We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable B & B”
Review of Abbey Court B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Abbey Court B&B
Ranked #5 of 61 Kenmare B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Enjoyable B & B”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed here for one night during our holiday in Ireland. The room was large, the grounds beautiful and the host and hostess very warm and welcoming. We could walk into town in about 12 minutes. Ger in particular gave us lots of advice and maps of Kenmare, where to visit, and what to see along our travels the next day in Killarney, enroute to Dingle. She also recommended an excellent restaurant for us to eat at that evening which we thoroughly enjoyed.The only minor picky complaint was the use of prepackaged jam at breakfast where everywhere else during our holiday we enjoyed home made preserves!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sugabtoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    63
    17
    6
    0
See reviews for
81
180
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Adare, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Abbey Court is a great bed and breakfast where the guests needs are paramount. Brendan (a native Gaelic speaker) and his lovely family are very attentive to their guests and provide a great Irish Cead Mile Failte (Irish welcome) to all who are lucky enough to stay with them.
Check in was efficient and welocoming with bevarages and cookies, the rooms were spotlessly clean, the beds were ultra comfortable, great shower pressure. Breakfast had a great choice of cooked and cold items.
Wi fi (free and easy to log into) and parking was also available.
The view from the house and gardens was speculator.
The price was also good value.
We are looking forward to our next stay there already.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Urs N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tralee, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed here last week for three nights and I must say it was exceptional in every way. The location is just terrific, near town yet quiet and with beautiful views over Kenmare river. The hosts are really lovely and when we got a punture Brendan quickly helped us. All the guests seemed to be very happy and like a big family. The atmoshere was really nice and we all felt that we were so welcome.
As the previous reviewer said the Ceallaigh family are true ambassadors for the Emearld Isle. Would definitely return again.

Room Tip: All rooms are really nice and most have a view/
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

The hosts of this B&B are great ambassadors for Ireland. Brendan was most welcoming and very helpful with travelling advice. Kenmare is about a 15 minute walk away. There are plenty of places to eat there, as well as supermarkets. A good place to base yourselves if touring the Ring of Kerry.The rooms were a good size, as were the bathrooms. Breakfast was good.

Room Tip: There are plenty of rooms both upstairs and downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aussie059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed here for five nights and used it as a base for touring the south west of Ireland. The hosts Brendan and his family were ever so nice and went out of their way to help us. They helped us plan our days for travelling and also to find good places to eat and enjoy music.
The rooms were lovely, well decorated, comfortable and spotlessly clean. The showers had the best water pressure of our entire vacation. There was also free wi fi which had a good reception. We were able to park our car and walk to town each night.
We really looked forward to breakfast each morning where Brendan served us a full breakfast as well as crepes, yougurts, cheeses, breads and plenty of fresh fruit.
You could simply not find a nicer place and nicer people to stay with.
We came as guests and left as friends, we will be back for sure.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Lovely B&B just outside Kenmare. Geraldine was so friendly and accommodating. She gave us a map of the town and some great suggestions for places to visit. The B&B is about ten minutes from the town in a really peaceful location. I would definitely recommend this excellent B&B and hope to return to The Abbey Court again soon. Great value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eire2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Staying at Abbey Court was like staying with family. Ger and Brendan were excellent hosts who went out of their way to ensure that our stay was enjoyable. Our rooms were very clean and comfortable. The food was plentiful and excellent. Ger and Brendan provided us with maps,directions and travel tips that made it much easier to see the sights around Kenmare and to travel to our next destination. Our stay at Abbey Court was a highlight of our vacation in Ireland. We highly recommend Abbey Court to anyone visiting In the Kenmare vicinity.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kenmare hotels
1.0 mi away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
0.6 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
929 reviews
1.0 mi away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
O'Donnabhain's Guesthouse B&B & Townhouses
0.5 mi away
Oldchurch House B&B
Oldchurch House B&B
#2 of 61 in Kenmare
217 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rockcrest House
Rockcrest House
#1 of 61 in Kenmare
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Court B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Court B&B

Property: Abbey Court B&B
Address: Killowen, Kilgarvan Rd., Kenmare, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Kenmare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbey Court B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abbey Court is a new purpose built B&B, situated on acres of landscaped gardens and just metres from the shore of Kenmare Bay, whilst also overlooking the Caha Mountains. Abbey Court is also a short stroll to town and has plenty of parking. A quiet off-the-road location for a good night's sleep and a warm welcome assured. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Abbey Court B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Court Hotel Kenmare
Abbey Court Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing