We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent place to relax after day of sightseeing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kenmare Bay Holiday Homes & Lodges

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kenmare Bay Holiday Homes & Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
vancouver, B.C.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“excellent place to relax after day of sightseeing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

Two floor 3 bedroom home is well equipped, clean and modern. Beds comfortable and spacious. Washrooms clean and spacious too. Quaint town is 5 min. walk from house #12. Kenmare Complex contains the hotel, condo units and rows of rental houses. Stove not working in our unit and so guest services offered us breakfast and dinner in the hotel's fine dining restaurant or bar area. That was an unexpected treat! Dinner was excellent for fine dining. Dress casual! Service abit hectic as hotel was extremely busy. Breakfast buffet only but had many selections to choose from. Walked around the hotel and it's a very nice resort type of feel. Unable to check out the indoor pool area as it was locked at 9 pm. Had to go through the spa area which was also closed for the evening.
Internet access only in the hotel lobby so many people sitting in the lobby in the evening. Would love to be in the house enjoying the big screen tv instead while plannning next days activities.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chasiubow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    33
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
104
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
120 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

Myself,my husband and three little girls stayed here for 10 nights and would agree with all the other reviews....these lodges have everything you need right down to an apron and oven gloves!...They are absolutely spotless,warm and comfortable within a few minutes walk into the lovely town of Kenmare on a little private path.(You can even hire dvds from a shop in town...just give a deposit..this was a brilliant idea)Lisa was there to welcome us and help with any queries and the swimming pool was a Godsend for the girls with a little slide and plenty of inflatables to keep them amused..the pool felt a little chilly at times but they always do I suppose..the girls didnt seem to mind...the staff were easy going and so friendly,towels are supplied and overall it was excellent. I did try the gym which is basic and three connections to the screens on the treadmills didnt work which was dissapointing,also the changing rooms and showers a little dated but I just showered in our lovely lodge!

There was no kiddies club on when we were there,the "playroom" was a corner converted bedroom....very dissapointing with some games all squashed into a small space and it felt like it was just "there"...nothing that would inspire a parent to spend any more then a half hour in..and we did not return...the playground was another big dissapointment the swings are cheap, one was higher then the other(unusably higher)the 2 slides dangerously slippy and the Wendy house had jagged edges and needs to be put in a skip and replaced...It was a shame as its nicely positioned and the hotel and lodges are so childfriendly this really should be addressed as it didnt make sense that the playground was of such a different standard.

Overall as Ive said I would definately recommend staying here,we were impressed... if you have babies who are crawling the floors are very hard in downstairs area(tiled understandably)and there are a few jagged edges!And a few hooks for coats wouldnt go amiss in the hall...otherwise you will love this place as much as we did and they certainly have most things spot on...also if you need a babysitter can I recommend a lady called Roseanna ..unfortunately we only "found" her towards the end of our visit(Ask at reception) She was fantastic and the girls are still talking about her(and singing rhymes she taught them...!)We would have gone out a lot more if we had discovered her earlier in our trip.....but I do have her number for the future !! Overall a great Kerry experience and I would recommend staying here,no question.

Room Tip: We stayed in house number 11 its right beside the path to town...last one in the row(garden a bit bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kayla9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
115 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

We loved this place. Great bedrooms, with awesome beds and private luxury baths, kitchen with EVERYTHING, and all the amenities. A quick walk into Kenmare along a side street. There is even a washer dryer in the unit. We stayed in the higher end units but got a great deal. The only complaint would be there is no internet in the units and the directions off the web site are hard to follow. In some ways.... I was glad there was no internet.... we were supposed to be on holiday!

Room Tip: Stay in the higher end townhouse. They had cribs and high chairs in each unit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Have stayed several times at the Kenmare Bay both in the lodges and the holiday homes, which are both lovely, very spacious and comfortable, fully equipped with everything you might need. The staff are very friendly. The leisure facilities are great and you are only a few minutes walk into town, will stay again!!

Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank katiemeagher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kildare
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed here for a hen weekend . The lodges were very well equipped , they had stair gates on the top of the stairs, high hairs & travel cot if you had children. Bedrooms were lovely & comfortable , all in all a great stay but a little on the expensive side.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

Myself and my hubby have just returned from 5 nights in Kenmare Bay Holiday Homes. We are 100% happy with everything. Staff are fantastic as is the locality and amenities. 3 mins stroll to town and a perfect base for touring the ring of kerry. Any queries just send me a message :)

Room Tip: We stayed in lodge 27 and this was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanya T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

I stayed here for a week with my wife and son and my in-laws. The lodges were very well appointed. Very warm, comfortable and spacious. We got an upgrade from the 3 bedroom houses as they had overbooked. It meant our 3 year old was on a sofa bed in our room but it was no great hardship.

Use of the pool was included which was great to keep the little man entertained on rainy days. There is a play room in the hotel and a play area in the restaurant. I believe there is a kids club during the school holidays too.

Staff in the hotel were friendly and helpful. The bar was a little small but it's only 10 minutes walk from Kenmare town which has a good selection of pubs. It's well located for the ring of Kerry and the ring of Beara - both highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emmmceee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenmare
0.0 mi away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
1.4 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Park Hotel Kenmare
Park Hotel Kenmare
#4 of 6 in Kenmare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coachmans Townhouse Hotel
12.8 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenmare Bay Holiday Homes & Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenmare Bay Holiday Homes & Lodges

Property: Kenmare Bay Holiday Homes & Lodges
Address: Kenmare, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Kenmare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kenmare Bay Holiday Homes & Lodges are situated in the grounds of the Kenmare Bay Hotel, just a short stroll into the town centre of the quaint town of Kenmare. Enjoy all the facilities that the hotel has to offer combined with the comforts of your own home. Each 3 bedroom holiday home comprises of: Master ensuite double bedroom; Twin bedroom; Single bedroom; Bright & Spacious kitchen/dining room with all modern conveniences; Living area with fold out sofa bed, multi chanenel TV/DVD unit and open fire; Cot and highchair; downstairs toilet; semi-private garden; parking.Each 2 bedroom Lodge comprises of: 2 Master en-suite king-size bedrooms, which can be twins or doubles; A sofa bed in one of the bedrooms; Fully fitted kitchen; Open plan dining room and lounge area with LCD TV and DVD player and MP3 docking station; Private garden; Parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Kenmare Bay Holiday Homes & Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing