We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Owner”
Review of Driftwood

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Driftwood
Ranked #21 of 61 Kenmare B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 4, 2010

This B&B is lovely and had all we needed for the three nights we stayed, including a "delightful owner" who was knowledgable, helpful, charming, funny and, above-all, friendly. The beds were very comfortable and the pillows were good (our two most important criteria). Shampoo and shower gel were provided in a really nice en suite bathroom. There was a hair dryer available and the furniture was new and attractive. The breakfast was delicious and we were given some choices, instead of just the usual full Irish breakfast. The B&B was within an easy walk of the town of Kenmare and the owner had lots of good suggestions of places to have dinner. He also helped with fishing plans ans spent a good deal of time on the phone working out the details.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kamkmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
There are newer reviews for Driftwood
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 186 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed here with our friends and we all enjoyed our stay very much. The rooms were spacious, clean and very comfortable allowing us all the enjoy a great night sleep. The showers were great- probably one of the best showers I've seen away from home (including hotels). The host and hostess were lovely. She was very kind and wanted to help us with our route around kerry. They also gave us a lot of personal space which we appreciated. Sometimes we find the people who run some B&Bs a little too intrusive. I would definitely recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldtraveller0202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2010

Booked this bed and breakfast based on reviews from trip advisor, I must say that this place was excellent and exceptional value. The room was immaculate with a king size bed and a fantactic shower, even the shower gels as well !!. The sumptious breakfast was cooked to perfection by Peter who was the chef/host, absolutely the best !! I would definately return and with no hesitation to recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hobbyhorse_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2009

This place is an absolute gem. the house is beautiful and the room we had was really romantic and clean. bathroom was really nice had stayed in the brehan in kilarney the night before for twice the price so was suprised as I preferred this place. The hosts were really friendly and breakfast was excellent you get a menu. theres really nice jewellrey in kenmare so I want to go back

  • Stayed: May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cliona1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2009

We stayed at several B&Bs during our trip to Ireland, and Driftwood blew them all away! The house was spotless and completely updated, with a modern feel. The bedrooms were beautiful and comfortable. And there was a nice garden and living room reserved for guests. The breakfast was also the best we had, and the menus provided were a nice touch.
The owners also made this property special. This was the only property where we really felt that the owners were anticipating our arrival, although we had reservations far in advance at every place. Peter greeted us at the door, helped us with our luggage, and gave us lots of info about the town and things to do in the area. Peter and his wife were wonderful hosts, who would be around if needed, but left you alone otherwise. I highly recommend Kenmare and the Driftwood, and cannot wait to return!

Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Lilyonyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2009

We are just wrapping up three weeks in the Ireland and the UK. We were fortunate enough to spend one night in Kenmare at the Driftwood B&B - not enough! We wish we had more time.

This house is beautiful - pristine, fresh and tasteful. The hosts - Peter and Mignonne take great care to make your visit comfortable. The breakfast, in the bright breakfast room was perfect, and Mignonne spent much time with us helping us map out our route to Kinsale, making sure we did not miss sights along the way.

We highly recommend Driftwood and wish we had more time to spend in the lovely Kenmare and in this beautiful home.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank 122,793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2009

Modern, spacious,clean and quiet. Great hosts and great breakfast. Good value and definitely would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annschiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kenmare hotels
0.7 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
970 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
0.7 mi away
O'Donnabhain's Guesthouse B&B & Townhouses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Abbey Court B&B
Abbey Court B&B
#8 of 61 in Kenmare
370 reviews
0.7 mi away
Foleys Guesthoues & Self-Catering Holiday Homes
0.1 mi away
Oldchurch House B&B
Oldchurch House B&B
#2 of 61 in Kenmare
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Driftwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood

Address: Killowen, Kenmare, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Kenmare
Price Range: $78 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Driftwood 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The contemporary 4 star rated property is ideally situated on the edge of Kenmare and a short walk into the town. All 3 bedrooms are presented to a very high standard and all en-suite. A fine eye for detail by the owners and complimentary tea/coffee, shower and shampoo and free WI-FI ensure a very comfortable stay for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Driftwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing