We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth it for the wonderful breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Davitts Kenmare Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Davitts Kenmare Guesthouse
Ranked #8 of 63 Kenmare B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
1 review
“Worth it for the wonderful breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

We thought the rooms were okay and were annoyed there was no Wi-Fi in the rooms or lobby but the staff (owner especially) were really nice and the breakfast that was included in the price was the best we had in Ireland. They really make an effort to make it great.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bosco74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davitts_11, Owner at Davitts Kenmare Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are sorry that you had a problem connecting to our Wifi.
Some of our rooms get our Wifi but others just seem to have a problem picking it up. We have certain hot spots in the building, the whole ground Floor Bar/Restaurant Area & the Lobby that you can get it & we provide our codes in the lobby area for you to connect or just to ask any member of staff.
We are happy that you enjoyed your breakfast we try to offer something varied.
We hope that you enjoyed your trip to Ireland & got some of the lovely sunshine that we are experiencing this week.
Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    39
    2
    5
    1
See reviews for
35
103
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, Ohio, Usa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Kenmare is a great spot to call home for driving the Ring of Kerry and visiting the National Park. Very clean room, off street parking (could pose a challenge if you drive anything larger than the tiny little rental that we had), can easily walk the whole town from here. Great breakfast options with fresh fruit and granola at the buffet table. Lady of the house was quite friendly and offered recommendations for us to see/do. - Negatives: no free wifi, room had no view

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davitts_11, Owner at Davitts Kenmare Guesthouse, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Kate

Thank you so much for your kind comments. We really enjoyed meeting you both & hope you had a great trip to Ireland.
Just a note to say we do have free WIFI but in certain hot spots in the building we provide the code for this. Sorry about the car park. As we are in the centre of the town- the majority of the buidlings do not have parking facilities- street parking is recommended but we are lucky to have a few spaces that we share with another establishment at the rear of the property.
Than you again.
Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed at this very lovely little hotel for nine nights and enjoyed the best service, the nicest room, the most extraordinary breakfast ever. Mary, the lady of the house, helped us with good advice what to do, which places to visit, with renting a car, getting on the internet on her own computer when ours didn't work and using her washing machine ("You may need it, when you are staying for such a long time!"). In the evenings there was good food and live music at the restaurant, and across the street we found the best music pub in town for later in the evening. From Kenmare you can easily visit the Dingle peninsula, the Ring of Kerry and lovely Beara, and do not miss the Seafari, a 2-3hours boat trip tyo watch birds and seals!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SusaHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davitts_11, Owner at Davitts Kenmare Guesthouse, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for choosing Davitts as your base for the 9 nights. We really enjoyed chatting to you both in the morning & helping you plan your trips everyday & better still enjoyed your funny stories on your excursions.
Thank you for your more than kind comments & we will look forward to having you stay with us again.
Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte nc
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Stayed here as part of a tour
The rooms were large clean and updated
Loft sitting areas were comfy and great for small groups
The food at the restaurant -dinner and breakfast was excellent.
Wi-fi is limited in the rooms but that was a small inconvenience

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ninaCharlotteNc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Had a great night as part of a touring holiday and this hotel stood out from the others as a great location, with a welcoming atmosphere, helpful staff and top service - if I go back to Kenmare I won't be looking anywhere else!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

A fantastic hotel for accommodation, food and fantastic friendly service. The small frontage hides the fact that the rooms are very large and beautifully decorated. Only a few rooms (8-12) so don't miss out. Great bar service, even if you're a group of smelly cyclists arriving a couple of hours early after the feats of taking in the Gap of Dunloe - the bar staff walk so that you don't have to :-)
Had a great meal in the lively bar with the same great service. Front of house couldn't do enough - made our stay memorable.
Great service at breakfast from an Irish gem (who's name we embarrassingly didn't get, but from previous reviews sounds like Mary) served us to full and even corrected our cycle route for the following day (which proved to be a brilliant day of cycling - thank you Mary). All in all, an absolute must if you are visiting Kenmare.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2013Kenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

This B&B is in Kenmare on a street lined with lovely shops, pubs, and restaurants. The rooms are bright, clean, nicely decorated. They have free wifi you just need to ask for the password. It didn't work in my room but there is a nice seating area where it worked and it also works in the restaurant below. The bathrooms are clean and spacious and the staff is very welcoming.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gretchen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kenmare hotels
0.0 mi away
Coachmans Townhouse Hotel
0.4 mi away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
0.4 mi away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Park Hotel Kenmare
Park Hotel Kenmare
#4 of 6 in Kenmare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
0.0 mi away
O'Donnabhain's Guesthouse B&B & Townhouses
0.0 mi away
Foleys Guesthoues & Self-Catering Holiday Homes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Davitts Kenmare Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Davitts Kenmare Guesthouse

Property: Davitts Kenmare Guesthouse
Address: 11 Henry Street, Kenmare, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Kenmare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Davitts Kenmare Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Davitt's is a family run guesthouse/bed and breakfast in the centre of Kenmare, Co Kerry. Rooms are well-appointed and en-suite. Downstairs there is a friendly bar bistro where guests can relax in front of the open fire and a restaurant serving some of the best food in town. Groups and tours welcome by prior arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Davitts Kenmare Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davitts Kenmare Hotel Kenmare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing