We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They took care of us”
Review of Broigin Farmhouse

Broigin Farmhouse
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Broigin Farmhouse
Ranked #10 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Dingle
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“They took care of us”
Reviewed May 24, 2009

The hosts were friendly and accommodating (our group of six arrived in two groups hours apart, which was no problem). It's a farmhouse, so it's out of Dingle a little ways, but it's convenient to get into town. It was also quite quiet there.

The rooms were absolutely spotless and comfortable. My wife had one of the best nights sleep she's had in a long time and said she woke up and it felt like home. The hosts really made us welcome, and brought hot-water bottles to warm up each of the beds (in Ireland that's needed even in summer).

The other two couples we were traveling with thought the rooms were a bit dated, but everything worked fine and we liked our own room. The host checked when we wanted breakfast and if we wanted to try black or white pudding with our regular Irish breakfast. Between all that and the table with cereals and yoghurt, there was an incredible amount of food, which was very good. We would go back.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RoamingPanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    7
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
7
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gemany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 9, 2008

A B&B crowded with "Irish Dresden", very helpful hosts, and the best of it a warming bottle in the bed.
We loved to stay there, though it is a little bit of town.

  • Liked — The house is stuffed with "Irish Dresden" china
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank utvolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2008

My family & I stayed at Broigin for just one night, but we wished we could have stayed longer: the Dingle peninsula represents the Ireland we wanted so much to visit: peaceful, colourful little villages, VERY friendly people, great food, sheep in the middle of the street, etc. Broigin is a cosy family B&B. We had the pleasure of meeting landlord Joe & 2 of his grandchildren. Their hospitality was incredible: my daughter played her first tennis match on the tarmac tennis court, available free to guests. Joe always made time for a nice talk & he made the best breakfast served to us during our 12-day stay in Ireland (my husband simply adored the smoked salmon he got for breakfast!!)
Strongly recommended!!!!

  • Liked — hospitality
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank FLEMISHTRAVELLERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2008

Where to begin: The breakfast...wow...hot water bottle at night...We really felt pampered yet not hovered over...Worth the few kilometer drive out of Dingletown. We had left an expensive coat behind when we departed to visit the Beara Peninsula. Anne arranged to have it shipped by bus to Tralee....no charge. Blackie the dog was a big hit as well.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank WmLW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2008

John and Anne Curran are the proprietors, though John takes care of most of the b&b work. They raised 11 kids. John is a gem: hospitable, thoughtful. Don't be put off when you first enter the place. The decor is decidedly different: geegaws everywhere. He has an addiction to collecting trinkets, perhaps from carnivals and fairs, I didn't ask. But they're EVERYWHERE. At first you think they're way overdone. Then you start to appreciate them. It's different, and god bless different. The place is clean, comfortable, recently renovated. It has a small but delightful lounge: heavy furniture crammed into it, a huge television that you likely won't bother with, and a turf fire. Most cozy. In apron and houseslippers, John cooks up a great breakfast. You won't need lunch. What truly won me over, however, was the hot water bottle, tucked into a flannel bag, that I discovered when I pulled back the covers at bedtime. Nobody does that sort of thing anymore. It was a wonderful touch. In his room my brother slept with it on his chest: he had a bad cough. A cousin slept with hers on her back, to ease a pain. It was a funny, restful experience on the Dingle Peninsula. Broigin might be hard to find, but it's worth looking for. Don't stay in some impersonal townside place. There were four of us staying there, and we all agreed it was a great stop.

  • Liked — The hot water bottle.
  • Disliked — It was all good.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IAmAt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dingle hotels
2.2 mi away
Dingle Benners Hotel
Dingle Benners Hotel
#4 of 9 in Dingle
754 reviews
2.6 mi away
Dingle Skellig Hotel
2.2 mi away
Paddy's Palace  Dingle Peninsula
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Killfountain Farm
Killfountain Farm
#58 of 75 in Dingle
44 reviews
2.0 mi away
Dingle Gate Hostel
Dingle Gate Hostel
#9 of 23 in Dingle
50 reviews
1.9 mi away
Milltown House
Milltown House
#6 of 75 in Dingle
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broigin Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broigin Farmhouse

Property: Broigin Farmhouse
Address: Knockavrogeen East, Dingle, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Dingle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Broigin Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing