We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really great ice cream.... Excellent”
Review of Murphy's Ice Cream

Murphy's Ice Cream
Ranked #1 of 4 Dessert in Dingle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $16
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Takeout
Description: Murphys Ice Cream is the flagship shop of this upscale Irish ice cream company. As well as an array of ice cream flavours, they serve delicious coffee and hot chocolate. Some of the flavours you might find are their world famous Dingle sea salt ice cream, Irish brown bread, Dingle Gin, and Irish rainwater sorbets, and many more.
Stuttgart
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Really great ice cream.... Excellent”
Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

We were here in december 2012. And since then I can taste it in my mouth.
Everyone should go to this ice cream shop.
They use only naturall ingredients.
I recommend it to everyone.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeanluc1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,926 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,416
    323
    126
    41
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Awesome ice cream!”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Living in New England, I have had my share of the best ice cream that may exist in the world, but I was incredibly surprised at how tasty and inventive Murphy's ice cream was in Dingle! I had the Bailey's (when in Rome!) and the salted caramel and both were big on flavor and creamy texture.

If you are in the mood for a sweet treat while in Dingle, definitely give Murphy's a try!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank shigidigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“best espresso and melted chocolate in ireland”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

we visited Ireland in December. temperatures in the mid-40's for highs were not cold by Indiana winter standards but my wife and i did find ourselves looking for a hot treat on most days. Murphy's Ice Cream and coffee shop right on Main Street was the perfect stop. the combination of melted Belgian chocolate and perfectly brewed espresso along with friendly servers helping us plan the rest of our day made Murphy's a daily "must stop" for us.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MJM0327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Expensive for what you get”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I've a bit a thing for good ice cream, I'm always surprised that people rave about this place, my experience a few days ago was a bit underwhelming, while the ice cream wasn't bad, it is overrated and definitely not worth the prices charged. I suspect that it exists purely for tourists most of whom wont be making a return visit, but as I've said already good value and eating in Dingle rarely go in the same sentence.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SEAMUS.R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Melted Belgian Chocolate Mocha!”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

While visiting the Dingle area, we became hopelessly addicted to the melted Belgian chocolate drinks - we added two shots of espresso, and discovered the best mocha's of our lives! Highly recommended!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Máire Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Murphy's Ice Cream also viewed

Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
 
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
 

Been to Murphy's Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing