We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent but alittle overrated”

Out of the Blue Seafood
Ranked #3 of 77 Restaurants in Dingle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $67
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: A Seafood Only Restaurant, perfectly situated on the harbour in Dingle. Pretty fine, interesting, colourful, fun and fresh dining for a Shack !
Madison, Connecticut
Level Contributor
60 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent but alittle overrated”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Always very crowded. Need reservations. Very fresh, delicious fish but no frills. And be prepared..NO beer!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ladybug912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,450 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,073
    247
    81
    32
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice change”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Lovely relaxed atmosphere here. Good food (no chips!) Excellent range of fish to choose from. Friendly staff. No probs.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Franklin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin,ireland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

We've visited Out of the Blue three times previously and know that it's an expensive night but the food has always been amazing. This time however we were a little bit disappointed. I got the chowder for starters and it was the worst chowder that I had this trip. It was quite watery and there seemed to be more carrots in it than fish. It was nothing like the fish filled creamy chowder that was served the previous years. My husband got the squid and said it was ok. Our mains were delicious- pollock and cod- and so we had no complaints with them. What really shocked us though is that we ordered a stout which is made in the area and for a 750ml bottle it was €12.50 which is extortionate. We weren't told the price of it beforehand and we were not expecting it to cost that much as we had visited the pub where the guy brews this stout only two days before and he charges just under a fiver for a pint bottle. We always enjoy coming to this restaurant when we take our annual trip but next year we're going to go elsewhere.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank choogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
409 reviews
344 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“good fresh fish”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Good fresh fish with relatively simple preparations. Reasonable wine list. Good service and lively atmosphere. Definitely worth a visit when in Dingle.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sazeracker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“More upscale than it looks from outside”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Food was terrific - they only use the freshest seafood. The presentation was amazing - unexpected and very nicely done.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank BeachNut1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Out of the Blue Seafood also viewed

Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
 
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
 

Been to Out of the Blue Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing