We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent B&B, quiet location. A very good nights sleep!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ashfield Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 60 Kenmare B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B, quiet location. A very good nights sleep!”
Reviewed September 15, 2010

My husband and I took my parents and his mother on our very first trip to Ireland. Our stay in Kenmare was stop number 3 on our itinerary, and although we only stayed one night we enjoyed this property very much.

Mary gave us good directions, and we found it easily very near the golf course. While only a few minutes from the heart of town, the location made for a nice, quiet sleep.

We had 3 of the 4 rooms, and they all were terrific. Mary greeted us when we drove up and she is a wonderfully friendly hostess. The property is nicely updated, the rooms are fresh and clean, and the bathrooms very spacious. I'm kind of a stickler for nice bed linens, and these were pretty as well as good quality.

Overall, the house had a very nice ambiance. Very clean, very nice, very pretty. The living room had a cute little "fireplace" that was turned on when we came down for breakfast. A tea tray was stocked for our use, and we enjoyed hanging out in the living room when we returned from dinner.

Breakfast was cooked to order by our terrific host, and we had a lovely time chatting with the other guests in the 4th room.

We enjoyed this B&B and would absolutely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tabcolorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    18
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
111
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kilkenny, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2010

Lovely guesthouse on the outskirts of Kenmare town, less than 10 min walk from town centr, however house is set in a peaceful location off the main rd on a quiet cul de sac.. Lovely views over golf course and Kenmare river. Very nice breakfast, charming hostess (very obliging) and lovely dog-Pip. Fantastic power shower and spacious rooms. Would def stay here again when in Kenmare

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holdol2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2010

Lovely stay at ASHFIELD. Top marks in evry respect/

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stonethecrows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
2 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2010

Lovely hosts Mary and pual who go out of their way yo help.
Beautiful friendly dog and a donkey or two so great for animal lovers.
Many thanks,
R.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rooskarooska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Neots, Cambs
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2010

We have travelled fairly extensively in Ireland over the past few years, and I can say that without doubt, "Ashfield" is one of the best we have ever stayed in. Perrfect surroundings, charming hosts. Cannot be faulted.

Jim Martin

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Obie07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2009

Very friendly owner Mary welcomed us warmly into her B&B. We were the only ones staying there that night so we had the place to ourselves. Very cosy front room with tea/coffee/biscuits comfy sofa and sky tv! Lovely breakfast too. Impeccably clean!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fairy2410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver WA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2009

We had a very nice stay at Ashfield. Mary is wonderful! She was able to book us with another great B&B for the following night and helped me with my route the next day, made a delicious breakfast and Pipa, the border collie, is a smart fun dog. But you only see her if you let Mary know you are a dog person otherwise you wouldn't really know she is there. The showers are awesome, comfortable beds, pillows and very spacious! It is the best B&B we stayed at. I highly recommend it for anyone staying in Kenmare. It is a short 10 min walk - nice walk in good weather - to city center.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank odieswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kenmare hotels
0.6 mi away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
0.6 mi away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
0.2 mi away
O'Donnabhain's Guesthouse B&B & Townhouses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Abbey Court B&B
Abbey Court B&B
#5 of 60 in Kenmare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oldchurch House B&B
Oldchurch House B&B
#2 of 60 in Kenmare
5.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rockcrest House
Rockcrest House
#1 of 60 in Kenmare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashfield Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashfield Bed & Breakfast

Property: Ashfield Bed & Breakfast
Address: Killowen Rd., Kenmare, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Kenmare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashfield Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ashfield Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing