We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money - Recommended!”
Review of Driftwood

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Driftwood
Ranked #21 of 61 Kenmare B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle-upon-Tyne
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money - Recommended!”
Reviewed February 10, 2008

My wife and I stayed at Driftwood at the end of last June. We had booked 5 nights at the B&B on the basis of the Trip Advisor reviews and also Kenmare appeared to be an ideal location.
We were not disappointed on both counts - the key points to the B&B were: it was immaculately furnished, clean, bathroom/shower was fantastic, breakfasts great, hosts were very helpful, off-road parking, ideal 10min walk max to the town centre and great value for money. Some people have referred to the 10min walk being a bit over the top - no way especially after eating out and a few pints, the walk back to the B&B was really just what was needed. Be warned that eating out is relatively expensive and most pubs tended to serve relatively expensive meals (ie 15-20 euros for a basic pub menu). Nevertheless eating out was enjoyable just be prepared to pay slightly more than the UK. The hosts offered plenty of advice regarding days out. If anything 5 nights in Kenmare is a little over the top and coupled with last summer's torrential rain at times, if you don't mind getting out and about (and wet) you'll be ok, otherwise be prepared to spend a bit longer in the pubs etc. We did the Ring of Kerry drive in the driving rain with very limited views - we'd recommend stopping off at the visitor centre at Valentia Island and learning about the Skelligs. Peter had recommended Gleninchaquin Park and we spent 3 or 4 hours walking in Park's hills. The park is approx 5 miles along a single track from the main road but just keep going until you reach the end. We enjoyed a great walk and finished off with a fantastic tea, scone and cream at the Park's cottage! The best day was undoubtedly our drive to Kate Kearney's cottage where we left the car, walked up and over the Gap of Dunloe to Lord Brandon's Cottage via Black Valley. A boat trip onward to Ross Castle then walked back to Killarney and taxi back to the car - totally unplanned but a great day and well recommended. Even better to return to Kenmare rather than stay in the coach and hotel chain magnet of Killarney.
Kenmare was an ideal base for visiting Kerry. Also recommended is the location of our first night's stay in Kinsale (be patient and eat at Edwards) and MIzen Head lighthouse/ visitor centre.

  • Liked — Value for money coupled with service/ help from hosts.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank max68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    17
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
17
112
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
malaga
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2007

We had booked this stay as our last night before returning home from cork airport. The trip adviser reviews had led us to book Driftwood. When we arrived we was greeted at the door by Peter and he had remembered both our names from the E Mail booking. We was then shown to the room which had the WOW factor and was presented to an excellant standard. The shower in the morning was definately the best we have had. On arriving down for breakfast we met Peters wife Mignonne who was charming. The overall breakfast was excellent and presented and tasted to a very high standard. We had taken a meal in charming Kenmare which Peter had pre booked for us and this was excellent. Overall a great place to stay.

  • Liked — The ovall appearance and service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MalagaTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2007

This was our first visit to Ireland and our first night's stay and we couldn't have picked a better place for us. Peter and Mignonne were very friendly and hospitable. Our room on the second floor was very clean and pleasant and looked exactly as it did on their web site. All amenities listed were present and in good order. Bed was very comforable. Although the downtown area of Kenmare is not really walkable from the Driftwood, it really was not a problem as traffic is not that bad and parking was easily found. Breakfast was wonderful with Mignonne being the pleasant server and Peter being the excellent cook. We highly recommend The Driftwood should you be in Kenmare.

  • Liked — Clean and pleasant facilities
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChaunceyTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2007

The Driftwood is a very nice B&B and well worth a stay. It's kept sparkling clean, the decor is fresh, pretty, and uncluttered, and the innkeepers were very helpful and nice. There's a nice selection for breakfast, and all the choices are excellent. It's a good location for exploring the Ring of Kerry, Killarney, and Beara Peninsula, and Kenmare is a much better choice for a stay than overrun Killarney. The walk into town wasn't too lengthy for us, but may be a bit too far for others.

  • Liked — The innkeepers offered wonderful suggestions for area travel!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alltravellvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2007

Driftwood Kenmare is in a class by itself among B&B's! My husband and I just returned from our trip to Ireland, which included 2 nights at Peter's lovely Driftwood, and we wanted to ensure our fellow travelers know what a wonderful place it is. We compared all our other accomodations to Driftwood, and nothing came close to it for warmth, comfort, and overall wonderful experience. It is a beautiful house, that, in comparison with some of our other B&B experiences, felt very private and relaxed. The accomodations were light, extremely comfortable and impeccably clean. The breakfast room and menu was heaven itself, with the best coffee we had the entire trip (french press!) and the best food. Peter and his wife were the perfect hosts, even going so far as to arrange for us a trip to the Skelligs after a failed first attempt, completely unasked for. This is an elegant, gourmet B&B which comes at the same B&B rate, but offers so much more - an excellent value, and a lovely accomodation in a very sweet town. We highly recommend Driftwood Kenmare!

  • Liked — Elegance, perfect hosts, cleanliness, coffee!, location, EVERYTHING
  • Disliked — Nothing - everything has been considered to make this a perfect B&B experience.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bustr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2007

A great B and B, modern throughout, spotlessly clean, a quiet, comfortable rear bedroom with lovely views. The welcome was super. The breakfast was excellent with a good choice available. We recommend Driftwood wholeheartedly.

  • Liked — efficient service
  • Disliked — busy main road at front of house
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ramsfanDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2007

We just got back from our trip to Ireland and had a wonderful stay at Driftwood B&B in Kenmare (just south of Kilarney). This beautiful town is away from the hustle and bustle and tourist trap that is Kilarney and a good base point for anyone wanting to visit the Ring of Kerry. When we arrived at Driftwood B&B we were warmly welcomed by our host Peters and shown to our room. The room was fantastic with a mountain view! We felt immediately relaxed. The room had a large bed (complete with canopy) and a nice bathroom with large walk-in shower. Everything is modern in this B&B!

The breakfasts were superb. After spending a week in Ireland, we were a little tired of the traditional Irish breakfast. Peters and Mignonne had an excellent breakfast menu including delicious crepes with bacon and a fresh fruit salad with yogurt. Outstanding choice and food! We also really appreciated our hosts knowledge of the area and also recommendations of where to stop and visit. It was obvious that they cared enough to know about tourist attractions and also places off the beaten track. We enjoyed Ladies View in Kilarney National Park because of Mignonne's suggestion (a place we probably would have drove past and missed had we not known it was there).

I highly recommend Driftwood B&B to anyone travelling to the Ring of Kerry in Ireland. 5 stars from me!

  • Liked — beautiful room, the hosts, the breakfasts
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellingRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kenmare hotels
0.5 mi away
Ashfield Bed & Breakfast
0.9 mi away
2 Mile Lodge
2 Mile Lodge
#11 of 61 in Kenmare
110 reviews
0.1 mi away
Abbey Court B&B
Abbey Court B&B
#6 of 61 in Kenmare
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Rose Garden B&B and Cafe
0.5 mi away
Oldchurch House B&B
Oldchurch House B&B
#2 of 61 in Kenmare
217 reviews
0.8 mi away
Avelow House
Avelow House
#20 of 61 in Kenmare
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Driftwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood

Property: Driftwood
Address: Killowen, Kenmare, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Kenmare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Driftwood 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The contemporary 4 star rated property is ideally situated on the edge of Kenmare and a short walk into the town. All 3 bedrooms are presented to a very high standard and all en-suite. A fine eye for detail by the owners and complimentary tea/coffee, shower and shampoo and free WI-FI ensure a very comfortable stay for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Driftwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing