We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at An Bothar, at the foot of Mt Brandon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
An Bothar Pub and Guesthouse
Ranked #36 of 75 Dingle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

By no means located in Dingle, its in Feoghanah (not sûre about spelling though). Those on the Dingle Way will understand it as the stop between Dingle and Cloghane. Huge room with super thick carpet, tv, nice bathtub, next to a guest sitting room with tea/coffee facilities and leather sofas. Top notch confort, great breakfast. Wash and dry is 10€, packed lunches 5€. Food down in thé pub is nice enough, expect 10€ for really good burger and chips and 15€ for lamb. Rhubarb crumble, homemade obviously, was out of this world. Good pint of Guinness 3,80€. Very recommendable indeed.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Riddleguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 94 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2012

An Bóthar at the foot of Mt Brandon near Cuas is a very special place to stay when enjoying this spectacular part of the Dingle peninsula. This entirely family run pub/restaurant/B&B provides the very best in accommodation, food and authentic hospitality. Our room was spacious and spotless, with fabulous views of the mountains. The bar and restaurant had a friendly and relaxed atmosphere and we enjoyed great wholesome food, served with care. Bhí Gaeilge líofa sa teach agus iad go léir breá sásta í a labhairt linn. Nothing was too much trouble for our host. When I was unable to head out walking the following day due to a migraine, our host took me by car the 45 minute drive to our next destination. Where else would you get such service? This B&B is a rare gem!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pigletpolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Cuas has breathtaking scenery and sheep, but one would not expect a first rate B&B like the An Bothar to be waiting there at the end of day's hiking. We arrived after a wet and windy walk from Ballyferriter, and the help with our wet things and the hospitality awaiting us were well above and beyond the call of duty. The rooms are unbelievably spacious and comfortable. Great place and great people! And I have to mention the best lamb stew I ever tasted.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
2  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed here for a night while we visited our daughter who is attending a local Irish College. The owners were very welcoming and were always willing to help with info or direction. The breakfast was fantastic especially the brown bread. We had a light dinner the night before which was also very good and the few pints and music later went down a treat. All in all we will hopefully be back again for a longer stay

Room Tip: Room 6 has great views and is large enough for a family of up to 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank georgeharrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Walking the Dingle Way. This was a very welcomed stop after a VERY trying all day hike. The entire family hosting us was terrific: the hostess and her three lovely daughters were great conversationalists. After a needed hot shower, the pub was quite welcoming and the Guinness never tasted better. A few chatty and friendly locals added to the atmosphere The food was ample in amount, very well prepared and the dinner and the breakfast, although the same offerings as other B&Bs, was exceptionally tasty. The rooms were nicely appointed, clean, quiet and en suite baths were very clean and modern. The bed was very comfortable. Although a short automobile ride from Dingle, on foot it is in the middle of countryside and tranquil.
Highly recommended

Room Tip: Worth an out of the way drive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pttuva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We stopped by for a break from the afternoon drive, and for a pint. The owner was very nice, and served us a good meal of vegetable soup, and sandwiches. It was very good, and we enjoyed some good conversation with the food. This is what Ireland is really about, good people, and good food. Stop by and enjoy the scenery(fantastic), with a good meal and pint!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMasters84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

We spent 5 days at the Bothar and loved every minute. It is a family run place that feels like a home away from home. The owners are always willing to provide information on the area and the pub is the best! One word of caution- if you are a light sleeper, ask for a room away from the pub- the pub often has live music but the party starts late and can be quite boisterous (and fun!)

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CharlesTeckel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dingle hotels
25.5 mi away
Dingle Benners Hotel
Dingle Benners Hotel
#4 of 9 in Dingle
801 reviews
26.5 mi away
Dunlavin House
Dunlavin House
#16 of 75 in Dingle
198 reviews
0 mi away
Short Strand Dingle
Short Strand Dingle
#35 of 75 in Dingle
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.5 mi away
Paddy's Palace  Dingle Peninsula
17 mi away
Ardrinane House
Ardrinane House
#54 of 75 in Dingle
17 reviews
25.1 mi away
Ashe's B&B
Ashe's B&B
#49 of 75 in Dingle
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to An Bothar Pub and Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about An Bothar Pub and Guesthouse

Address: Dingle, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Dingle
Price Range: $115 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — An Bothar Pub and Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your An Bothar Pub and Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing