We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ashfield Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 61 Kenmare B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
1 review
“Fantastic Service”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Very easy to find it with some some signals. The place is very quit and nice. The owner gave us a very nice welcome. The service is fantastic. If you want to stay a night in Kenmare I really recommend you to take this B&B.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraManuDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    19
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
118
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester Springs, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

A perfect Bed and Breakfast with a wonderful owner....Mary! Nice location outside of town but off of the main street in a quiet but picturesque area. Our lovely, spacious room with a view of the water was just as requested and even had a nice large bed for my tall husband! Bed very comfortable, bathroom was modern and well appointed and room was large. We all had a few laughs over a little problem with TOO MUCH water pressure in the showers but the plumber took care of it. Breakfast was extremely good with selection of fresh fruits, juices, cereals, yogurt, and several different hot breakfast choices that were perfectly prepared. Mary served homemade jam from her own berry bushes outside in the back yard. The true gem of this B and B was Mary herself who could not do enough for us. She was helpful in every way, pleasant and delightful. Wishing we could go back to Ireland just to stay with Mary again! I encourage visitors to Kenmare to stay at this lovely place.

Room Tip: Send Mary an email with requests and she will try to accommodate you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NBG_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springboro, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Mary is a hoot. She is super friendly and runs a nice B&B. The rooms are good sized and clean. The common areas are a little outdated but perfectly nice, and the breakfast was quite good. Her homemade scones were excellent!

The house is about a minutes drive from Kenmare and offers nice views of the mountains and lakes.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goob13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fuldabrück
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed two nights in Mary's nice B&B and really enjoyed our time. The rooms are nice and tidy, it was quiet and Mary was a pleasant host. She had good recommendations for us (restaurant, things to do) and we definately liked her breakfast. She served fresh fruits (strawberries and blueberries) and eggs and bacon were good as well. We would definately recommend this B&B to everyone interested in a trip to Ring of Kerry, Beara or Killarney National Park. Kenmare is a lovely town and you'll find lots of pubs, restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathar86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerlingen, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed there for one night in April 2013.
The B&B is located a little far from Kenmare "center", given that Kenmare is such a tiny little town. The room was very large, tidy, clean and very comfortable! The owner was friendly and gave us recommendations where we could grab a bite. The big disappointment came in the morning: the breakfast was not good! The porridge was watery and thin, the bacon was dry, the sausages didn't have a taste at all. In comparison to the B&Bs we had stayed at earlier, it was the worst breakfast!
Given the poor breakfast, we do not recommend a stay there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PascalL278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

This B&B was a good place to stay. Mary`s breakfast was very good and fresh. The jam and the scones were awesome. The house was a little outdated but clean. Mary was a pleasant host. One negative thing about the house was that we ran out of hot water during the first shower (reason for 3 star rating). Kenmare was a bit touristy of a town. Great place to stay to begin The Ring of Kerry drive. The restaurants in town were expensive.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatieA445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Pride in ownership! Mary has found her niche in life, she is a wonderful hostess. (Paul too, we met him on our last night, stayed 3). This B&B is clean, well kept, and homey. Nice size rooms, comfy beds, wonderful breakfasts, she prepares whatever you ask for. Homemade scones, brown bread and jam with berries from her garden. If staying in a B&B and you want to feel like you're visiting an old friend, this is the place! Thank you Mary and Paul for adding wonderful memories to our trip to Ireland. We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ljanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kenmare hotels
0.6 mi away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
0.7 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
956 reviews
0.6 mi away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
O'Donnabhain's Guesthouse B&B & Townhouses
0.2 mi away
Foleys Guesthoues & Self-Catering Holiday Homes
0.5 mi away
Abbey Court B&B
Abbey Court B&B
#5 of 61 in Kenmare
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashfield Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashfield Bed & Breakfast

Property: Ashfield Bed & Breakfast
Address: Killowen Rd., Kenmare, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Kenmare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashfield Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ashfield Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing