We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hosts But B&B Needs Work”
Review of Druid Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Druid Cottage
Ranked #57 of 61 Kenmare B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 3, 2010

Bernadette and her husband are very nice hosts who are more than willing to answer questions and provide advice on sites, pubs, etc. However, the B&B is "tired." The room was okay but felt like it hasn't changed in decades. The sitting room downstairs felt "old."
It wasn't "inviting" so we didn't use it. The furniture seemed like it came from a used furniture store.

The breakfast was excellent but when looking out the windown toward the back, one could see junk that should have been tossed out or at least out of sight.

The location is excellent. It's an easy walk to town. This B&B could be outstanding but it needs lots of work and tender loving care.

If I were searching for a B&B in Kenmare, I'd keep looking.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelerJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 90 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2009

We found Druid Cottage by chance and luckily they had a free room. We even bargined down by 5 EUR. The room was very cute with a backwall made of gray rocks which gives it a very rustic but also warm feeling. Very clean and even with a flat sceen TV (ok not very large but hey it is not a 5 Star Marriott).
The hosts were very friendly and helpful and gave us some advice or our travel.
Breakfast was tasty and fresh.
We can really recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hesspoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2009

Druid Cottage
Sneem Rd, Kenmare, Co. Kerry
Tel: ireland, 064/41803
[--]

very characterized room, very nice host with rich travel experience around the world, very sweet cottage, not expensive...

Thank crystalyuan2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2009

We arrived by car in picturesque Kenmare late afternoon. We enjoy staying a kilometre or two out of town so we can have a good walk, and rang Druid Cottage after looking at our B&B guide. Bernadette, our host, gave us instructions on how to find the place, but after we got lost she jumped in her car and met us in town to guide us! She made us most welcome with tea and cakes, and gave us advice about the town and area. The room was beautiful and clean, the shared bathroom - this IS a B&B after all - also scrupulously clean. Breakfast was big in the traditional Irish way! All in all, an excellent stay.

  • Stayed: May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IainNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2007

Make sure to arrive on time. The room was small, and the walls are thin. But it was clean & comfortable and within a 15 minute walk of the city center area. Dinner at Foleys was excellent! Breakfast was good, especially chatting with the other boarders.

  • Stayed: October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pkrull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2007

We (me, my wife, and our 18 year old son) stayed at the Druid Cottage B&B in Kenmare, County Kerry, for two nights in early June. We loved our room, the breakfasts were great, and the hosts were friendly and very helpful. It is only a short (and pleasant) walk into town. I definitely recommend the Druid Cottage.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank randnpeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Hugo-Emylie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kenmare hotels
13.1 mi away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
1.3 mi away
Abbey Court B&B
Abbey Court B&B
#7 of 61 in Kenmare
376 reviews
13.1 mi away
River Meadows B&B
River Meadows B&B
#36 of 61 in Kenmare
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Avelow House
Avelow House
#14 of 61 in Kenmare
93 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lissyclearig Thatched Cottage
0.7 mi away
O'Donnabhain's Guesthouse B&B & Townhouses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Druid Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Druid Cottage

Address: Sneem Road, Kenmare, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Kenmare
Price Range: $87 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Druid Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing