We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“International Acclaim” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mary Sheehy's B&B

Mary Sheehy's B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dingle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mary Sheehy's B&B
Ranked #50 of 78 Dingle B&B and Inns
phl
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“International Acclaim”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Mary Sheehy's B&B was recommeded by our dentist who declared her breakfast the best in Ireland. Well, we didn't have time to "test" all of the B&B's, but the facilities, food, and hospitality were top flight. Mary directed us to the high points of Dingle and made the experience truly memorable. Thanks for the raspberry crumble!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dkhbits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    12
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

My friends and I spent two nights in Mary Sheehy's B&B in Dingle as we were down for the Dingle Marathon. We all agreed that Mary was very accommodating, early Breakfast on Saturday before the big race on the first morning and late the second when we had sore heads. She also offered us a lift into Dingle (not far but sore limbs) on the Saturday night. The house was very clean, modern and the food was excellent. The rooms had on suite bathrooms, tea coffee and flat screen TV's. I would have no problem in recommending this to people looking for reasonably priced accommodation and all the fixtures of a hotel twice the price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

Clean, safe, quiet, lovely, and priced right. We enjoyed our 2 nights. Mary was very helpful pointing out areas of interest. The breakfast was wonderful, healthy, and served promptly. The area is spectacular. Lots of great walking. We enjoyed the beautiful ocean drive. The area is steeped in history. We visited Monastic ruins, the location where Saint Brendan set sail for North America, as well a cottage abondon during the potatoe famine. Good food, pubs, and shops in town where one can walk. Check out the Harry Clark windows on the church property intown. Great country air.

Room Tip: Back upstairs room with a full/queen bed nice and quiet with a great soaking tub. Front downstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TAYLORSVILLE
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2011

Mary's B&B was so nice! It was very clean & Mary was an exceptional hostess! The room was quiet & our view was beautiful! Mary's breakfast was very good, she had several selections to choose from, which we liked. Mary gave us good suggestions for dinner. She directed us to a beautiful, scenic loop drive to take the next day; it was all she said it was...& more.
Thanks Mary! you helped to make our trip to Ireland unforgetable! Oliver & Lyndell

Room Tip: All rooms were great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kakubah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2010

Far from ingratiating the good nature of Mary & James is the lasting memory of Dingle in miserable weather there in the last week of July, I even left with an armful of their breads to sample.
When we were shown a room we were instantly at our easy because of the freshness spaciousness and cleanliness of the en-suite bedroom. A velux window over the WC albeit a pink suite, it was more than acceptable, the shower was spotless, you could swing a cat in it, but the happy old ginger cat was nowhere to be seen, except outdoors with the retired collie in their own headquarters, not a peep out of them, well socialised and used to the coming & goings of a B&B.
The first evening my husband caught up on his work using free wifi, I read and relaxed and we had a pre-dinner drink in the fine big room, looking out at the sheets of rain.
Between showers we walked 10 or 15 minutes to dine in the 'Half-Door' and the food was excellent. We wakled back to Sheehy's then drove out to Paidi O Shea's pub near Ventry for a look, the walls are adorned with photographic memorabilia, as luck was on our side there was a terrific Ceili Band playing for set-dancers,with room for 2 sets in all, and I was able to join-in for the 'Caladonia', but I never saw anything like the steps of these Sliabh Lucra dancers;magnificent . They even had the all-ireland Munster set-dancing champions there to put the rest of us to shame.
In the hall at Sheehy's we were able to write down our names, preference for breakfast and at what time. There were no guidelines, or rules and regulations hitting you in the face. A real home, not a conveyor belt. The porridge was delicious, the tea made just the way I like it and the cooked fare was cooked to perfection, happily we were able to stay a second night.
Mary told us about a regular Wednesday folk/tradidional music concert in St James' church Main St opposite Benner's Hotel, the local musicians Uileann piper and guitarist were great hosts and first class musicians and they had special guests Noel Shine & Mary Greene who gave a wonderful and edifying performance. Later that night we heard Pauline Scanlon singing in a very relaxed setting and there was no cover charge. All in all a great night. We began the evening with a light hearted apperatif in McCarthy's Bar, while waiting for the Goat Street Cafe to let us in, where we had the best meal of the holiday, in terms of taste, service and value for money. Another of Mary Sheeh'y recommendations. If I can I ill return to Dingle again asap, it has hospitality galore as well as spectacular scenery, even in the worst weather it is dramatic.
Our 2 night stay cost thirty five Euro each including wonderful and healthy breakfasts, and all the information you want. The last reviewer, said the "decor was uninspiring",I am appalled by that comment, I wish to refute it wholeheartedly. If they want inspiring decor let them pay for it, simple as that, go to Alastair Sawday's Special places to stay, and compare the prices!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cuasnog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2010

After calling in at a b and b around the corner that was full this was recommended to us by the landlady.
Clean and well located but so utterly lifeless and devoid of character. Not a place to come back to after a day out if you like to kick back and relax - I am sure there are many, many better alternatives in Dingle....

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank penn123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, AZ
Level Contributor
91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2010

We spent only one night at sheey's but were very pleased. Our room was spotlessly clean. The bathroom, while a little on the small side, was more than adequate for the two of us and also immaculate. It's location is great, near enough town to be convenient yet on the edge enough to be quiet. Mary's husband gave us excellent directions & advice about driving the Dingle Penisula - not to be missed. It's the most beautiful place we've ever seen - rivals the Alps, Hawaii, & Tasmania! Be advised that while it can be driven in a couple of hours, you'll want to take longer. You will long to go back, & when we do, we'll be staying with Mary again!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hockeymom59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dingle
1.1 mi away
Harbour Nights Bed and Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Cill Bhreac House B&B
Cill Bhreac House B&B
#11 of 78 in Dingle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dunlavin House
Dunlavin House
#21 of 78 in Dingle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Brownes Bed & Breakfast Dingle
1.4 mi away
Ard Na Mara Country House
Ard Na Mara Country House
#1 of 3 in Ballymore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fiuise B&B
Fiuise B&B
#29 of 78 in Dingle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mary Sheehy's B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mary Sheehy's B&B

Property: Mary Sheehy's B&B
Address: Milltown, Dingle, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Dingle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing