We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Dinner in Dingle”

Out of the Blue Seafood
Ranked #3 of 77 Restaurants in Dingle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $67
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: A Seafood Only Restaurant, perfectly situated on the harbour in Dingle. Pretty fine, interesting, colourful, fun and fresh dining for a Shack !
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Dinner in Dingle”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Out of the Blue came highly recommended by a friend who ate there last year. She was right -- seafood doesn't get any fresher or better than this. We enjoyed turbot with mussels, fish chowder and haddock.

The restaurant looks pretty basic outside, but is really nice inside. Service was good. There are early bird specials. Reservations are highly recommended.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank LovetoTravel2828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,448 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,072
    247
    80
    32
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
115 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Loved our Dinner and the "ambiance"!!”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We had a superb dinner at Out of the Blue and we are big seafood lovers so can be pretty fussy. First, we liked the room---big and open yet since it is an old building lots of atmosphere, very nice without being at all pretentious, good and helpful waitstaff who knew their fish and their wine. Shared and out-of the world squid appetizer, John Dory and Black Sole for mains. Just a great night and great meal---and an easy walk from our B and B!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mmob100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvania, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“High falutin' but good eatin'”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We were told this was the best place in town for seafood. What we ordered was quite good, they promise only the freshest fish and I'd agree that it is. Smaller portions, dressed nicely and high priced. This would be the spot to have that night that's the special "dress up and go all out". They only have bottled beers, but evidently a good selection of fine wines. Not somewhere I would go back, but that's just because of my tastes, for what it is it's great.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripponden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fish haven”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

A fish only restaurant, expensive but worth the cost. I had butterfly prawns, followed by scallops, they were cooked to perfection. My one complaint was the accompaniments with the scallops were spicy. To me it spoiled the delicate taste of the fish. They were also served with the Sea Bass, my husband said the same. Wouldn't stop us going again.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank milldweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A perfect way to end our time in Ireland”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

My husband spotted OOTB as soon as we parked in the municipal parking lot at the docks across the street from it. He said, " we're going there"....I am not usually the biggest seafood fan, but I was curious, too. We went, we ate, it was delicious. The service was laid back and some of the friendliest we experienced on our two week trip. I loved how they brought chalkboards to the table with our dinner options instead of having a paper menu (just a little something different). I had the delicious pollock with a crispy potato crust. My husband had fish stew, and we shared the chili squid. We had lovely, rich desserts as well, and usually that's my favorite part. Not that night, though! I loved my fish dinner, and never thought I'd hear myself say such a thing!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sak33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Out of the Blue Seafood also viewed

Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
 
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
 

Been to Out of the Blue Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing