We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Place”
Review of Driftwood

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Driftwood
Ranked #21 of 61 Kenmare B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2013

One of the nicest paces we stayed at during our two weeks in Ireland. Room was great. Bathroom actually had some room to move. Breakfast was very nice. Good coffee. Proprietors were very nice and obviously talented, judging by the art work displayed throughout. Easy walk to town, and there's an old church and cemetery just down the road to check out too.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
There are newer reviews for Driftwood
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 186 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

This B&B was easy to find, only a short (~10 min) walk from the main shopping area of Kenmare, and the owners were very pleasant.
There was off-street parking, a panoramic view out the back balconies, and felt very much like a home.
My room was large, with a double bed. The tea made available to me was tasty, and the bathroom was large. Everything was meticulously clean. The decor was very nice, without breaking out of the "homey" feel.
It wasn't too far from the Ring of Kerry, and the proprietors had useful pamphlets and suggestions on hand.

I wish I'd been staying in the area longer. I'd have liked to stay here a few more nights.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
Thank Robin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights with Peter and Mingonne, they were such great hosts and thought of everything. The rooms were super clean and nicely decorated, the food was perfect for breakfast, even loved the Enya playing during the meal :). He picked up fresh strawberries in the open air market for our breakfast the next morning, no detail overlooked. Peter gave some great tips for places to find off the beaten path that just made the trip. The walk to town was so easy! I have a friend going in August/September and I am already telling her to base here! We will for sure be back!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennlgamble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed here from 7th to 14th June 2003 and I can honestly say I have never stayed anywhere so fastidiously clean and tidy in my life. Good breakfasts, good beds, excellent host and hostess made us feel completely at home and any advice requested was immediately forthcoming. Peter and Mignonne were very welcoming and attentive, but not overly so, and Driftwood had a real 'home from home' feel to it that was very refreshing.

Room Tip: Think 'Driftwood'!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deadeye202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

All the other reviews said it all! We stayed 3 nights and had the same experience everyone else seems to have had--clean, quite, comfortable, lovely walk to town, great host, food was good, and the bed was very comfortable. Kenmare is lovely with friendly people, great restaurants and nice shops. We enjoyed our stay and would choose Driftwood again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We spent two nights at the Driftwood B&B in Kenmare, Ireland. Everything was immaculate, the room very comfortable, and the breakfast superb. Peter and Mignonne Wilson were delightful hosts and gave us excellent travel tips. It was a pleasant walk to the downtown with its many restaurants and shops. It was truly a 4-star experience!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrus59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

A Lovely B&B with great hosts. We felt very welcome, the room and the breakfast was great and we got very useful suggestions what to do around Kenmare. Thanks to the suggestions we did a lovely trip to gleninchaquin park and had a wonderful day on the ring of beare.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Timo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kenmare hotels
0.7 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
969 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
0.7 mi away
O'Donnabhain's Guesthouse B&B & Townhouses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Abbey Court B&B
Abbey Court B&B
#9 of 61 in Kenmare
370 reviews
0.7 mi away
Foleys Guesthoues & Self-Catering Holiday Homes
0.1 mi away
Oldchurch House B&B
Oldchurch House B&B
#2 of 61 in Kenmare
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Driftwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood

Address: Killowen, Kenmare, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Kenmare
Price Range: $78 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Driftwood 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The contemporary 4 star rated property is ideally situated on the edge of Kenmare and a short walk into the town. All 3 bedrooms are presented to a very high standard and all en-suite. A fine eye for detail by the owners and complimentary tea/coffee, shower and shampoo and free WI-FI ensure a very comfortable stay for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Driftwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing