We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great little Irish pub”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Davitts Kenmare Guesthouse
Ranked #8 of 60 Kenmare B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
137 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“A great little Irish pub”
Reviewed June 17, 2011

We had reservations for another town the day we stopped in. We were so sorry we couldn't spend the night here. We had stopped into Kenmare for dinner and a pint and found this lovely establishment. My wife had the fish and chips and I had the local Kenmare seafood bisque. Three shellfish in every spoon full. A fantastic meal for both of us. The other bar patrons that were staying in the B&B were raving about the rooms. The food was top notch and it wasn't hard to tell why the place was packed. The bartender took our order as we decided to sit in the bar area and mingle with the other guests. He was a very friendly and attentive fellow. I mentioned to him about the food quality and the large crowd. His response was " in order to stay in business in a town of this size with 20 other restaurants, you have to strive to be the best. Well they certainly do a great job. If you are going any where near the Ring of Kerry or the Ring of Beara this is a fantastic place to stop.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 85Harley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    39
    2
    5
    1
See reviews for
36
105
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore,MD
Level Contributor
260 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2011

Hotel /pub located on Main St in Kenmare---Great location --parking in rear---Secure a room on top floor in rear of buiding to avoid hearing music from the pub---will take luggage to room--no lift available---Room large & clean
Near restaurants/pubs for dining and great Irish music!!!
Breakfast outstanding!

Room Tip: book hotel room on www.venere.com for best rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzannePC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratham, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2011

We recently stayed at this inn while on a hiking tour with Wolfhound explorers (Wolfhoundtours.com). We had stayed in several different villages and arrived at this hotel after a long hike through some rain. We were thrilled to find a room huge by European standards and large by American standards. We were on the top floor and had several skylights. It rained overnight and the sound of the rain on the skylights was wonderful.

This hotel had the best shower of anywhere we stayed in Ireland. The water pressure was amazing. The bathroom was very large and the tub/shower had a lovely ledge to hold your book or drink while you are soaking.

We had dinner in the pub attached to the hotel. The food was very good. Special note on how good the salad and veggies with dinner were. There was live entertainment in the restaurant. We loved the cozy seating. Plan to try the ice cream and hot rhubarb for dessert if you stay here. It was excellent!

Breakfast in the morning was excellent as well. There was a cold buffet, then your choice of hot entrees. The service was great and everyone was very friendly.

We strongly recommend Davitts!

Room Tip: Request a room on the top floor for skylights
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CTTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austria
1 review
Reviewed May 4, 2011

we stayed two nights the location is excellent the rooms and bathroom were nice and clean. We ate in the restaurant /bar on the ground floor the food was good and reasonably priced.Kenmare is a quaint town .

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meno62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Media, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 31, 2011

We had 2 very comfortable nights here and would happily stay again. Everyone was helpful and attentive and the room was spacious and well appointed. Breakfasts were great and the food in the pub was tasty. For the price, it's a wonderful value and we were happy to have found it!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RamblinRoesofMedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2010

Davitt's was a bit unlike other places we stayed in Ireland in that the room was more modern and spacious (like a hotel we might find in the States), but the hospitality was truly Irish! When we arrived, we were given a very nice room with lots of space compared to where we had last come from. We were pleased, but did notice that our window had no view (except to an alleyway). After our first night, we had the pleasure of meeting Mary and she said that we could move into a larger room upstairs with more light. We did not ask for the room and told Mary that we didn't think it would be worth us packing up our stuff and moving for the remainder of the stay. She said "no hurry" -- just let her know our decision when we return from our day of sightseeing. Well, when we returned to our room later that day, we found all our stuff gone from the room. It was a bit disconcerting at first, but I knew what must have happened. They moved all our stuff for us!! And, the new room was much better! It had 2 huge sky lights which let tons of sunshine into the room. Plus, a sky light in the bath area which had a large tub/shower. These sky light windows open, and considering we were blessed with beautiful weather while in Kenmare, we were able to enjoy the fresh air and warm sunshine for the remainder of our stay. Their move of our stuff was amazing. They got every little thing that was in our previous room (down to the razor and little shampoo bottle in the shower). We had no idea that they would do this for us!

The location of Davitt's can't be beat. Walk out the door and you are on one of the main streets lined with shops, restaurants and pubs. Free parrking was available in back -- it was a very small area, so I'm not sure where everyone would park during peak season, but it was not a problem for us in October.

The breakfast was wonderful. A great buffet of cereals, breads, fruits, juices, etc. and a selection of hot items that are freshly cooked. Davitt's has an outdoor patio area and we enjoyed it one afternoon for drinks. The bartender was very friendly and he went out of his way to try and find my husband a cigar cutter.

I would definitely return to Davitt's if I visit Kenmare again!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SDAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2010

Davitts looks like a traditional Irish pub on the outside, but inside you will find quiet, spacious, well-appointed rooms that invite you to sleep in and power up for the harrowing drive through the Gap of Dunloe. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable, the restaurant is attractive and serves excellent food, and the Guinness is cold. Its location in the quaint heart of Kenmare is an added bonus. We stayed three nights, and were grateful to return to Davitts after long days of exploring the Ring of Kerry.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thrillinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kenmare hotels
0.4 mi away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
0.0 mi away
Coachmans Townhouse Hotel
0.4 mi away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
916 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Hotel Kenmare
Park Hotel Kenmare
#4 of 6 in Kenmare
634 reviews
0.0 mi away
O'Donnabhain's Guesthouse B&B & Townhouses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Davitts Kenmare Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Davitts Kenmare Guesthouse

Property: Davitts Kenmare Guesthouse
Address: 11 Henry Street, Kenmare, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Kenmare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Davitts Kenmare Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Davitt's is a family run guesthouse/bed and breakfast in the centre of Kenmare, Co Kerry. Rooms are well-appointed and en-suite. Downstairs there is a friendly bar bistro where guests can relax in front of the open fire and a restaurant serving some of the best food in town. Groups and tours welcome by prior arrangement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Davitts Kenmare Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davitts Kenmare Hotel Kenmare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing