We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply a pleasure!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Oldchurch House B&B
Ranked #2 of 60 Kenmare B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Canmore, Canada
1 review
“Simply a pleasure!”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

I have stayed with Helen in her beautiful home on a number of occasions. It is a joy to be welcomed by her, she is so natural and accommodating, really knows how to make you feel at home. I've stayed in a number of rooms and all are well sized, clean and very comfortable. The breakfasts are great and she is very open to working around your schedule. I can't recommend it more highly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eoin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    23
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
38
110
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Old Church House is the perfect B&B for a stay in Kenmare. Walking distance to town, it's just across the street from a beautiful church ruin, and the house backs up to the Kenmare golf course and hills of Kerry...green as far as the eye can see! Helen is a doll, so welcoming and kind, great for giving helpful suggestions of things to do in the area. The home is very well kept, cozy, yet spacious, modern ammenities. Breakfast is lovely. Request a room facing the golf course if you can.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the golf course if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sintra, Portugal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our 4-day stay here. Our host Helen was most helpful in helping us plan our excursions each day. She made reservations for us and even offered to drive us into town, and/or pick us up at night after dinner...which we always declined because it's a lovely walk. This is a great location from which to see The Ring of Kerry, Dingle and the Baera peninsulas. The rooms are charming, the house is spotless, and the breakfasts delicious. What more could you ask for?

Room Tip: The rooms off the back have a stunning view of the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
1 review
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We only stayed one night, but now wish we had spent more time in Kenmare! It was the best B&B we found in Ireland! The owners were very nice and helpful. They drove us into town when it was raining, helped us plan a different route since the Ring of Kerry was partially closed for a bike race, and were very friendly to sit and chat with. It was a very cozy place to stay, and I would stay here again for sure! Make sure you check out the ruined church across the street.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landgraaf, Limburg, Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at Oldchurch House. Wonderful, kind and friendly hosts. Always in for a nice chat and very helpful with travel advice. Great rooms and accommodations. Delicious breakfast. Especially the Irish cheese (we loved it) ;-) - Nice garden/terras next to golf course.
We really had nothing to complain!

Room Tip: Rooms out back with view in to the garden and mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andreas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We stayed in Kenmare at the Oldchurch House B&B before our Ring of Kerry drive. This was a very nice and very clean B&B. It is also a short walk from town, which was nice, in that we were able to leave the car behind and enjoy the town on foot. Breakfast was very nice with a great view of the golf course behind the house and Helen was a wonderful host.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

This place was wonderful, and the owners are very helpful and friendly. I would stay here agian for sure.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tricia p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kenmare hotels
0.6 mi away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
0.6 mi away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
910 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Park Hotel Kenmare
Park Hotel Kenmare
#4 of 6 in Kenmare
634 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coachmans Townhouse Hotel
0.2 mi away
O'Donnabhain's Guesthouse B&B & Townhouses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oldchurch House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oldchurch House B&B

Property: Oldchurch House B&B
Address: Killowen, Kenmare, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Kenmare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Oldchurch House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Oldchurch House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing