We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My Return to a peace of Kerry Heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lissyclearig Thatched Cottage
Ranked #13 of 60 Kenmare B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“My Return to a peace of Kerry Heaven”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

I've been twice to this area and the Lissyclearig Thatched Cottage, pulls at my heartstrings every time, Carmel and Davey Breen have nurtured and expanded this buisiness with TLC. A huge amountof themselves is on offer, not only with the rooms, gardens, central location, 3KLM.from Kenmare.
What an experience the cottage is mainly hand crafted by Davey, a jovial friendly man willing to tell a tale or two, he is well matched by his lovely homely wife Carmel, nothing is a bother to ether of them, they aim to please!!
The Ring of Kerry is on thier doorstep, views are spectacular, a must stay and see for youself, Jim

Room Tip: any room is excelant
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    33
    13
    2
    2
See reviews for
36
70
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, Ca
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

This is a wonderful location for traveling to Killarney, the Ring of Kerry, the Beara, Kenmare and the whole area. Upon arrival one is taken by the charm of the grounds, the thatched house (which along with much of the furniture was built by Davey) the attention to detail in the stone work, wall textures, etc...even chickens in the yard. We were met by Carmel and given tea on arrival.
Our room was upstairs on the front and was clean, bright, and spacious. The shower had good pressure, however I had forgotten how towels dried on a clothesline have a rough texture. The bed was comfortable and the breakfast was good.
Carmel was very helpful with directions. Without her suggestions we would have missed the Gap of Dunloe/Black Valley which turned out to be a favorite experience of our two week trip. Look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Igo4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Va.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

This thatched cottage is all you could want it to be - but has a second level and all the amenities of modern comfort. The location is ideal as it is a beautiful seaside drive along the Ring of Kerry from Killarney and offers much to see of this gorgeous area. The cottage itself was built by the owner who is a mason and is full of charm and fun "finds" to make you smile!
The B&B's location is just outside the main town in a quiet, secluded area for a restful nights sleep. The town of Kenmare has great shopping, restaurants and boat trips nearby to visit an island of puffins called Skellig Michael and of course the harbour tour of the seal colony called Seafari...both worth taking the time to enjoy. Carmel, your hostess, is full of ideas about the area and very helpful with the bookings when necessary. Her breakfast is scrumptious and promises you will not be hunger until afternoon at the earliest! Don't miss taking a picture with Mason their sheepdog and see his tricks as well-he is a lovely big dog and just another plus of a visit to this B&B and I recommend highly and return to each time I am in the area.

Shannon MacMurtrie

Room Tip: There are three rooms on the second level and they will help you with the luggage up the stairs...if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank siocain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Lissyclearig Thatched Cottage is a delightful B & B. It is full of character and charm that would make you think it is a much older building.
We had trouble finding it because the gps coordinates take you into downtown Kenmare and Ireland is not noted for its road signage.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

What a magical place! This beautiful thatched cottage was buit by the owner who also built the furniture. We enjoyed exploring the grounds with the flowers tucked in the rock walls, the hens that suppiled fresh eggs for breakfast, and the miniature cottage, dolmen and oratory modeled after the real ones. Breakfast was great in a glassed-in room. I would highly recommend this B and B if you are staying in Kenmare (which is a short drive away).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

This place is special. Carmel & Mason are truly wonderful hosts :) Carmel served a wonderful breakfast and the rooms were comfortable & charming. Absolutely loved my stay. Great location as well.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BHaas58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

As another reviewer said: "It is what it is". This a very charming thatched roof cottage handbuilt by the owner. Furnishings within the cottage were also all handbuilt. We were greeted by the handsome, and well behaved, Old English Sheepdog Mason. He was an absolute delight! We were offered tea/coffee and snacks on our arrival which were welcome on a chilly day. We stayed two nights and breakfasts both mornings were very hearty and filling--in fact we received extra food we didn't request or want each morning. Carmel really needs to write down orders as we felt bad about leaving food each day we did not want! Our main concern during our stay was the cold!! Windows are single pane, the front door is left open most of the time and, as in many B&Bs the heat only works certain hours. We simply could not get warm! Even when the heat was on, it wasn't very effective in warming the rooms. The beds were ok, but the bedding wasn't sufficient to offset the cold! As mentioned by others, there was mold in the shower, and overall the cleanliness level could use improvement. An additional concern was that the man of the house never made any effort to greet us or talk to us. We saw him come and go and walk around working in his yard but he certainly wasn't what we would call a people person! We probably wouldn't stay here again (unless it was REALLY warm) but it is a charming cottage in a nice rural location.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kilted2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kenmare hotels
2.3 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
1.7 mi away
Abbey Court B&B
Abbey Court B&B
#6 of 60 in Kenmare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
O'Donnabhain's Guesthouse B&B & Townhouses
1.1 mi away
2 Mile Lodge
2 Mile Lodge
#12 of 60 in Kenmare
5.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rockcrest House
Rockcrest House
#1 of 60 in Kenmare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lissyclearig Thatched Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lissyclearig Thatched Cottage

Property: Lissyclearig Thatched Cottage
Address: Kenmare, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Kenmare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lissyclearig Thatched Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lissyclearig Thatched Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lissyclearig Thatched Cottage Hotel Kenmare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing