We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Abbey Court B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Abbey Court B&B
Ranked #6 of 64 Kenmare B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
MD
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2008

This was our first B&B in Ireland. It was a good introduction into staying at B&Bs in Ireland. The host was helpful and entertaining. Breakfast was good. Even had some fresh fruit we could take with us for snacks during the day.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cagdance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    61
    17
    6
    0
See reviews for
81
173
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2008

Lovely clean b&b in good location - great breakfast

  • Liked — location and hospitality
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marzabotto
Level Contributor
71 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2008

Very good location (in a quiet place close to Kenmare center), very nice building, pleasant rooms and very kind owners. Excellent.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Italian68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2008

We stayed 1 night at the Abbey Court B&B in Kenmare. The building is new and designed to make a very good impression. It's located about 10 minutes walking distance from the Kenmare town center, very easy to find. The owners, Brendan and Geraldine, made us feel very welcome. From the house there are views across a nearby golf course toward the river, beautiful.
There's plenty of parking in front of the house. We had a first floor room that was spacious, clean and comfortable. Brendan provided suggestions for dinner that were very helpful.
Breakfast was very good with a nice selection of alternatives.

We are a family of three: two adults and a teenager. When in Kenmare again we will stay at the Abbey Court B&B.

  • Liked — See review
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank demo117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lillehammer
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2008

Highly recommanded! We have just recently had our second stay at Abbey Court, and will keep coming back in the future. These hosts know how to make their guests welcome! We still miss the delicious pancakes with fresh fruit for breakfast. Yum! The surroundings are perfect for relaxing or walks to the beautiful town.

  • Liked — It's a nice building with a nice view and extremely sirviceminded hosts
  • Disliked — Nothing, really
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LillehammerCainil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bemidji, mn
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2008

We spent 5 nights at Abbey Court, and we couldn't have been happier with the setting, room, the breakfasts, and most especially the friendliness of the owners. They understood our interests and helped us find local events and walks that suited us perfectly. We have been attempting to learn Irish, and Brendan was a patient and humorous teacher during our breakfasts. They even introduced us to other guests who shared interests. The view from the patio is stunning, and guests are encouraged to relax there or in either of the two sitting rooms. The nearby Abbey offers an interesting poke around; however, visitors should be careful. Several of the gravesites are in bad shape, and open holes might prove dangerous to small travelers.

All in all, this is one of the very best B&Bs we stayed in during our 3 week trip.

  • Liked — The hosts
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bsuprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pequannock, New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2008

Besides beautiful, we found The Abbey Court to be comfortable, and immaculate, with wecoming hosts. Quiet too, as it was set back from the road.

Our room was of average size, breakfast was fantastic. We were only there for one night, would have liked to stay longer.

  • Liked — friendliness, breakfast
  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank momlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kenmare hotels
1.0 mi away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
0.6 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
1.0 mi away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Coachmans Townhouse Hotel
0.7 mi away
O'Donnabhain's Guesthouse B&B & Townhouses
0.1 mi away
Oldchurch House B&B
Oldchurch House B&B
#3 of 64 in Kenmare
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Court B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Court B&B

Property: Abbey Court B&B
Address: Killowen, Kilgarvan Rd., Kenmare, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Kenmare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbey Court B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abbey Court is a new purpose built B&B, situated on acres of landscaped gardens and just metres from the shore of Kenmare Bay, whilst also overlooking the Caha Mountains. Abbey Court is also a short stroll to town and has plenty of parking. A quiet off-the-road location for a good night's sleep and a warm welcome assured. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Abbey Court B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Court Hotel Kenmare
Abbey Court Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing