We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dingle Dog of the Day”
Review of The Garden Cafe - CLOSED

The Garden Cafe
Price range: $8 - $17
Cuisines: Irish, Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dingle Dog of the Day”
Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

Great little spot. We stopped on fora tea and coffee. Sat out hrs back in the garden, lovely. Had the dingle dog of the day,excellent.

Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    25
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
47 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Charming little spot!”
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Lunch here on a sunny afternoon is so relaxing. We ate in the garden (which was bathed in sunshine), watching birds flit around the trees and a cat sunning himself along the wall!! The Dingle dog, which was a lamb and herb sausage style hot dog, sourced from a local award winning butcher was delicious, as was the orange and almond cake with cream! All in all I'd highly recommend this place. It's lovely to sit out and enjoy good food and friendly service! All we need now in Dingle is more sunshine!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dollfase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious, homemade, quality food”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

This place was a little slice of heaven. We were in Dingle for four days, and lunched here twice. Fantastic hummus the first time, and a spot-on open-faced sandwich the second. The garden that gives the cafe its name was so comfortable and calming, and the staff was superb. Perfect spot for coffee and cakes, too. Don't miss it!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Natalie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Offaly, Ireland
Level Contributor
239 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Delightful cafe..”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

This is a delightful cafe on Green street, stopped in here for a quick lunch, the menu is lovely and everything so freshly prepared, we had the Dingle dog and it is exactly as the menu states and is so delicious, the toilets are spotless and the service was quick and efficient if not overly friendly.
Their coffee is very good and was made to order and there is a small selection of wines. The decor is quirky and suits the mood of the cafe. I would definitely come back here again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sparkely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fresh delicious lunch”
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here for a late lunch, it was a wet day so we were lured in by the promise of the turf fire! Small cosy spot tastefully decorated. Had the Brie, walnut and pear bruschetta along with a warm goats cheese salad. Both very tasty and nicely presented. Warm, personal service. Excellent coffee also.

Helpful?
Thank BooQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Garden Cafe also viewed

Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
 
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
 
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing