We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st Timer's to Dingle”
Review of Barr Na Sraide Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Barr Na Sraide Inn
Ranked #31 of 75 Dingle B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 4, 2012

12 of us headed down to Dingle last weekend to partake in the half & full marathon (two wonderfully organised events) - space was at a premium in the town & only some of us got very lucky & stayed in Barr na Sraide! What a spot. Town central, very comfortable beds, tidy & clean rooms, breakfast fit for a king, bar in the same building! Then we met what I can only describe as a National Treasure Patricia, she organised our breakfasts from 6.15 to cater for our running & on her way into work she even collected one of us who was staying on the outskirts of town & needed a lift in! Where would you get the like, like? We couldn't recommend the service highly enough & felt they couldn't have done more for us. We've every intention of heading straight back there next year, it couldn't be equalled.

Room Tip: Book rooms to the back of the building if street noise is an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank joanne_vincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (211)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 211 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2012

I stayed two nights at the Barr Na Sraide B&B. It's within easy walking distance of the city center and has free parking in back. (Get to the parking area through a narrow alley way next to the B&B.) No one was at he front desk when I arrived, so I went next door to the Barr Na Sraide bar and asked if they could help me. They did.

The rooms are nicely appointed; the bathrooms are quite spacious compared to other B&Bs. The walls are thin; therefore, you may want to use ear plugs, particularly if your neighbor is watching TV. The breakfast was well done.

There are washers and a dryer on the second floor. I washed a load of clothes and tried to dry them, but the dryer was broken. I called the main number and they had someone meet me at the registration desk in order to use their dryer behind the kitchen. That was a great help, but I was also impressed with the cleanliness of the kitchen and laundry room floor. I walked through the kitchen and laundry room wearing new white socks and was astonished that they did not get dirty. Impressive!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cas250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

As most B&B's were booked out we decided to opt for this one. We were greeted by a friendly woman who gave us our key and told us about the breakfast and checkout times. Our room was ok for space. There was free Wi-fi and hot water. The shower had little or no pressure and the fixture itself was falling out from the wall. The bathroom radiator was on full blast and we were unable to turn it off as the temperature control was broken off and nowhere to be found. As a result we had little or no sleep due to the heat in the room! The next day we advised the host of this, and in fairness had it sorted for us when we returned later on.
In the morning, we arrived down around 9 and felt very unwelcome, eventhough breakfast didn't end until 10! As we had each paid €45 per night we decided to go for the full fry! This was ok - 2 sausages, fried egg and rasher. Very greasy. Coffee was nice. Made sure i went for cereal next day. Location is great but i think that's really all that's great about it. Staff need to improve on their hospitality skills!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lolllounge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

we stayed at barr na sraide inn last weekend a hen of 20, i have never felt so welcome anywhere, the rooms are clean, there is a friendly bar downstairs, the breakfast is top notch, the owner herself is an absolute legend, she was soooo friendly and chatty, all staff lovely, i will def be staying here again every time i venture to dingle, couldnt recommend it high enough 5 stars.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank siobhan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Barr na Sraide is very much a 'no frills' establishment. On arrival a very unfriendly man (think he was the husband and co owner) handed us our keys and was annoyed when we wanted to pay right away (I thought paying in advance would please b&b owners). He offered no info about breakfast and checkout times so we asked and he swiftly returned to the downstairs pub. Our rooms were at the back and so nice and quiet, though the rooms were compact and the decor was very 'tired' and uninspiring. Everything was very clean but there was no tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms. This is very unusual for Irish B&Bs. Facilities were on a table in the hallway and we eventually figured out that water for the kettle had to be got from the laundry room down the hall. Breakfast was fine but the addition of some black and white pudding would make it a more 'Irish' breakfast and a couple of added extras like mushrooms would have been a nice token of generosity. The lady (sorry I forget her name) who serves breakfast was friendly and helpful and probably Barr na Sraide's greatest asset. Dining room was clean but dowdy - a few pot plants and pictures of Dingle would go a long way. The thing that Barr na Sraide need to improve on the most (besides the landlord's grumpy manner) is the fact that when you are staying there, there is nothing to remind you that you are in the wonderful town of Dingle. Not a single photo/painting of Dingle or any sign of all the fantastic arts and crafts that Dingle is renowned for. A personal touch is badly, badly needed. Such a pity for a business in a prime location in the heart of Dingle. However the Dingle area is fantastic and I will be back again soon to a different B&B.

Room Tip: If you are going to stay here then ask for a room at the back for quietness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emam70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The inn was lovely , the rooms were clean, the breakfast was unreal and loads of it ,you just need to ask .The staff we very friendly and like our mammies looking out for us and making sure we were all ok (hen of 20 ), an example we were going out to see fungi and one of ladies followed out to the bar after seeing us at breakfast to say "youll be too cold with a dress on go on up those stairs and put on a pants "haha brillant and she did (leggings), all and all great experience and would defo recommend it to anyone at all staying in dingle !!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mayominny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed here in early August and got probably what was the last room late in the evening. The owner told us that it could be a little noisy as the only room she had was on the front of the building. Unfortunately noisy was a little bit of an understatement! We didn't get much sleep and dozed off at about 5am. The noise came from both the street and also other people arriving back in the early hours. Apart from that the room was quite pleasant although a little pokey as it was an attic room.
At breakfast I asked if there was any gluten free bread available. As I had not made a prior booking it was unlikely that this would be the case. The owner asked if I had not brought my own bread!
The location is great but I don't think I would stay there again as I couldn't risk missing out on a nights sleep.

Room Tip: Under no circumstances take a room facing the street. You won't get a nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruby1Bramble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dingle hotels
0.2 mi away
Dingle Benners Hotel
Dingle Benners Hotel
#4 of 9 in Dingle
801 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Dingle Quayside
The Dingle Quayside
#9 of 75 in Dingle
379 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hillgrove Guesthouse
Hillgrove Guesthouse
#47 of 75 in Dingle
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Lantern Townhouse
The Lantern Townhouse
#27 of 75 in Dingle
291 reviews
0.5 mi away
Harbour Nights Bed and Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Dingle Harbour Lodge
Dingle Harbour Lodge
#42 of 75 in Dingle
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barr Na Sraide Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barr Na Sraide Inn

Address: Upper Main Street, Dingle, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Dingle
Price Range: $95 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Barr Na Sraide Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Barr Na Sraide Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing