We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is beautiful!"”
Review of Rockcrest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rockcrest House
Ranked #1 of 60 Kenmare B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This place is beautiful!"”
Reviewed May 12, 2010

This was a great place, got it from the Rick Steves book and he was right on the button. I had a magnificent, spotlessly clean room with a great en suite bath (shower and tub) and Marion cooks a wonderful breakfast. She was helpful pointing me towards a great tour of the Beara Peninsula. The sheep across the street were better than any alarm clock. I'll be back!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debziadax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    505
    66
    19
    11
    4
See reviews for
112
360
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2010

It's a beautiful B&B with all the trimmings, except hospitality. We traveled in December, when daylight is short and time is precious. There was no flexibility of when breakfast was served (at 9 am, and verrry slowly). Worse yet, it is rather cold in December and we noticed that our room lost heat around 8:30 pm. We asked the owners and were told that they control the heat centrally in the evening, and turn it OFF. Again, no flexibility for freezing travelers, even when we asked if they could turn it back on. Breakfast was just OK, with incredibly slow service and the skimpiest servings we had of the 4 B&Bs we stayed in. If you like a nice view and fancy bathrooms, with rooms as cold as the hospitality, then book your reservation. Having stayed in Kenmare before, we will look for other accomodations next time. There are warmer options.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Satchel2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2010

I noticed that one reviewer stated that Rockcrest House does not accept vouchers. That is not true. My husband and I used vouchers when we stayed there in August 2009. We cannot say enough good things about the O'Dwyers! Marian and David were wonderful hosts and we really enjoyed our time with them. We visit Ireland as often as possible and always stay at Rockcrest whenever we are in the Kenmare area. We highly recommend this facility.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sneemkerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
1 review
Reviewed January 7, 2010

Had a WONDERFUL visit @ Rockcrest house! Had absolutely no issues with the vouchers! The B&B is in a perfect location. just a few minutes walking from town. Gorgeous views, very comfortable room, breakfast in the morning was delicious! I especially Loved the hot scones. Marian is a wonderful host who went out of her way to accomodate any of our needs.. Thanks so much for a great stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank letsgoCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviewed November 30, 2009

Rockcrest was in the book received from our travel agent Sceptre Tours. Upon arrival was told they had no rooms and it would be difficult to find a B&B so close to town. Then ended up putting us in another location they owned. Next morning at breakfast we sat with some people who had no reservations but were given rooms in late afternoon. We arrived at noon time. Rockcrest should not be in the voucher books. That was the only encounter we had on the entire trip regarding the vouchers. The owner was very nice however and serve us tea in late afternoon.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coti1232000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpelier, Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2009

This was my third trip to Rockcrest House renting the Sommerville home in Kenmare. Every year it just gets more relaxing and enjoyable. The facility is wonderful, bright and cheery. Using the Summerville House as our base my family and friends toured, hiked, played golf and just wandered the hills of this most beautiful part of Ireland. Everyday we would return home for drinks and appitizers before walking down town (a five minute walk) for dinner and entertainment. A special thanks to the O'Dwyer's for saving our charcoal grill which we used to cook some excellent local meats. This is truly a wonderful place to enjoy family and friends.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vermonter_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atl
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 21, 2009

The generosity and kindness that Marion displayed toward our whole family was genuine. When we had our first encounter I knew Marion was a people person. She had a bond with my mother. She called her granny. She offered tea to us and made sure my mother had her green tea. She also fixed a hot water bottle that she put in her bed so she would be warm. We came in around dinner time and she recommended Foley's. Very nice. When we got home my husband went for his wallet. Not there. She called down and spoke to the owner and he found the wallet. She went out of her way to accommodate all our needs. Breakfast was good. Best brown bread in Ireland! Did I metion she gave my mother the water bottle to take home with her.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dfratl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kenmare hotels
0.3 mi away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
912 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
1.2 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Park Hotel Kenmare
Park Hotel Kenmare
#4 of 6 in Kenmare
635 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coachmans Townhouse Hotel
0.2 mi away
O'Donnabhain's Guesthouse B&B & Townhouses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockcrest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockcrest House

Property: Rockcrest House
Address: Gortamullin, Kenmare, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Kenmare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rockcrest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Rockcrest House Luxury B&B Accommodation in Kenmare, designed with comfort in mind. Whether you want a relaxing weekend break or an action-packed outdoor adventure, it is the perfect place to spend your vacation and discover the joys of Kenmare and Kerry. At Rockcrest House we pride ourselves on providing a first-rate service in luxury surrounds at an affordable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Rockcrest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockcrest House Hotel Kenmare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing