We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SO Good!”
Review of The Fish Box

The Fish Box
Ranked #1 of 83 Restaurants in Dingle
Restaurant details
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We had lunch at the Fish Box in early May during our trip to Dingle and it was absolutely amazing. I think it was the best fish and chips I've ever had. The fish is super fresh, the breading is really light, and the tartar sauce is outstanding. I haven't ever had anything like it, it's delicious. We will definitely be back next time we are in Dingle!

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank MaraNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (230)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 55 of 230 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2019 via mobile

At the recommendation of our family, we made a stop at the Fish Box as our first meal in Dingle. We started with a bottle of Sauvignon Blanc that had been carefully selected as it paired perfectly with the fish and chips we ordered! The service was absolutely exceptional - we were greeted with smiles, offered recommendations of what to see and do while in the area, and they allowed us to stay even after closing to finish our bottle as they tidied up. It was such a great experience that we made it our dinner the second night too!

Date of visit: May 2019
2  Thank LCfromtheAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2019

We had the chowder, chips, open sandwich with smoked salmon. All ingredients were fresh. Big portions of quality food. Highly recommend a visit here when in Dingle. Staff very helpful and surroundings are pleasant.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank 610deirdrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2019 via mobile

We ate here on our first two nights and were very pleased with the fish and chips. Very fresh fish and the chips were very nicely done. However the portions of the chips was way too much, so we requested for no chips with the calamari (very tender).

The batter is very well mixed and gives a nice crunchy texture. We preferred the fish n chips rather than the fishbox as items in the box can get a little soggy when placed inside together.

It’s one of the more reasonably priced outlets. But don’t expect a huge place - more like a casual diner that gets crowded even when we were there in mid May.

Service was top notch - very friendly, helpful and welcoming. Enjoyed the experience.

Date of visit: May 2019
2  Thank traveljet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2019

We loved the sampler plate with calamari, shrimp, and fish. The staff was very friendly, and we enjoyed eating outside.

Date of visit: May 2019
2  Thank Goochbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fish Box also viewed

Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
 
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
 
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
 

Been to The Fish Box? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing