We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very poor customer service”
Review of Druid Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Druid Cottage
Ranked #55 of 60 Kenmare B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very poor customer service”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed one night in September 2013. While the room was ok, the owners definitely were not. While in our room just before bed (around 9:30) we kept getting annoyed because someone was shining car lights into our room. When I went to see the owners they told me they keep flood lights on unti l10PM, so that "people can see the stone wall." I was also told they are on a timer - which apparently they won't, or can't, change.I don't know if this for advertisement or for guiding guests to the house, but they point right at the house...and the guest rooms. They weren't hostile but certainly didn't seem to care much. Likewise with the intermittent internet service.

Room Tip: If they have one facing the rear of the lot pick that one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    27
    12
    7
    10
See reviews for
14
41
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
152 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This B & B is a 25 minute walk to Kenmare so only good if you have a car or it's not raining, which it did repeatedly during our 4 day stay. Although the owners are charming, helpful and will give guests a ride into town if they are free and the old stone house atmospheric, the en-suite bath and the room were cramped with a toilet that flushed inadequately. The room had few amenities and the comfort of the bed was marginal. A word of caution: cash only is accepted for payment although that is not indicated when reservations are made through Trip Advisor sites. Breakfast was very good with excellent smoked salmon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank penandpalate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Florida
Level Contributor
136 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This was a more modest facility than others we stayed in, but the location was very good and the hosts very caring. The room we had was in the rear on the ground floor. It was smaller than the rooms in the other B&B's we visited.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Putnam, NY
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We chose this B&B because it is 200 year old stone cottage and it's proximity to the Ring of Kerry and it did not disappoint. The five minute walk to town was an added bonus in that we could enjoy the wonderful pub and live music in Kenmare without having to drive. Bernadette and Phillip were friendly and helpful, their dog Jack was a sweetheart and it was the perfect place to start the ROK and avoid all the tour buses in Killarney(drive clockwise around the ring). We also found Kenmare much nicer and less crowded than Killarney. The rooms and bathroom are on the small side but neat and clean. The breakfast choices were limited compared to some other B&B's we visited but well-done.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BilltyDeLyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed at this B & B while we were hiking the Kerry Way. The hosts were very knowledgeable about the area and helpful in that regard. As another reviewer pointed out, if your room is not ready (if you are early), you will not be able to use their bathroom facilities. This may be a standard thing, so I won't hold it against them. The location is good, particularly if you are hiking, it is a short 15-minute walk into town. We were in a hurry to get going in the morning, so we did not stay for breakfast, again, I won't hold it against them because it was our fault we did not specify an early time for breakfast, and our host did offer to make us some tea or coffee before we left. But because we did not stay for breakfast, I cannot review the food. The hosts did graciously allow us to use their refrigerator to store our lunch for the next day. This B & B is very cute, but the room was pretty small, it felt old and was a bit musty, the bed was not very comfortable, and the shower was tiny. I wouldn't recommend it after a long hike and I wouldn't recommend it for a long stay. That said, it would work for a day stay, because of it's nice location and the hosts are very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kenmare hotels

The Jersey Shore
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We had a very enjoyable two night stay at the Druid Cottage. Great location-less than five minute easy walk to the town center. Our hosts were very friendly and accomodating. Several nice choices for breakfast each morning along with frest fruit and the best coffee we had while in Ireland. Rooms are certainly on the small side but we were only there to crash after our long day sight-seeing. We did joke that the showers were similar in size to the ones on cruise ships. Larger folks beware. All in all, a nice stay on our vacation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bogart45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We chose this B&B due to its proximity to the town and because it looked so much nicer that the usual bungalow or the modern monstrosity that are most B&B's. We weren't disappointed on either front. We loved the building and the decor is way more interesting than the usual bland shop bought prints and magnolia paint! The owners were very friendly and helpful and in no way intrusive. The town is only a few minutes on foot and as pointed out below, there is even a shortcut that shaves another couple of minutes off of that. The breakfast was good. Can't fault the place. This was our first trip to Kenmare and we will be back to both the town and the B&B

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony1405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kenmare hotels
0.1 mi away
River Meadows B&B
River Meadows B&B
#40 of 60 in Kenmare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ardmore House B&B
Ardmore House B&B
#41 of 60 in Kenmare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Rose Garden B&B and Cafe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
2 Mile Lodge
2 Mile Lodge
#12 of 60 in Kenmare
5.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.9 mi away
Watersedge Kenmare
Watersedge Kenmare
#15 of 60 in Kenmare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lissyclearig Thatched Cottage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Druid Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Druid Cottage

Property: Druid Cottage
Address: Sneem Road, Kenmare, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Kenmare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Druid Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing