We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brook Lane Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Brook Lane Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kenmare
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

Stayed at the Brook Lane Hotel for 3 nights in March. The room was lovely with all amenities and included a full Irish breakfast. The hotel restaurant was also very nice. It made for a great base to make day trips and the town of Kenmare has lots of pubs/restaurants. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklane7, Una Brennan Owner at Brook Lane Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
Thanks for your review - appeciate your comments,Our Full Irish Breakfast is a real treat ,cooked to order with locally sourced ,bacon sausages and black puddings ,I agree with you Kenmare is a great base for touring the Ring of Kerry ,Ring of Beara and the Dingle Peninsula
Best Wishes and hope to see you soon again
Una
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    621
    141
    29
    8
    2
See reviews for
132
419
30
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cahir
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

The quality of the accommodation was excellent, warm, eclectic and beautifully appointed. The courtesy and friendliness of the staff is excellent. Food and service excellent. I would highly recommend this small, bijou hotel in Kenmare.

Mary Murphy,
Cahir

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklane7, Una Brennan Owner at Brook Lane Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
Thanks for your review and glad that you enjoyed your stay with us
Look forward to welcoming you back.
Best Regards
Una
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

I stayed here recently just for one night. The hotel itself is very well presented and beautifully decorated. Our room was very comfortable, clean and spacious. The bed was very cosy and big. However they could do with bringing in flat screen TV's into the rooms. Quite possibly they may have them in other rooms. There was also no fridge or safe in the room.
We had dinner in the bar and I must say it was very relaxed and welcoming. The food was also very good. The service over all was also very good and we must say a big a thank you to Siobhan and Pat who were very friendly and attentive. We would stay here again and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklane7, Una Brennan Owner at Brook Lane Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
Thanks for your nice review - glad you enjoyed it ,All bedrooms have a safe ,they are located on the third shelf on the right hand side of each wardrobe I will pass on your lovely comments about our food and service to Siobhan and Pat .Look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best Wishes
Una Brennan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dungarvan, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

The Brooklane is the perfect place to stay in Kenmare. The Staff are friendly and accomodating, the food is delicious, the rooms are comfortable and calming and the location is great. If you choose to stay here you will definately, as we have, come back again and again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklane7, Una Brennan Owner at Brook Lane Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
Fab Review ,thanks again for staying with us
Best Wishes
Una
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Everything about this hotel was excellent, food was superb and staff could not have been more helpful. Rooms are great size and spotless. Will stay here every time I visit Kenmare!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twentysixfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklane7, Una Brennan Owner at Brook Lane Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Thanks for your review and glad that you enjoyed your stay with us Look forward to welcoming you back soon .
Kind regards
Una Brennan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

We have just returned from a three night stay in the Brooklane hotel and loved it. This hotel is real gem, tucked away in Kenmare. When we arrived, we were quickly checked in and offered a very welcome cup of tea and a slice of a gorgeous fruit pie, which we had by the fire in the bar/restaurant. The rooms are very comfortable and decorated in a contemporary style, with every amenity we could wish for. The rate we booked was 2 nights BB and 1 evening meal with the 3rd night free. It was outstanding value. Breakfast was served every morning until 11am which is perfect. We are not early risers, especially on holiday! Dinner was also excellent, and the service at all times was professional, warm and friendly. We are avid travellers and have multiple trips away every year, usually abroad, and we can safely say that this hotel is up there with the best five star properties we have stayed in. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eidub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklane7, Una Brennan Owner at Brook Lane Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Fab review ,thank you ,great to see we are up there with your top five favourite hotels, Hopefully we wil have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon
Best Wishes
Una
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

Stayed with parents for two nights in the Brook Lane. The idea of a family apartment is an excellent one - it was a hotel 'room' consisting of two seperate bedrooms and a common area with both rooms ensuite.

There were several niggling little problems but all were solved by the staff and none of them caused any real complaint. Found a bottle of water behind the TV and a bag of crisps in a cupboard!! Bear in mind there are no shaver sockets in the apartment at present. The apartment, whilst nice, has been converted from a regular live-in apartment and as such feels a little unfinished. The old kitchen was just an empty room now and the balcony cannot be accessed. If they were to put a private hot-tub on that balcony the hotel would be onto a major winner.

Staff were extremely pleasent and the food was quite good. Portions are absolutely huge though so just go for Starter/Dessert or Main/Dessert. Three courses is just far too much food for one person!

Internet is 3mb wireless, use the wireless connection with the spaces in it (you'll see). Wasnt available in our room and could only get a reliable signal in the bar or at reception. It is free though.

Breakfast was nice and high quality food. No tea making facilities in the rooms so you have to call reception for complimentary tea. At first I was incensed at this but it warmed on me. You dont have to worry about those stupid little milk packets or running out of teabags so that gets a plus from me.

Overall, good stay and would go back but the hotel could do some small things to that apartment to make it absolutely amazing. Would recommend to friends though and location wise is bang on the Ring of Kerry and a short drive from some of the best landscapes there are.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank THE_Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklane7, Una Brennan Owner at Brook Lane Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Thanks for your review - appeciate your comments with regard to the studio apartment and will take them on board,Glad to see you will be back to see us
Best wishes
Una Brennan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenmare
1.4 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
4.5 of 5 stars 802 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
0.6 mi away
Park Hotel Kenmare
Park Hotel Kenmare
#4 of 6 in Kenmare
4.5 of 5 stars 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Parknasilla Resort & Spa
11.4 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#11 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 stars 1,774 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lansdowne Arms Hotel
Lansdowne Arms Hotel
#6 of 6 in Kenmare
4.0 of 5 stars 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brook Lane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brook Lane Hotel

Property: Brook Lane Hotel
Address: Kenmare | County Kerry, Kenmare, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kenmare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Brook Lane Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brook Lane Hotel is Kenmare's only four star luxury Boutique Hotel. Family run and managed with all local Irish staff. In Casey's Bar and Award winning Restaurant we source all our produce locally using the freshest ingredients to make the tastiest of dishes. There is ample free car parking and complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. Live music weekly with Casey's Inhouse Band keeps locals and guests alike entertained with traditional Irish music. There is also a fantastic Irish Dancing show every Wednesday from 8pm! Phone direct for seasonal offers!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Brook Lane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brook Lane Kenmare
Hotel Brook Lane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing