We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Service & OMG the food!!”

Ashe's Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 78 Restaurants in Dingle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $26
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood, European, Soups, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Ashe's Bar & Seafood Restauarant, is owned & run by Thomas Ashe & Sinead Roche. The bar has been in the Ashe family for over 165 years. Using local fresh ingredients, Seafood & Lobster a speciality, we have created a menu to suit all appetites & price ranges. We serve lunch daily 12-3pm, & Dinner nightly 5.30-9.30. We offer a keenly priced early-bird menu, a kid's menu & an extensive a la carte. An Extensive wine list & local hand crafted beer, along with a full bar is also available. A must is our famous seafood chowder mentioned in many guide books, incl, Rick steve's, lonely planet, formmers to mention a few.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Service & OMG the food!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We visited our daughter in Ireland and she took us to Ashes Restaurant. The food was extraordinary and the service was outstanding...Definitely try the dumpling starter with crab & prawns, a little spicey but to die for. The scallops and steak were perfect. And dessert a must try is the sticky pudding. The day before we had to leave for the airport my wife had to make a special trip back just for the sticky pudding. Don't pass this up for sure!!!
Taras Moskal

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TARAS M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    398
    162
    41
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

We ate here over the Christmas period, really enjoyed our dining experience. The restaurant wasn't too busy yet had a lovely atmosphere and we had a great table in a quiet corner.
The food was really very good, my main of lamb shank was excellent, the best I have had. Deserts were really fab as well, sticky toffee pudding or baileys torte are worth a try, delicious!
The early bird is really good value and the menu isn't limited.
Looking forward to returning.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Siobh8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Statesville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

This food leaves you saying, WOW! Go here for traditional Dingle Food. Best place we ate at during our 7 days in Ireland.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
“Thanks!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

My family and I had a lovely time at this restaurant. The staff was warm and attentive, the ambiance was cozy, and the food was delicious. Thanks!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardmore, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Great little spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

We happened to pick out Dingle as a stopover while touring western Ireland in October. We were a party of six - 2 parents and 4 adult children (ages 19-28). This being a slow season, none of the restaurants in town appeared busy. The food was excellent, the service even better. The staff was well versed in the menu and helped us not only wiht food choices, but with 2 fine wine pairings for the meal. The hake was a particular hit, but all was cooked well and very tasty. I cannot overemphasize the courtesy of the staff. They were helpful not only with meals, but with some great suggestions for restaurants in our next stop, Kinsale. We even got some great suggestions for our next trip to Ireland - can't wait.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ashe's Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
 
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
 

Been to Ashe's Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing