We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great escape from the cities, and wonderful...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Sheen Woods

Property located in riverside development at far side of bridge (we walk across it on route to town)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Property located in riverside development at far side of bridge (we walk across it on route to town)
Front of house looking onto attractively landscaped gardens with lawn, raised stone beds & pavements Entrance hallway off porch (with guest bathroom)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Property located in riverside development at far side of bridge (we walk across it on route to town)
Front of house looking onto attractively landscaped gardens with lawn, raised stone beds & pavements
Entrance hallway off porch (with guest bathroom)
Open-plan dining/living-room area
Kitchen (adjacent to dining/living-room area) containing all 'mod cons'
Upstairs landing leading to bedrooms, main bathroom & airing press
Single bedroom
Main bathroom
Double bedroom with built-in wardrobe
En-suite / double bedroom
Twin bedroom (with built-in wardrobe)
Kenmare has something for everyone with  pubs, restaurants, boutiques, craft shops & lots more
Sheen Falls (a short walk from house) viewed from gardens of our neighbouring Sheen Falls Lodge
Gated shared seating area with magnificient views of mountains, Suspension Bridge, bay & Park Hotel
The 5-star Park Hotel (originally a 'railway' hotel) owned and operated by TV's Brennan brothers
For golfing enthusiasts, Kenmare golf club can be reached in 15mins. approx on foot
One of several pubs & restaurants noted for quality food, ambience & entertainment
Kenmare Outdoors Activity Centre (a short drive away) provides a wealth of watersports plus cruises
The 20m drive from Kenmare to Killarney takes in some of the most breathtaking scenery anywhere
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Kenmare, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Inspire63...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great escape from the cities, and wonderful historical sites nearby!”
Reviewed July 17, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This cozy three bedroom cottage is beautifully situated on a lake with grassy sittting areas. It was a lovely 10 minute walk into the town of Kenmare. Through a booking error, Rosarie & her sister, Mary, expected two of us, but we were six! They were gracious and helpful, and we all fit comfortably. There was no clothes dryer, but we made due with a drying rack, that worked fine. The house and linens were very clean & sufficient. It was one of our favorite places to stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 24, 2017
Many thanks for taking the time to review our property. So glad that you enjoyed your time there.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda H
1 review
“Excellent spotlessly clean accommodation”
Reviewed July 6, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

The house had everything we needed and the location was amazing. Within walking distance of the town but the house itself was in a a little wooded area and was so peaceful. The owners, Rosarie and Mary were so helpful and even drove us to our wedding destination as we had missed the courtesy bus!!! What a find, will be recommending my friends to stay in this little gem !

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 9, 2017
Many thanks for taking the time & the trouble to write this review. We appreciate your lovely comments & we are delighted that everything worked well for you & that you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marycorar...
Cork, Ireland
1 review
“Great”
Reviewed June 7, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Stayed here for the weekend of Ring of Beara cycle. Very comfortable, bright home. Owners couldn't have been kinder or more helpful. Very happy with our stay

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 12, 2017
Delighted that you enjoyed your stay & thank you for taking the time to review our house.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneMarie...
Drogheda
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday rental”
Reviewed June 6, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We rented Sheen Woods as a group participating the Ring of Beara Cycle. The house was beautiful and finished with homely details. The kitchen is the best equipped one that I have come across in a holiday letting. The back garden is a real private sun trap and would highly recommend a nap there in the afternoon! The level of finishes were fabulous from biscuits, taytoes and wine lift for us, to the bottle of wine in the fridge to all the lovely books and DVD there for our use. I would highly recommending this accommodation, walking distance from town and perfect for anyone completing the cycle.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 7, 2017
So glad that everything was to your satisfaction and that you enjoyed your stay in Kenmare. Many thanks for your lovely comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavin O
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly hosts, very clean”
Reviewed June 5, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Four of us stayed in Sheen Woods for the bank holiday weekend. Sheen Woods is around a 15 minute walk from Kenmare town center. The house is very clean, has everything you'd need and is great value. Rose was very helpful,
and we'd thoroughly recommend the house!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 20, 2017
Great that you were pleased with accommodation! Thank you for taking the time and the trouble to review your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stickywee...
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely House, Lovely Location”
Reviewed September 20, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We found this to be a great house , newly decorated and furnished. It is situated on a quiet estate about 10 mins walk ( some of I unpaved and unlit) to the centre of Kenmare. The house had all the necessary bits and bats you would expect. Kenmare is a great base for the Ring of Kerry and Beara and has a fantastic choice of pubs and restaurants. Can't wait to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 29, 2015
We are delighted that you got to see so much of the Kenmare & West Cork area and that our house proved a suitable 'touring' base for you. Regards & thanks for this review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Safarigir...
Sea Cliff, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect stay”
Reviewed August 27, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The house was even nicer than we expected. The location 2 minutes outside of Kenmare (by car) was ideal. We toyed with the idea of booking a more remote cottage but we were glad we stayed here, as we only had for nights in the area (but even if we stayed longer I would have liked the location). The setting of the cottage was more beautiful than the photos show!

The owners are lovely and so accommodating.

The house has everything you need.

We made a great choice and our only regret is that we did not have enough time here! Kenmare is the perfect base for touring,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 31, 2015
It's great to hear that you were not disappointed in your choice of location and that the house met your requirements. We do appreciate your review. Many thanks!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing