We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Davitts, Excellent Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Davitts Kenmare Guesthouse
Ranked #7 of 61 Kenmare B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Loved Davitts, Excellent Value”
Reviewed June 13, 2009

Stayed at Davitts for 2 nights while in Kenmare. We found Kenmare to be a lovely area and a nice central are for lots of activities in Western Ireland. Only a few minutes away from Killarney National Park, Davitts had a great location.

The staff at Davitts were extremely helpful. They were able to give us suggestions for what we should be doing and had no problems giving us directions to things we already had booked.

The rooms were very spacious and quiet. I definitely appreciated the blinds to make the room pitch black...especially since it stays ight so late and gets bright so early. We had the family style room and found it more than adequate for our needs. The breaksfasts were very delicious and seemed like a great value.

We had dinner at Davitts one evening. Probably the best fish and chips that we had on the whole trip.

All in all, the location was great, the b&b seemed quite safe, the people were wonderful. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ClumsyIsis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    40
    3
    5
    1
See reviews for
37
112
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2009

Stayed in Davitt's during the bank holiday weekend. Had a great time. Very relaxing. Central location so saw lots of Kenmare. Food fantastic. Would highly recommend Davitt's to anyone. We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandSeaSlopes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
truesotrue4u
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2009

We stayed here last month and were not very impressed with the overall place.
Our bedroom was a bit old fashioned but to be honest the colours would not have bothered me, but the stale smell from the bedspread did. There was also mould in the en-suite.
Downstiars the restaurant is large but there is only windows at the very front so in warm weather natural ventilation is not possible.
The food was expensive but fine. However for the price they did not have tablecloths, even though you would expect that at the high price food is there.
Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank truesotrue4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davitts, Owner at Davitts Kenmare Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 4, 2009
Firstly at Davitts we do not have bedspreads only Duvets with white Linen throughout. All our bedrooms are neutral with the exception of a splash of colour in our Cushions & Pictures.
Our housekeeping is excellent & on inspecting everything again we have found no mould in any of our bathrooms.
We are one of the most reasonabley priced restaurants from Main Courses from EU14.50 to Steaks at EU26 & a good choice is offered suiting all budgets.We do not use linen on our tables as we are only a casual dining & not Highend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gaelicgirl1
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2009

We recently stayed in Davitts and couldn't have been more pleased. This is our third trip to Ireland and have stayed in many B&Bs and this far surpassed everything we have seen. The rooms were up to date and clean with beautiful bedding. The service was out of this world. Mary, who runs the hotel, was unbelievable. She truly forsees your every need. She is at breakfast every morning just overflowing with cheer and GREAT local information. It's also the only place we have ever stayed with an included breakfast that was so extensive. The other servers were also excellent. We are returning to Ireland in two years and there is no way we would not be repeat customers. Thanks Mary!!!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gaelicgirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighouse, West Yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2009

I can't fault this guest house. We've stayed here a few times over the years and would recommend it to anyone. We've taken friends out to lunch and dinner there, had our Irish relatives stay and also taken our son who is notoriously hard to please.

The food is excellent and the staff are friendly and helpful. Read an earlier review which said none of the staff were locals. What a load of rubbish! As we've been staying for years we've got to know the staff and the owners, Mary and Donal. As far as I can tell 90% of the staff are locals. The one foreign national who works in the restaurant has been at Davitts for years now!

We love the west coast anyway but Kenmare is a haven for us and Davitts is our favourite place. It is just large enough to be informal and friendly but all your needs are catered for. The rooms are all bright and light and clean. The staff are nothing but helpful and the food is delicious. I'd recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank solarkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2009

Went here with some friend.
Place full of party chicks, very loud non-stop.
Rooms very 1990's
Staff not very attentive and a lot not local so did not feel they could help with local knowledge
Price ok but would not stay there again as it is just a place for stag and hen parties
Food fine but could not hear myself speak due to non-stop chatter
Rooms ok but wall paper thin.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank squareshape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davitts, Owner at Davitts Kenmare Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 2, 2009
Davitts is a family run Restaurant & Guesthouse & take pride in our service & good value. Our Guestrooms are let out only to individuals & not to Stag & Hen Parties, but we do welcome all types of parties in our Restaurant for dinner.. The same can be said of a lot of Restaurants in Kenmare particularly Saturday nights.
We are constantly updating & remodelling our rooms.
We are very proud of our excellent staff who have been with us for years all who are local with the exception of 2 & they have been with us a number of years also & know the local community
We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay but you should have made it known so that we could have helped or even provided a discount.
We are not a 5 star hotel -we are what we are-
Good food,accommodation & good value in the centre of Kenmare.

Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2009

The food here is affordable and very good! Must try it!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gypsymoth05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kenmare hotels
0.4 mi away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
0.0 mi away
Coachmans Townhouse Hotel
0.4 mi away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
956 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lansdowne Arms Hotel
Lansdowne Arms Hotel
#6 of 6 in Kenmare
247 reviews
0.0 mi away
O'Donnabhain's Guesthouse B&B & Townhouses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Davitts Kenmare Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Davitts Kenmare Guesthouse

Property: Davitts Kenmare Guesthouse
Address: 11 Henry Street, Kenmare, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Kenmare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Davitts Kenmare Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Davitt's is a family run guesthouse/bed and breakfast in the centre of Kenmare, Co Kerry. Rooms are well-appointed and en-suite. Downstairs there is a friendly bar bistro where guests can relax in front of the open fire and a restaurant serving some of the best food in town. Groups and tours welcome by prior arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Davitts Kenmare Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davitts Kenmare Hotel Kenmare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing