We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“would definitely recommend the brook lane”
Review of Brook Lane Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brook Lane Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kenmare
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“would definitely recommend the brook lane”
Reviewed August 17, 2009

the brook lane hotel was recommended to me by a family member. out of the 5 hotels in ireland that we stayed in, the brook lane was by far my favorite. and extremely affordable. the rooms were very spacious, the staff was so friendly, the food in the restaurant was amazing - we actually ate there both nights of our stay, great complimentary breakfast, close walk to town - can't say enough good things about it.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYC200999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    727
    156
    30
    9
    3
See reviews for
156
485
36
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, N.M.
1 review
Reviewed July 31, 2009

Our stay at the Brook Lane Hotel was charming and full of wonderful people and excellent service. Unlike most Americans, we stayed for two weeks and were treated like a member of their family.

The boutique-style hotel was comfortable with just the right touch of whimsy.
We stayed in room 204 and it was great. The room was spacious and the bed was comfortable. Unlike most Ireland hotels, the bathroom included a “power shower” along with the tub. The restaurant attached to the hotel was one of the best in the town of Kenmare. From the seafood to the lamb, the cuisine was delicious and is highly recommended.

Una, Patrick, James, Claire, Siobhaun and Ester, from the hotel, were all helpful as well as personable during our stay. The staff suggested activities ranging from a local play to some of the town’s best restaurants, pubs and shops to a hike over the hill top. James, the bar manager, was very friendly and full of stories and Irish legends. He made having a pint of Guinness or the local Kenmare Lager (actually brewed in Cork) an enjoyable experience.

The town of Kenmare was a short 5-minute walk down a path covered by trees (a veritable tree tunnel). The town has a host of shops and restaurants and every place we dined was surprisingly good. The restaurants we preferred included Leath Phingin Eile, Packies, Jam, and the Horse Shoe. The pub Crowley’s Tavern poured the best pint of Guinness in Kenmare. In addition, Siobhaun, a hotel employee, went out of her way to make us feel comfortable. She showed us the ring of Beara (which is spectacular) and took us to Josie’s Lakeview House restaurant in Glanmore Lake in Lauragh on the Ring of Beara. We all had dinner and the view and cuisine were outstanding.

As we look back at our trip, it is clear that the hospitality we received at the Brook Lane Hotel made our trip special and gave us an experience in Ireland that is unforgettable.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wascallywabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2009

This is a really lovely hotel . My wife and i stayed there for 6 nights at the end of June . We decided on Brooklane because of the excellent reviews on Tripadvisor.We were not disappointed. Everything about the hotel is great..It has all been said in previous reviews.But i feel that i must say Thank You to the hotels NO 1 assets..its staff.They were all extremely helpful and really set out to ensure that your stay was perfect.The room was very comfortable..We had dinner in the hotel on four of the six nights and It was 1st class..We look forward to visiting again and we expect that the piano player in the bar will have the jazz version of 'You Really Got Me' perfected by then. A most enjoyable visit.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gingerbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2009

Everything was good: the room, the pub for dinner or snacks, the location a few minutes from the center of town. The director and her colleagues were friendly, solicitous and helpful with directions to sights, etc. It would be a good place to stay awhile and travel around the beautiful area. You will feel very "at home."

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank webwiz99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2009

We stayed at Brooklane mid june. I booked a Standard room and asked for quiet location and got a room at rear of hotel. Beds very comfortable & decor pleasant. Bathroom was lovely ; water pressure very high so beware if you turn on the side hose over bath. Iron in wardrobe came in useful and bathrobes also, though we did not bother with these. Breakfast was fabulous escpecially the black and white pudding. Very good variety - kids would adore muffins for breakfast.....

We ate in the hotel on both evenings, one meal was included in our package and I have to say the food was fabulous. Very popular with local people in the evening dropping in for food in the Bar. The food is served in the bar area so seating can be abit limited if you are not eating. Staff are all very friendly and helpful with advice on places to go and also travel routes to take.

Location is ideal, for the Beara Peninusula and the Ring of Kerry. Some comments on TA that the road was quite noisy at night time - to be honest I thought it very quiet and was sorry I did not book the delux room at front of hotel. Overall great hotel, lovely staff, great location and would definitely return

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NIM-CAILIN-BEAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2009

We chose the Brook Lane as our base for the Ring of Kerry part of our 12 day Ireland trip to celebrate our 10th anniversary. I have to say, this was my favorite hotel of all the ones we stayed at in Ireland, and that included Ashford Castle. I was so happy we chose Kenmare as our base and not Killarney; I would recommend Kenmare over Killarney in a heartbeat; it is much smaller and much more charming. That being said, I will say we were there in early April before the height of tourist season, so the lack of crowds may have added to the charm of the town. The hotel itself is not right in the middle of Kenmare. It's probably about a 5 to 10 minute walk from the town center. We actually drove into Kenmare since there was ample parking; it took all of 1 minute to get there and park; at the height of tourist season, it may not be that easy. There is also a gas station/grocery store across the street which came in handy for snacks. We were in a room on the front of the hotel facing a road, but never had a problem with noise. The rooms are spacious, spotless, and well appointed. The bathroom was large and well supplied with toiletries and had a heated towel rack (after this trip, I was ready to install one at home). Breakfast was included with our rate and a great way to start the day; we had the full Irish breakfast, but there were other choices, as well as breads, fruit, and cereals. The restaurant attached to the hotel is rather good as well and moderately priced. The highlight of this hotel is it's staff. They make you feel like family being welcomed into their home. It's one of the friendliest staffs in a hotel we've ever encountered. They were amazing. Should I ever visit Kenmare, there will be no other choice for me.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimMnKnoxville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2009

Quiet setting close to town. Comfortable room with heated floor in bathroom. Very friendly, helpful staff, though sheets on bed not changed in 4 nights.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieBoomers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenmare
1.3 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
926 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
0.6 mi away
Park Hotel Kenmare
Park Hotel Kenmare
#4 of 6 in Kenmare
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Parknasilla Resort & Spa
11.4 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,158 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coachmans Townhouse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brook Lane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brook Lane Hotel

Property: Brook Lane Hotel
Address: Kenmare | County Kerry, Kenmare, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kenmare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Brook Lane Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brook Lane Hotel is Kenmare's only four star luxury Boutique Hotel. Family run and managed with all local Irish staff. In Casey's Bar and Award winning Restaurant we source all our produce locally using the freshest ingredients to make the tastiest of dishes. There is ample free car parking and complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. Live music weekly with Casey's Inhouse Band keeps locals and guests alike entertained with traditional Irish music. There is also a fantastic Irish Dancing show every Wednesday from 8pm! Phone direct for seasonal offers!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Brook Lane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brook Lane Kenmare
Hotel Brook Lane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing