We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Out of the Blue Seafood

Out of the Blue Seafood
Ranked #3 of 79 Restaurants in Dingle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $65
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: A Seafood Only Restaurant, perfectly situated on the harbour in Dingle. Pretty fine, interesting, colourful, fun and fresh dining for a Shack !
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stopped here because it was close to our B&B, the menu looked good and our B&B hostess suggested it. It was the best meal I ate in Ireland. I had the Atlantic Platter. It consisted of seafood chowder, bowl of clams and mussels, crab claws and crab quiche. The quiche was outstanding. The atmosphere is very laid back. We topped it off with a cheesecake. Would definately go back if I was in Dingle again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank sharon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    992
    234
    78
    32
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, MD
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“the place for fish”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

This place came HIGHLY recommended for their fresh fish and it met expectations. Please do not be fooled by the exterior appearance...the inside of the restaurant is very comfortable and stylish. I had the sole which was recommended by the waiter and was excellent, but it would have been nice to have it filleted for me so I didn't have to be so careful with the bones. When we asked if anything was served with the fish, we were told salad, veggie and potato, and to my pleasant surprise, this meant an array of small side dishes that were very good. However, one of our fellow diners had wished they let you pick the sides...the sides varied slightly for each of us, even with the same fish and she was not as happy with her selection. The house wine was also very good. The wait staff was also efficient and polite, but did seemed harried. For dessert, I recommend you walk up the street to Murphy's ice cream...excellent and interesting choices. As an aside, there was a member of our group that did not like fish so she ate at the Chart House and said it was the best meal she had I Ireland. It seems that Dingle is a real foodie town.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tollhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

only problem--served you sooo quick didn;t have time to relax and enjoy the evening-they did not rush just...out popped dinner at the same time as the wine came, for that price would have loved to linger a little bit before dinner was servedBUT fish fantastic, very different things that accompanied it we had 2 different fishes that we hadn't had--all was awesome!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank jeff p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Memorable food with a quirky vibe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Out of the Blue came VERY highly recommended for our group of four to visit when in Ireland. So we went with high expectations. Those were, for the most part, met.

Out of the Blue is a seafood restaurant. Period. If you want a steak, or chicken, or anything else -- go elsewhere. Is there a menu? Nope, whatever the restaurant procured that day is what's on offer. If the plaice was crap, it's not on the menu (BTW, I had the plaice, and it wasn't crap at all.)

So four of us went for a meal on our one night in Dingle. We arrived a bit early for our erservation, and quite peckish, but our table wasn't going to be ready right away, so we sat at the bar, which isn't quite made for sitting and lounging (it's a smallish place, so everything's a wee bit cramped). We asked for something to tide us over, and were given a dish of olives & some bread.

When the appointed time came, we got up to our table. When our wine order arrived, our waiter was a wee bit flummoxed to discover that there were no wine glasses for him to pour into; a small error, but something you hope wouldn't happen at a restaurant with OOTB's reputation.

Glasses were procured, wine was poured, and the food began to arrive. It was as good as you would expect food from a restaurant like this to be.

Sadly, the service was a bit harried and underwhelming. We had visits from each of the three servers on duty through the course of our meal. Not sure if they were simply overworked and rushed, but it didn't give you a service experience as good as the food was. No giant faux pas, but no "wows" either.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank bobledrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“This what seafood is supposed to be.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We dropped in to OOTB on recommendation of a family member, and where more than pleased. As stated here a few times before, from the outside, it looks a bit like a cute hole in the wall restaurant. The inside is a bit bigger and more upscale than outside impression . Our party was 4, and we had a selection of items. Without detail, we were all extremely pleased. I like seafood to keep its true favors, without sauces that disguise the true flavor. In this case, all the more important, as the fish was as fresh as it gets. The presentation was perfect in all our meals. We could not help but sample each others meals, with the exclamations of approval from each other. Our server was also a treat. We were impressed with her explanation of the fish, and textures and flavors we could expect. (It seems her father was a fisherman, so I am sure that helped) she did take time to explain each of our questions, which helped us each choose a meal that was enjoyed.
The prices were a bit pricey, but completely in line with the selections available, and quality of preparation.
I am tired of having a meal, and having my company say " it was OK" . It's so nice to have more than that. OOTB is much more than that.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank airthug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Out of the Blue Seafood also viewed

Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
 
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
 
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
 

Been to Out of the Blue Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing