We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place to Stay in Kenmare”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ashfield Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 62 Kenmare B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 20, 2011

We stayed here two nights in May as part of a three week trip and found Ashfield to be one of our best places to stay. The rooms are very nice, comfortable beds, pretty bathrooms and a welcoming setting. Mary's advice on what routes to take, including recommendations on the Ring of Beara, were excellent. She was most welcoming and even made us fresh muffins one evening. And the breakfasts were excellent. You won't go wrong by booking a stay here on any visit to Kenmare. The location is slightly outside ot town, but walkable and a short drive with a car.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mustlovetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (199)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 199 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2011

We'd booked elsewhere but were sent here when the other b & b was unexpectedly closed while we were in Kenmare. Ashfield turn out to be just right for us. Paul and Mary were wonderful hosts. He fixed delicious breakfasts and Pippa, the dog, "gave us the paw" This b & b is just off the main road thus very quiet but still an easy short walk to the center of town. We slept well and were completely satisfied with this accommodation.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anniejet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2011

Cant say enough about Ashfield B & B. Wonderful quiet location only a ten minute walk to Kenmare with wonderful views of water, hills and golf course. We couldnt have picked a better b & b. Our rooms were very clean, beds were so comfortable - slept great! Bright spacious washroom with power showers.
Mary our host was the best.!! Most accommodating and a great sense of humour. Lovely breakfasts and great conversations. She was most helpful is helping to set up tours for us and was very knowledgeable about the area.
Great location, wonderful rooms and a wonderful host. Thanks so much Mary..would love to return!! (mickey midnights!!)

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank soozireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2011

Mary was a delightful and very thoughtful host. It was my wife's mother's 81st birthday and she had a card and a muffin with a candle for her at breakfast. Ashfield is in a quiet location on a lake just outside of Kenmare. Kenmare is located on the road that is part of the Ring of Kerry drive so it was a great location for seeing Co Kerry. The rooms were very nice, plenty of hot water and a very nice sitting room/public area. The rooms are upstairs so be prepared for that, but it wasn't a big problem for us. We were there in the off season and were the only guests which made it even better. Mary made a recommendation for a local restaurant in town as well as some shopping hints. We had a wonderful hot breakfast with plenty of tea and coffee. If in the area, I will certainly go back.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jharbinal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2010

My husband and I took my parents and his mother on our very first trip to Ireland. Our stay in Kenmare was stop number 3 on our itinerary, and although we only stayed one night we enjoyed this property very much.

Mary gave us good directions, and we found it easily very near the golf course. While only a few minutes from the heart of town, the location made for a nice, quiet sleep.

We had 3 of the 4 rooms, and they all were terrific. Mary greeted us when we drove up and she is a wonderfully friendly hostess. The property is nicely updated, the rooms are fresh and clean, and the bathrooms very spacious. I'm kind of a stickler for nice bed linens, and these were pretty as well as good quality.

Overall, the house had a very nice ambiance. Very clean, very nice, very pretty. The living room had a cute little "fireplace" that was turned on when we came down for breakfast. A tea tray was stocked for our use, and we enjoyed hanging out in the living room when we returned from dinner.

Breakfast was cooked to order by our terrific host, and we had a lovely time chatting with the other guests in the 4th room.

We enjoyed this B&B and would absolutely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tabcolorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2010

Lovely guesthouse on the outskirts of Kenmare town, less than 10 min walk from town centr, however house is set in a peaceful location off the main rd on a quiet cul de sac.. Lovely views over golf course and Kenmare river. Very nice breakfast, charming hostess (very obliging) and lovely dog-Pip. Fantastic power shower and spacious rooms. Would def stay here again when in Kenmare

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holdol2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2010

Lovely stay at ASHFIELD. Top marks in evry respect/

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stonethecrows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kenmare hotels
0.9 mi away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
989 reviews
0.1 mi away
Abbey Court B&B
Abbey Court B&B
#8 of 62 in Kenmare
377 reviews
1 mi away
2 Mile Lodge
2 Mile Lodge
#12 of 62 in Kenmare
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
O'Donnabhain's Guesthouse B&B & Townhouses
0.8 mi away
Rockcrest House Kenmare
Rockcrest House Kenmare
#1 of 62 in Kenmare
636 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oldchurch House B&B
Oldchurch House B&B
#3 of 62 in Kenmare
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashfield Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashfield Bed & Breakfast

Address: Killowen Rd., Kenmare, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Kenmare
Price Range: $101 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashfield Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Ashfield Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing