We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kenmare Bay Holiday Homes & Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Overpriced”
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Stayed in the so called 5 star lodge for a week in July, felt the lodge was overpriced 1000 euro a week and did not live up to the 5 star classification. Badly cracked tiles, dirty rugs, no proper cot sheets, marked paint work etc. The first lodge was so bad that we asked to be moved and after about an hour and a half were moved to one which was better but definitly not 5 star. We did complain and after dealing with a number of different managers were refunded 150 euro and even at this I still think it was overpriced. We had a great family holiday in Kenmare and Kerry depsite the diappointing accomodation, will definitly return to Kenmare but not the Kenmare Bay Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarieDub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    36
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
110
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Stayed in one of the Holiday homes, for a wedding with a 2yr and a 3yr old, House was great very well kitted out and we had a greatr time at the Wedding, Hotel and staff were very good, small play area at the bottom of the breakfast room was great for entertaining the kids while we ate.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gossip2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Don't normally write reviews but the staff were so friendly and helpful and the rooms were great, had not expected such good rooms for that rate, that i would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dutchie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2010

After much searching for holiday homes which were equipped to a high standard, with access to a pool and playground, we found these. The lodges are beautiful, with self contained gardens, picnic bench. No stress with the stairs as stair gates were in place. We booked a bbq for our week & that was ready & waiting for us. The lodges are only five minutes walk from Kenmare village, via a quiet, buggy friendly path - safe for kids to run on as it isn't near the road. The only gripe we had was the price - whilst August is peak season, we were somewhat disappointed that we had to pay so much (€1,300) for one week & felt that the hotel should have included at least 4 mornings of breakfast & basic housekeeping in that price. Derrynane beach is about a 45 min drive from there - but well worth it. Overall, you won't be disappointed, but hopefully the 2011 prices will reflect out current economic climate.....

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tweeety-bird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2010

Loved this hotel.Staff were very nice and the room was lovely.Used the fitness facility and the staff there were very nice.Perfect location in a beautiful town.Well worth the money.I work in a hotel also so probably notice some small things others might not but could not fault this hotel.Would like to stay again for longer and intend to return in the summer.Breakfast was really nice also,didnt eat in the restaurant as we went into the town but looked nice.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natian08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
81 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2010

We stayed two nights but would have loved to stay longer. The Lodges are fantastic, beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean, comfortable, wondereful beds, everything you need is provided. They are located a short stroll from the town. Staff were very nice. Plenty of walking trails nearby. Great pubs in Kenmare, we loved Crowleys. Will certainly be returning and would highly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BETTYCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2009

Myself and brother & his wife stayed in the Kenmare Bay Hotel Luxury lodges and I've gotta say they really were luxuries. I was expecting a few basic frills so that they could earn the title, but, in fairness, they had gone the extra mile. Very modern contemporary decor, no cheap accessories, it looked like they had spent some decent money on the interior of these houses. I did not get a look at the hotel suites but they cannot have been any better. Best of all, we went a couple of days before Christmas, so we managed to negotiate a really good deal!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew_Dungan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kenmare hotels
0.0 mi away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
1.3 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
916 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park Hotel Kenmare
Park Hotel Kenmare
#4 of 6 in Kenmare
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
910 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lansdowne Arms Hotel
Lansdowne Arms Hotel
#6 of 6 in Kenmare
237 reviews
0.4 mi away
O'Donnabhain's Guesthouse B&B & Townhouses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenmare Bay Holiday Homes & Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenmare Bay Holiday Homes & Lodges

Property: Kenmare Bay Holiday Homes & Lodges
Address: Kenmare, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Kenmare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kenmare Bay Holiday Homes & Lodges are situated in the grounds of the Kenmare Bay Hotel, just a short stroll into the town centre of the quaint town of Kenmare. Enjoy all the facilities that the hotel has to offer combined with the comforts of your own home. Each 3 bedroom holiday home comprises of: Master ensuite double bedroom; Twin bedroom; Single bedroom; Bright & Spacious kitchen/dining room with all modern conveniences; Living area with fold out sofa bed, multi chanenel TV/DVD unit and open fire; Cot and highchair; downstairs toilet; semi-private garden; parking.Each 2 bedroom Lodge comprises of: 2 Master en-suite king-size bedrooms, which can be twins or doubles; A sofa bed in one of the bedrooms; Fully fitted kitchen; Open plan dining room and lounge area with LCD TV and DVD player and MP3 docking station; Private garden; Parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Kenmare Bay Holiday Homes & Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing