We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good to spend the night”
Review of Kenmare House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kenmare House
Ranked #18 of 62 Kenmare B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 13, 2011

This B&B feels more like a youth hostel, the building is pretty large and sparsely furnished. The living room was made of individual chairs whose pillows had gone completely flat. We must have gotten the worst room in the place, very small and spartan, twin beds with a tiny table between them and a desk for the small tv. The first night we were cold but when we complained the turned on the heater longer and we were comfortable enough.
They are ecological and provide soaps of that type. The towel holder heated up the towels when it was on, really nice. The breakfast was abundant if a bit plain.
Very close to downtown, 5-10 minute walk. Host were helpful with information about what to see and how to get there. Wifi very weak in the room.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pickylass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 150 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2011

Fionnuala & Danny were great. They took the time to give us a map for Kenmare and recommend places to eat at. We ended up going to Coachman's and they had a fantastic guinness stew. I loved how this B&B gave you 11 items to choose from for breakfast. Everything I tried was tasty. I think our favorite was the cheese on toast. Fionnuala recommended we take the car ferry from Tarbert which saved us some time going up to see the Cliffs of Moher when we left on our last day. Anytime I had a question, she was more than helpful. The rooms were roomy, bathroom was great, and we had a great view of the mountains. I hope to come back to Ireland one day and if we are in Kenmare. I plan on staying here again!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tirin11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2010

This was the cleanest B&B we stayed at during our vacation in Ireland. It is updated, the staff was more than hospitable and friendly, and it's close to the center of Kenmare. We couldn't have been happier with our sty.

It's a little hard to find from the main road, but look out for small signs directing you where to turn.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janie_004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2010

We travelled to Kenmare from Westport, having travelled such a distance it was wonderful to be welcomed by Dan the owner of this self catering cottage. Dan took the time to explain the facilities within the cottage and Fionnula his wife had baked some bread and had left other groceries which allowed us to relax over a nice cup of tea before heading into town. The Cottage is cosy with a wonderful wood burning stove which made nights in so warm and homely. The kitchen is well equipped and the bedroom is spacious. The Cottage was very clean which is so important. We had our own parking space. The Cottage backs on to part of the Kerry Way and is only a short 10 mins walk into town which is a very pleasant and easy stroll. Dan's Cottage is unique in comparison to some of the other generic holiday home complexes within the area which were far to large for two people.

Dan and Fionnula could have not been more helpful. Dan had wonderful tips of what to do and see and he had all the time in the world to explain his recommendations. We had a wonderful relaxing holiday thanks to our hosts.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank josieFaloon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2010

Spent 1 night here with my son whilst travelling 'The Ring of Kerry" route-loved the location with gorgeous sheep in paddock opposite. Scenic walk to town centre and nearby Circle druid attraction-would definitely stay here again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geminijodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2010

We stayed two nights at the Annagry house, and it was the best B&B we’ve visited in our trip to Ireland.
It’s located 10-15 minutes leisure-pace walking from the town centre of Kenmare, which is a very nice town (dinner and music a Foleys are recommended), and a great base for a trip to the ring of Kerry.
We got a huge and very comfortable room, which could easily accommodate a family of five. As we were just two, it was a pure pampering.
Sleeping quality was great (amazing king size bed); breakfasts (according to orders taken each evening) were great as well, and were served very tastefully.
The staff/owners were very friendly, and gave us great advices for our trip (visiting Valentia Island, driving through the gap of Dunloe and Connor Pass).
In addition, the place has a Gold Award Green Tourism Ireland certificate, and the room is full with suggestion for green traveling, which we highly appreciate.
We enjoyed our stay the Annagry house a lot, and would very happily return next time we come to Ireland.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oferf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2010

We stayed one night and liked this B&B: walking distance to lovely city centre, really spacious rooms, comfortable beds and excellent sleep quality. No breakfast buffet, but toasts, jams, butter + breakfast menu are more than ok (I had a delicious toast with cheese, my husband had bacon, eggs and sausages). Very friendly and helpful staff/owners: we followed their suggestion, so took the ferry and reached Valencia Island, really worth while!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReggioEmiliaLadybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kenmare hotels
0.4 mi away
Rockcrest House Kenmare
Rockcrest House Kenmare
#1 of 62 in Kenmare
636 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
989 reviews
13.1 mi away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
999 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park Hotel Kenmare
Park Hotel Kenmare
#4 of 6 in Kenmare
706 reviews
0.7 mi away
O'Donnabhain's Guesthouse B&B & Townhouses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenmare House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenmare House

Address: Sneem Road, Kenmare, Ireland (Formerly Annagry House)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Kenmare
Price Range: $106 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kenmare House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Kenmare House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing