We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's the little things...”
Review of Brook Lane Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brook Lane Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kenmare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 22, 2013

...and I'll get to those. But first. The sign out the front says "Really nice rooms.". True. It could also add "Really nice people", because that's also true. Rooms have been furnished with care and seemingly no expense spared. Quality fittings and fabrics make it a pleasure to stay here. Everything has been thought of, down to cotton balls in the bathroom, and, wait for it, superior toilet paper. See. The little things. Breakfast was outstanding. Baileys in the porridge? Who knew? But very very yummy. A delicious buffet with more than the usual cereal fare - smoked salmon and cheeses too. Nothing was too much trouble for anybody. Wish we could have stayed longer. Thanks Siobhaun and Una and well done on running such a fine etablishment. We are now staying away from the chains because the care and passion that people like you bring to your business really shows.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank jayjay163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenmaretourism, Una Brennan - Owner at Brook Lane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Thanks for your very uplifting review! Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Gone off to get that sign make now !
Best Wishes
Una Brennan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (947)
There are newer reviews for Brook Lane Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

584 - 590 of 947 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013

We recently held our christening party at the Brooklane Hotel and from the inital booking to the day itself was an absolute pleasure. The food was fantastic, there is a lovely menu to choose from and the staff were so welcoming and accommodating. I cannot recommend the Brooklane highly enough for any event/gathering and we'll definetly be going back for any future parties.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenmaretourism, Una Brennan - Owner at Brook Lane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Thank you for choosing Brook Lane Hotel for your recent Christening,really appreciate your nice comments ,Our private dining room is ideal for all those family occasions ,we often have Birthday parties ,retirement and small wedding functions
Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best Wishes
Una Brennan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Myself and a colleague called into this morning for a bit of grub. Would you believe we spent 20 minutes walking around the town looking for a place to have breakfast without any success. Was quite alarming considering Kenmare is renowned for it's cuisine. Nonetheless the welcome and service we got from the lady on duty was refreshing. She was very helpful and delivered on our every demand. The breakfast was scrumptous, particularly the home made sausages and also the brown bread. Wouldn't hesistate in returning, excellent customer service.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenmaretourism, Una Brennan Owner at Brook Lane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments ,all our breakfasts are cooked to order ,and we make our own sausages and air dried bacon , We are open 7 days from 8am to 9pm for food so look forward to welcoming you back again.
Best Regards
Una Brennan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Let me begin by saying that after we were shown to our room my husband turned to me, hugged me and said "thank you".

The Brook Lane is a relatively small but exceptional boutique hotel in what appears to be a great community. I'll lay out our experience chronologically with descriptions along the way...

Our approach included a drive through the main street of town and it was perfect. The buildings and storefronts were well groomed and there were plenty of restaurants and shops to choose from. Our first view of the hotel could be described much the same. A cute, well cared for property with it's own restaurant facility. We parked our rental in the drive on the left and checked in. Check in went smoothly and we were shown to our room. We stayed at 4 hotels during our adventure including 2 Hiltons and 2 highly regarded boutique hotels - our room here was our favorite.. thus the hug. Structurally the room was typical with a bed, a seat, a TV, a desk, a closet and a bathroom. What sets it apart is the quality of the fabrics, furniture and decorations - exceptional.

Breakfast is offered until 11 each morning and includes continental type buffet options as well as a kitchen menu for eggs and meats. It was convenient, great food and the folks hosting each morning were a pleasure to interact with. The restaurant on site for dinner is Casey's. The food in the restaurant is great from entrees to desserts. It can get a little crowded and it's pretty awesome to see the limited number of staff members move quickly to get folks through the restaurant. One night we were in for dinner a little early and got our food and drinks quickly. As we ate the restaurant got busy around us and we also realized there was a party in the other room. We knew we wanted dessert and coffee but patiently held back until the 2 servers got through the rush. Ultimately we never had an opportunity to order the dessert or coffee we had planned on even after trying to catch the eye of the two servers for 45 minutes or so with empty glasses. At this point we had been in the restaurant for nearly 3 hours as we had our dinner, patiently waited for the rush to pass and then tried to catch the eye of a server. Ultimately we walked up to the bar and just asked that our dinner be charged to our room and left. I was honestly disappointed in this experience as I had built great respect for the property and the people who work there. We actually found ourselves trying to isolate what we had done to initiate the poor service with questions like... Was having our tablet out to play games considered bad manners? Was it most important to provide the best service to likely repeat customers vs. folks just staying at the hotel for a few days? Did they think we were holding up the table (even though there were a minimum of 5 others open at all times) and wanted us to leave? Are they opposed to a guest having a couple of drinks with dinner and wanted to "cut us off" in fear of what a 3rd drink may do? Ultimately I don't know that any of these were true but we had such respect for people and quality of the facility during our short stay that we thought it must have been something we did.

Ultimately I LOVE this hotel and Una is a great proprietor that brings personality and care to the property that is exhibited by the others at the hotel. Heck, when she realized we had left without saying goodbye she came out to the parking lot say goodbye herself. I can say with 100% certainty that I would return to this property and recommend it to anyone who is travelling in the Killarney area. Casey's is great for a drink at the bar or for a tasty meal but I wouldn't necessarily recommend the restaurant for a longer, cozy evening experience.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ceazar_Zeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenmaretourism, Una Brennan Owner at Brook Lane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Superb review, really appreciate it and thank you for staying with us -I note your comments about the issue with service at dinner. I have highlighted this with the relevant staff.Hope to see you again on your next trip to Kenmare
Best Regards
Una Brennan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel totally lived up to our expectations. No real surprise with all the previous posts. The room,the bar and restaurant and especially the warm,friendly Irish staff all came to together to make our stay a wonderful experience. The hotel is only a short and pretty walk away from the center of a charming town and Kenmare itself is a great base for some stunning scenery.Very reasonable tariff with great inclusive breakfast. Highly recommend Brook Lane

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouisaSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenmaretourism, Una Brennan Owner at Brook Lane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review about Brook Lane Hotel,I agree Kenmare is an ideal base for touring the Ring of Kerry ,Ring of Beara and the Killarney National Park.We are a short 4 minute walk form Kenmare Town Centre.
Hope to see you again on your next trip to Kerry
Best Wishes
Una Brennan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Was attending a wedding in Kenmare and the bridal party booked us here, Excellent wifi, free parking, complimentary coffee and to cap it off a real Irish Breakfast. We were leaving early and the staff told us to help ourselves to coffee and continental breakfast before the stated opening time,

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank micra03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenmaretourism, Una Brennan Owner at Brook Lane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Fab Review ,thank you .Brook Lane Hotel is a great place to relax ,enjoy a nice glass of wine and sample our local artisan food ,Breakfasts are all cooked to order,we make our own sausages and dry cured bacon , and other pork products from our rare breed pigs
Best Wishes
Una Brennan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

this hotel ahs all to offer
ideal rooms food excellent great athmosphere very well laid out
i would reccomend this hotel to anyone
one of the best i have stayed in in and beautiful kenmare is an ideal setting for this place
family run hotel and you can see the pride they take in their buisness
hope to stay there again real soon

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobbyOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenmaretourism, Una Brennan Owner at Brook Lane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Thanks for your lovely and refreshing review,glad to see you will be returning sometime
Best Wishes
Una Brennan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenmare
1.3 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
970 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
0.6 mi away
Park Hotel Kenmare
Park Hotel Kenmare
#5 of 6 in Kenmare
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,298 reviews
13.0 mi away
Parknasilla Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Coachmans Townhouse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brook Lane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brook Lane Hotel

Address: Kenmare | County Kerry, Kenmare, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kenmare
Price Range: $105 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Brook Lane Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brook Lane Hotel is Kenmare's only four star luxury Boutique Hotel. Family run and managed with all local Irish staff. In Casey's Bar and Award winning Restaurant we source all our produce locally using the freshest ingredients to make the tastiest of dishes. There is ample free car parking and complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. Live music weekly with Casey's Inhouse Band keeps locals and guests alike entertained with traditional Irish music. There is also a fantastic Irish Dancing show every Wednesday from 8pm! Phone direct for seasonal offers!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Brook Lane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brook Lane Kenmare
Hotel Brook Lane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing