We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very, very nice Sunday dinner”

Ashe's Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 78 Restaurants in Dingle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $26
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Ashe's Bar & Seafood Restauarant, is owned & run by Thomas Ashe & Sinead Roche. The bar has been in the Ashe family for over 165 years. Using local fresh ingredients, Seafood & Lobster a speciality, we have created a menu to suit all appetites & price ranges. We serve lunch daily 12-3pm, & Dinner nightly 5.30-9.30. We offer a keenly priced early-bird menu, a kid's menu & an extensive a la carte. An Extensive wine list & local hand crafted beer, along with a full bar is also available. A must is our famous seafood chowder mentioned in many guide books, incl, Rick steve's, lonely planet, formmers to mention a few.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
767 reviews
520 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“Very, very nice Sunday dinner”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

7:30 Sunday night, we tried to go to Out of the Blue, but they were booked until after 9 PM, and we tried Doyle's, but they are closed on Sundays. We decided to try Ashe's based solely on the menu and the look of the place through the window. Good decision.

We were seated in the mail bar room at a table on the wall. The menu was very nice. We settled on splitting a half dozen local oysters, and a lobster for each of us at a rate of C28 Euros per 500 grams. The oysters were very good...cold, juicy and briny. The lobsters were split and broiled. They were not too large, very nicely done. Smallish lobsters are hard to not overcook, and these were great. We had new potatoes and nice crispy vegetables. For dessert we split the Chocolate Extravaganza, which is 5 small desserts on one platter....chocolate ice cream, a chocolate infused creme brulet, a chocolate mouse, a brownie and an ice cream cone with hardened chocolate on the outside. We ordered tea and an expresso, but the server forgot them....we really didn't care as we were finishing off a bottle of Chardonnay. Nothing we had was too sophisticated, so can't comment on chef's skills, but everything we had was excellent and we were glad we went......

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gatorgolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    437
    173
    44
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cork
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Welcome back”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

On a recent return visit to Dingle we ate again in Ashes Bar. The Restaurant Manager not only recognised us but remembered our drink order from a visit two months previously. We then enjoyed an excellent meal of fresh Ventry crab claws followed by a trio of scallops, cod and john dory.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank obrienjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince Albert, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
309 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Good food, good atmosphere”
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Simple and fresh food, and very filling!

You have to try their seafood chowder - there's a reason it's famous!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mpavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Phenomenal Seafood! Possibly the world's best seafood chowder!”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Ashe's Seafood Bar was almost closing when we found it - 3pm - and they let us come in anyway and have lunch at 3:30. Our watiress couldn't have been more friendly or accommodating. The decor is simple and pub like - the star of the show is just phenomenal seafood. The seafood chowder was the best any of us in our party of six had ever had. There were giant chunks of fish and it was a meal in and of itself. The scallops were succulent. The lobster you picked out straight from the tank sitting next to our table and weighed right in front of you. All seafood is local and fresh. The fish and chips were delightfully fluffy and crisp and one huge portion could serve three people. We had to hike a bit up the hill - and the restaurant front is small and unassuming - but boy is it worth the climb! What a wonderful place to enjoy magnificent seafood.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rebekah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Good pub food!”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We enjoyed a late dinnerl here after our arrival on a Sunday. The mussels and chips were excellent, the service good. Enjoyable meal.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank sugabtoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ashe's Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
 
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
 

Been to Ashe's Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing