteBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2011

The Hideout offers comfortable accommodation & friendy service at a good price. Only problem was with hot water for shower on my last morning. Dingle is a small town and the Hideout is pretty much central to everything. My room, as well as the common areas, were clean. There is free tea & coffee available. Free cereal & toast for breakfast. Micheal & Chuck are friendly hosts more than willing to offer suggestions on pubs, restaurants, tours, etc. I stayed two nights and will stay again if I make it back to Dingle.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrunkenYank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dingle hotels
0.4 mi away
Dingle Skellig Hotel
0.1 mi away
Dingle Benners Hotel
Dingle Benners Hotel
#4 of 9 in Dingle
791 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dingle Bay Hotel
Dingle Bay Hotel
#6 of 9 in Dingle
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Dingle Pub
The Dingle Pub
#8 of 9 in Dingle
193 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dingle Gate Hostel
Dingle Gate Hostel
#5 of 22 in Dingle
57 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paddy's Palace  Dingle Peninsula
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hideout Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hideout Hostel

Address: Dykegate Street, Dingle, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Dingle
Price Range: $36 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing