We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only just OK for the price”
Review of Brook Lane Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brook Lane Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kenmare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 13, 2010

Usually I agree with Trip Advisor ratings - but for this hotel, I'm puzzled as to why people think it is so great.

There is nothing awful about the hotel - there are some good things (the bed was comfortable and my wife pointed out that the sheets etc were very high quality). However, the hotel website uses the word 'boutique' a lot - and boutique its not!

The breakfast was fairly good - but slow. We ate once in the bistro and were dissapointed - what we had was average at best. We ate in the town for the other two nights.

Kenmare is a lovely town and base for a few days in the area. I seem to remember when choosing that hotel rates are high here, but this hotel was probably the worst value we had during a 9 day touring holiday in Ireland. If I came back to Kenmare I would probably choose a B&B in the town with parking.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul Schofield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklane, Owner at Brook Lane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2010

Dear Paul Schofield,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent stay with us here at the Brook Lane.

I am delighted to hear that you found our beds to be comfortable and that your wife appreciated our high quality bed linen. I am also pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your visit to the Kenmare area.

As regards breakfast, unlike most hotels we provide our guests with a breakfast which is freshly cooked to order and as you can appreciate, this does take time. Our guests choose from a fabulous selection of freshly cooked food such as full Irish, fish of the day, eggs benedict, pancakes, omelette, smoked salmon and eggs etc. We have a buffet table also set up with fresh pastries, breads, scones, cereals, yogurts, fresh fruits, smoked salmon, a selection of juices, croissants, etc which guests use while their cooked food is being freshly prepared. We offer breakfast from 8 until 11 for our guests convenience and to prevent delays. However i am sorry if you experienced a delay on this occasion.

It is most unfortunate that you did not inform me of your opinion on the 'Boutique' issue during your stay. The term 'Boutique' is open to many different interpretations. In cities such as London etc, a 'Boutique Hotel' is usually a hotel with abstract and sometimes whacky design/decor. However the Irish interpretation of 'Boutique' is an individually run, small and intimate property with excellent beds, linens and furnishings, exactly what the Brook Lane Hotel is.....

Again I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I sincerely hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to Kenmare some time in the future.

Thank you
Kind regards

Una Brennan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,002)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

862 - 868 of 1,002 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2010

My wife like so many others found Brooklane Hotel through TripAdvisor. We have travelled quite extensively and have never found such a perfect combination of superb accommodations along with staff who are the nicest and very genuine. Both my husband and I can emphatically say that the staff really knows how to make anyone feel right at home. Upon arrival the staff at reception greeted us both with such warmth. I immediately picked up on how well their hotel was kept. This I felt would translate in how well they treat their guests, and I was right. Their hotel is located in one of the, if not the best locations for a variety of reasons (Ring of Kerry, walks & Cycles etc). The staff are truly wonderful and exceptional who are operating one heck of a class operation. Anyone would be fortunate to be able to experience the hospitality at the Brooklane Hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waterfordhelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklane, Owner at Brook Lane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2010

Dear waterfordhelen,

Thank you sincerely for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent stay.

I am thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay in the Brook Lane. I have passed your very kind words on to our hardworking team and they send their thanks.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Kenmare and lokking after you just as well on the next occasion.

Thank you
Kind regards

Una Brennan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2010

A very special hotel indeed everything about Brook Lane is excellent, staff extremely friendly and get great pride in making your stay most enjoyable, rooms were extremely comfortable and food was fantastic. Hope to get back again soon. Highly Recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CorkDoggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2010

We stayed here mid week for one night and enjoyed our stay. Clean, modern, functional hotel in the outskirts of Kenmare. Cooked breakfast was good, the continental breakfast could have had a better food selection (breads, yoghurts etc..). We dined in Kenmare in the Horseshoe bar (delicious!) and stayed away from the hotel bar as there are a much better selection of pubs in the town. Overall it served a purpose, to provide a good night's sleep!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ParadiseSeeker01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2010

We ended a 6 day trip along the South West coast with a 2 night stay here. The rooms are modern and comfortable. Its 4 minutes to town. The Bistro serves some of the best food we had on the trip. Very highly recommended. My only "irk" was the reception was rarely manned and you could be kept waiting for service. I hope the hotel take a look at this, but overall it was a pleasure.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barty1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklane, Owner at Brook Lane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2010

Dear Barty1958,

Thank you for choosing the Brook Lane and also for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent stay.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our rooms to be modern and comfortable. We have recently upgraded our rooms with fresh new wallpapers, paints and furnishings and I am thrilled to know that our efforts have been noticed.

I have passed your comments about our food onto our kitchen team and they send their thanks. I am pleased to hear that it was some of the best food that you had on your 6 day trip to the Southwest.

With regard to reception, we insist on showing our guests to their rooms on arrival to ensure their comfort and satisfaction. We have a bell in place on the reception desk so that in the unlikely event that reception is momentarily unattended, a staff member from the adjacent bistro will come to assist the customer. As we are a small intimate hotel, we train our bistro and reception staff to be able to cover each others roles and satisfy our guests needs competently. I apologise for any delay you may have experienced on this occasion.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Kenmare again soon and I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us.

Thank you
kind regards

Una Brennan
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2010

We stayed in the Brook Lane hotel for 3 nights in a "superior" room. The room was very nice indeed and beautifully decorated. Indeed the hotel was generally very nicely decorated. The staff were most helpful and made my wife and I feel most welcome. We enjoyed going back to the hotel each evening. The food was good and, overall, we didn't note a single negative point. I can recommend this hotel.

P. Crotty
The Netherlands

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crottpk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklane, Owner at Brook Lane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2010

Dear Crottpa,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent stay. Your kind words in your review are most appreciated by our team.

I am really happy to hear that you found your "Superior" room to be very nice and beautifully decorated. Our 'superior' rooms are our standard rooms at the Brook Lane and on your next visit I would be delighted to offer you an upgrade to one of our 'delux' rooms or indeed one of our 'luxurious' rooms.

Both the 'delux' and 'luxurious' rooms have recently been redecorated each with their own individual colours, themes and soft furnishings. The bathrooms are also stocked with natural and organic toiletries for your comfort and relaxation.

Once again, thank you for your kind review and we look forward to looking after you and your wife again soon.

Kind regards

Una Brennan
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2010

Lovely hotel with a charming staff. They took great care of us with lots of recommendations of things to do. The hotel lies just outside the craziness of Kenmare along the road to Killarney, and it is an easy walk into town.

Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank We_Call_Him_Shiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklane, Owner at Brook Lane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2010

Dear We_Call_Him_Shiva,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Brook Lane following your recent stay. I am glad to hear that you found our location (just a 4 minute stroll from Kenmare town centre) to be convenient and peaceful.

I really appreciate your kind words regarding our great breakfast as we strive to provide a wide selection of fresh fruits, pastries, juices, breads and cereals on our buffet. All our cooked breakfasts which include choices of fresh fish of the day, pancakes or 'Full Irish' are cooked to order to guarantee freshness and quality.

Our staff members are delighted to know that you found them charming, informative and that they really took great care of you during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Kenmare and to the Brook Lane again soon.

Thank you
Kind regards

Una Brennan
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenmare
13.4 mi away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
1.3 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
1,004 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park Hotel Kenmare
Park Hotel Kenmare
#4 of 6 in Kenmare
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,502 reviews
21.2 mi away
Beara Coast Hotel
Beara Coast Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castletownbere
225 reviews
12.6 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brook Lane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brook Lane Hotel

Address: Kenmare | County Kerry, Kenmare, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kenmare
Price Range: $132 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Brook Lane Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brook Lane Hotel is Kenmare's only four star luxury Boutique Hotel. Family run and managed with all local Irish staff. In Casey's Bar and Award winning Restaurant we source all our produce locally using the freshest ingredients to make the tastiest of dishes. There is ample free car parking and complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. Live music weekly with Casey's Inhouse Band keeps locals and guests alike entertained with traditional Irish music. There is also a fantastic Irish Dancing show every Wednesday from 8pm! Phone direct for seasonal offers!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Brook Lane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brook Lane Kenmare
Hotel Brook Lane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing