We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 night break with kids”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kenmare Bay Holiday Homes & Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Before we had even arrived at the hotel I received a call from the reception advising that they were going to upgrade us to a luxury lodge as they could see on ou booking that we had two small children. We were delighted with this great news. The hotel also muct of found out that we were on our honeymoon and had a bottle of Processco in our lodge wating for us.

The lodge was really spacious and the cot for our yougest child was already set up in one of the bedrooms. The place was open plan and had a lovely little garden for the kids to play in which was secure so they could play out the back safely. Their is a lovely pool for kids as well as a slide into the main pool which my 3 an1/2 yr old loved. The staff were so helpful and could not have done any more for us and I would definatley recommend going to this hotel if you have small children.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Treasa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew R, General Manager at Kenmare Bay Holiday Homes & Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for you lovely review. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay in our luxury lodges with your family, we like to make everyone's stay in our hotel a happy and memorable one from the smallest of touches.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Yours Sincerely,
Andrew Rees

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 174 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2013

We took a house for 3 weeks and it has been a home from home. The house is very comfortable and well appointed and anything extra that we asked for was provided straight away. The staff were great and very obliging. We have stayed in other holiday rentals in Kenmare but this was the best and we will come back. Less than 5 minutes walk to the fantastic town of Kenmare. We had a young baby in the group and it was very convenient for the parents.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Myself and my family have had a brilliant time at Kenmare. The holiday home was very well equipped, clean and pleasant. The staff were helpful and responded immediately to any problem or concern. The pool facilities were excellent, but bring your swimming caps as they are compulsory here!!!
The hotel is a few minutes walk from the delights of Kenmare, lots of live music and good eateries, and an ice-cream bar!
The only down-side was that there was some noise from weddings, (although there is a vigilant night-porter if there are any problems) and that the beds were, in my opinion, hard!

Room Tip: If you do not like noise from events you might want to consider the hotel's holiday homes that a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cheshirehousewife01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew R, General Manager at Kenmare Bay Holiday Homes & Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review, we are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay here with us in our self catering accommodation.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Yours Sincerely,
Andrew Rees

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed here twice over the past month. The first time the room we were given was modern, clean and overall very nice. The second time we stayed with a group of lads and we were given rooms that we basic, clean but in need of a refurb. Nevertheless I joined both stays at this hotel. The leisure centre is decent and the staff are polite and helpful. The breakfast is great for the price. However it can get really busy and sometimes the staff are under pressure at peak times. Well worth a visit as there are quite a few things to do near by. The holiday homes as look pretty decent.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jono635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

my family and I decided to go to kenmare for the weekend. After much debating we decided to book a lodge as it was easier as the children could go out and play and we would be able to relax known they were safe and not confined to a hotel room. We booked the forelands house as it sleeps up to 8 and there was 9 of us which included a baby. On arrival the receptionist was Jason who was very helpful given us directions, and information on where was best to carry the younger children. When we arrived at the forelands I was very disappointed. I went out to the back yard to find it was a communal yard shared between 3 houses and gardens over grown really not suitable for the children as we were told, However I rang reception and I cannot give them enough credit they sorted us out with lodges and I must say they were beautiful. 5 stars to be fair. Lodges are beautiful modern decorated and the back gardens which was our main point of our weekend were lovely and secure. We had a lovely weekend in Kenmare and the Kenmare bay staff were very nice and considerate. I cannot comment on food as we did the cooking in the lodge but We were all happy and will definitely be returning again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank norsroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew R, General Manager at Kenmare Bay Holiday Homes & Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review. I am sorry to hear that you were misinformed about our Forelands houses, we are currently undergoing improvements for the summer season and will take your comments into consideration. I am glad you enjoyed your stay in our luxury lodges with your family and friends and I will pass your compliments on to Jason and the rest of the staff in the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Yours Sincerely,
Andrew Rees

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Lodges have everything you need to make your stay comfortable. Unfortunately, guests are allocated one key which is a bit inconvenient in a group of four people. The 10:00am check out was disappointng. Overall a very relaxing and enjoyable place to stay.

The hotel bar was very quiet during our stay. Kenmare is a 3 minute walk and there are plenty of lovely bars/restaurants serving good food with lots of choice for all the family. Some play traditional music in the evening. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cevam11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew R, General Manager at Kenmare Bay Holiday Homes & Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, we are pleased that you had an enjoyable and relaxing stay with us as we endeavour to provide all of our guests with a quality experience. We will of course take account of the points you raised.

We look forward to welcoming you to Kenmare again in the future.

Regards,
Andrew Rees

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed booked the 5* lodge and stayed on 13 January of this year. We stayed in lodge 19, a two bed house. I think at some point we've all looked at pictures of hotel rooms on their website and you book based on the assumption that the hotel is being honest with what they advertise as 'standard' room or a 'delux' room. However when you subsequently check in, you have no idea why you were put in the smallest and only room in the hotel not renovated in the past 50 years and have no idea where they got the photos from....this is NOT the case here. What you see is what you get. 5* accommodation through and through.

The quality of the lodge was of the highest standard. Room sizes were good (including bathrooms), and the beds were comfortable. There is a sofa bed in one of the double rooms but to be honest if there is more 4 people staying in total, book another lodge. The pull out bed is tiny, suited for children rather than adults and makes it impossible to get in one side of the bed.

There was a good sized backgarden with patio area and in the summer would be ideal for a BBQ. We plan to get the family together and make a weekend of it. Kenmare is nice, relaxing part of the country we enjoyed the change of pace.

The Hotel facilities are excellent. The lesuire facilities were brilliat and the staff extremely friendly and outgoing. We did not eat in the hotel as we cooked ourselves so I cannot comment on the food or drink. We did however ask for champagne flutes and although they do not provide 'room service' to the lodges (which is fair enough), they were more than happy to have them ready for collection at reception.

We will with out a shadow of a doubt be returning to Kenmare Bay hotel in the near future..

Room Tip: The lodges are the best option you can go for. Far better quality than the holiday homes. If you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew R, General Manager at Kenmare Bay Holiday Homes & Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, we are pleased that you had an enjoyable and relaxing stay with us as we endeavour to provide all of our guests with a quality experience down to the last detail. I was very pleased to hear that the staff and the accommodation lived up to your expectations.

With regards to the BBQ please note that we have BBQ’s available for the lodges. We look forward to welcoming you to our Lodges in the near future.

Regards,
Andrew Rees

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenmare
0.0 mi away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
1.3 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
982 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Park Hotel Kenmare
Park Hotel Kenmare
#4 of 6 in Kenmare
676 reviews
13.0 mi away
Parknasilla Resort & Spa
11.4 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenmare Bay Holiday Homes & Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenmare Bay Holiday Homes & Lodges

Address: Kenmare, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Kenmare
Price Range: $130 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kenmare Bay Holiday Homes & Lodges are situated in the grounds of the Kenmare Bay Hotel, just a short stroll into the town centre of the quaint town of Kenmare. Enjoy all the facilities that the hotel has to offer combined with the comforts of your own home. Each 3 bedroom holiday home comprises of: Master ensuite double bedroom; Twin bedroom; Single bedroom; Bright & Spacious kitchen/dining room with all modern conveniences; Living area with fold out sofa bed, multi chanenel TV/DVD unit and open fire; Cot and highchair; downstairs toilet; semi-private garden; parking.Each 2 bedroom Lodge comprises of: 2 Master en-suite king-size bedrooms, which can be twins or doubles; A sofa bed in one of the bedrooms; Fully fitted kitchen; Open plan dining room and lounge area with LCD TV and DVD player and MP3 docking station; Private garden; Parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Kenmare Bay Holiday Homes & Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing