We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well situated”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Brook Lane Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Brook Lane Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kenmare
Certificate of Excellence
S.E. England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Well situated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2009

About 5 minutes walk to a very bustling town - goods shops and amenitites with lots of pubs and restaurants. Rooms very clean, not the largest for what is quite an expensive hotel 94 Euro - much more than this in season. Tries to be a boutique, chic hotel but just a bit short of the mark and has the look of a 'chain' hotel. Staff are very hard working but appear to be under alot of pressure as they work the bar, restaurant and the reception so do not have time to engage their Irish charm. Restaurant in bar very busy times and is populated by families with lots of children so can be a bit noisy. Food is ok and nothing wrong with it but tables dont get cleared and are sticky. Breakfast in main restaurant was very good.
However situated in a beautiful part of Ireland and was a good place to use for a one night stop over. The scenery travelling to Kenmare is spectactular.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philthebandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    697
    151
    30
    9
    3
See reviews for
148
466
35
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2009

Nice place - great stay. Room was nice. Staff was very helpful. Location was good.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phiken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, WI
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2009

What a wonderful place!! Strategically located a short walk (on a lovely path) from town, on the Ring of Kerry and a short distance to the Dingle Peninsula and the Gap of Dunloe, and so much more! The rooms are high quality, beautiful and clean with first class large bathroooms. But, location is not even the best part, the service was excellent as was the food! We also appreciated the great nightly entertainment in the lounge. Bikers take note: the owners know the area well and can connect you with bike service/rental both on and off property. This was clearly the highlight as they helped get a bike and provided the local knowledge on where to go for some great road riding on the Ring of Kerry! Some of us enjoyed a round of golf, again arranged by the staff. Siobahn went out of her way to be sure our group of 4 couples had a super stay in at Brooklane in Kenmare.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonzola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saddleworth Oldham
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2009

I have never written a review of a hotel before but then I had never stayed at a hotel like the Brook Lane - its just gorgeous. We have just booked two long weekends again for October and November because we cant get enough of this place. Why? There is no single reason - its the wonderful friendly and ever so helpful staff like Siobhaun, the size and comfort of the rooms, the turn down service and the glow of the tealight when you return to your room in the evening, the soak in the bath with complimentary products, the choice and speedy breakfast service (and its served up to 11), the location just a short stroll from the town centre and so so handy for getting to all those lovely places like Sneem, Carrols Cove, Derrynane and Ballinskellig, the jar or two in the bar or relaxing before those lovely open fires and the fabulous MeTime spa on the premises. So so relaxing and cosy and we cant wait to be there again.

We have been several times before on our own and last year we took our friends along they loved it too and are coming with us again in November. the only bad thing is you have to go home!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fahy_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2009

We were very impressed with Brook Lane Hotel. the rooms were clean and quiet. Nice breakfast. Staff was shorthanded but they did a good job. Town was a pleasant walk away.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaliBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2009

We were ignored at reception by both the lady and gentleman of the house for a good few minutes. On eventually enquiring about a room for the night we were shown an average double room with a view of the car park, which was grossly overpriced for its location, which was way out of town and a car drive away from the evening’s entertainment. Brook Lane is a glorified B&B attached to a noisy pub next door. We stayed elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsoverall123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2009

Excellent rating all around for this hotel, which was definitely our favorite while touring Ireland. James and the rest of the staff were very pleasant and helpful. My husband and I stayed in the apartment with our two teenaged sons. With two bedrooms and a separate living room, it was very spacious and comfortable. The hotel also has an excellent restaurant, Casey's Bistro. Because it was so good, we broke our usual rule of not eating in hotel restaurants more than once. Between the four of us, we were able to sample nearly everything on the dinner menu and nothing disappointed. Among our recommended dishes: risotto and the steaks. The restaurant decor was modern, and each night featured a different musical act. We particularly enjoyed the trio playing Irish music. If they produce a CD someday, I hope James will let me know!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thiekeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenmare
1.3 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
0.6 mi away
Park Hotel Kenmare
Park Hotel Kenmare
#4 of 6 in Kenmare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Coachmans Townhouse Hotel
0.5 mi away
Lansdowne Arms Hotel
Lansdowne Arms Hotel
#6 of 6 in Kenmare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
12.6 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brook Lane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brook Lane Hotel

Property: Brook Lane Hotel
Address: Kenmare | County Kerry, Kenmare, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kenmare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Brook Lane Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brook Lane Hotel is Kenmare's only four star luxury Boutique Hotel. Family run and managed with all local Irish staff. In Casey's Bar and Award winning Restaurant we source all our produce locally using the freshest ingredients to make the tastiest of dishes. There is ample free car parking and complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. Live music weekly with Casey's Inhouse Band keeps locals and guests alike entertained with traditional Irish music. There is also a fantastic Irish Dancing show every Wednesday from 8pm! Phone direct for seasonal offers!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Brook Lane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brook Lane Kenmare
Hotel Brook Lane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing