We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the better hostels for Paddywagon tours”

Randy Leprechaun Hostel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dingle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Randy Leprechaun Hostel
Ranked #14 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Dingle
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One of the better hostels for Paddywagon tours”
Reviewed May 6, 2012

As I stayed in this hostel as part of the Paddywagon 6 day Southern Ireland tour, I didn't really choose to stay at this hostel. But I must say, compared to other hostels on the tour, this was one of the better facilities.

Clean dorms, Various breakfast options (Toast, Cereal AND Muesli!!) Good shower temperature, friendly staff, adjoining pub.

The food in the adjoining pub could have been better, my burger bun was burnt, but my friends were quite happy with their meals.

Some extra tips:
There isnt much to see in the town, and no ATM. Make sure you take cash out before you leave Killarney if you are staying in this place as part of the Paddywagon tour.
The showers are electric and need to be switched on outside the entry to the bathroom.
The keys need a good hard wiggle before they work to open the doors!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aussiechicka85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    7
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
2
4
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We stayed at the B&B next to the Randy Leprechaun as part of the Deluxe Package with Paddy Wagon. Best B&B of the entire tour! Great room, beds, bathroom, breakfast, etc. The town is VERY small - but check out the "South Pole" pub - it was owned by a local that went to the south pole with Scott - great pictures and atmosphere.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank American_abroad11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

We stayed at the Randy Leprechaun as part of our tour with Paddy wagon (southwest-best tour ever) but the hostel was below average. We had to stay in a room with one of the men who work there because there was not room left, there was hair in our sheets, but we could not complain as it was the only one in the area and it was part of the tour. There was a very nice pub attached to the hostel which served a great meal.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ssims2_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tralee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 26, 2011

I Was on a paddywagon tour when we stayed here and it was the last night of our tour, The rooms were comfortable and the hostel was cosy and overall very clean compared to other hostels we have stayed in. But the best part of this hostel is the cool bar next door, the food was very reasonable ( back packer friendly prices) and very tasty. They have good drink deals (car bombs) and the barmaid was very helpful and great fun. They do great Kareoke nights here and it was by far the best night of the tour. Cant wait to go again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ted056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2011

OK, this was the final stop on our Paddywagon tour of Ireland, and certainly the worst. Nothing in this place is very clean, there was one bathroom for about 20 of us, and mostly only cold water anyway. The staff were supremely unhelpful too. The food we ordered (and paid a lot for) in the evening was terrible, and I just got the feeling that they were only interested in what they could earn from us, not at all interetsed in making our stay better. Overall this is possibly a great place to stay if there's not a large tour group there at the same time, but it certainly would be better to avoid it if possible.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwi-touring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiwi in ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 5, 2010

this hostel is located in the awesome little town of annascaul. breakfast is included in the price, they do dinners on request or there is a communal kitchen and living area. the staff are lovely and friendly. the only complaint i have is the shower in our room, which released about 5drops at a time. you get what you pay for though

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwiwahine22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
160 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2010

If you're into 5 star resorts and you're a notorious complainer, skip it and spend 100 euro down the road.

But, for the location and price, this no frills hostel is a great place to stay while visiting the Dingle Pen. We stayed in a basic, double with a bath down the hall. Breakfast was included (toast, jam, etc...).

If you want to see Europe, save money and meet some awesome people, this place is for you.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mad880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dingle hotels
0.0 mi away
Dingle Benners Hotel
Dingle Benners Hotel
#4 of 9 in Dingle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dingle Skellig Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Dingle Pub
The Dingle Pub
#8 of 9 in Dingle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Greenmount House
Greenmount House
#2 of 9 in Dingle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dingle Bay Hotel
Dingle Bay Hotel
#6 of 9 in Dingle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.0 mi away
Paddy's Palace  Dingle Peninsula
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Randy Leprechaun Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Randy Leprechaun Hostel

Property: Randy Leprechaun Hostel
Address: Main street | Annascaul, Dingle, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Dingle
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing