We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B, Close to Everything, Super Hospitality!”
Review of Rockcrest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rockcrest House
Ranked #1 of 61 Kenmare B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2013

During our two week whirlwind honeymoon visit to Ireland, we only stayed in one place for multiple nights…and that was the Rockcrest House. This is an excellent B&B on so many levels. Location – excellent location in Kenmare (great spot for visiting Killarney, Killarney National Park, the Ring of Kerry, Dingle, etc.). Situated on a quiet hill, just a short walk from town, it is perfect. Accommodation – beautiful B&B with lovely dark wood furnishings…very comfortable bed…squeaky clean and sparkling throughout…gorgeous crystal everywhere you look…perfect. Value – very well priced...excellent. Breakfast – Marian served up breakfast to order each morning…taste was great…and she provided authentic hospitality and desire to please. Hospitality – Marian and David were welcoming and offered great hospitality – they even held the room for us when they got a last minute cancellation so we were able to stay an extra night. Highly recommend Kenmare for home base if visiting Killarney and Ring of Kerry...and most certainly recommend Rockcrest House as your home away from home!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k8iep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (628)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

321 - 327 of 628 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2013

We booked here due to the top ratings on TripAdvisor. Of the 5 B&Bs we stayed at to date in Ireland, this was our least favorite. First: If you are looking to stay in Kenmare, book the Sea Shore Farm for 10E pp more. It is worth it. We could only stay with them one night due to their being full the next two nights and we stayed instead at Rockcrest - and Rockcrest could not compare. Smaller, less elegant rooms, harder beds, owner polite but not nearly as genuine. Linens and pillows below average.

Room Tip: Room #5 at the end of the hall does not get wifi. You must sit in the living room to obtain a signa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thunefeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We recently returned from our first trip to Ireland and our stay at Rockcrest House was by far our favorite B&B. It was everything we imagined and hoped an Irish B&B would be. The house and gardens were lovely, our host and hostess were wonderfully welcoming, helpful and full of the best information and suggestions. Our rooms were large, comfortable, beautifully appointed and had beautiful views. The ensuite bathes were spacious, modern and immaculate. Each day began with delicious breakfast choices and ended with a short stroll into the town for dinner and a little shopping. The only drawback was that our stay was too brief.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We had high hopes for Rockcrest House based on the reviews we had read and we are happy to say our hopes were met and surpassed! We enjoyed everything about our stay from the ideal location, the beautiful rooms with ensuite baths, the delicious breakfasts and our gracious hosts. We stayed 2 nights but would have loved to stay longer. Hopefully we will be able to return soon!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in a wonderful, clean house with great hosts. The breakfast started our day really well and the location was perfect for a quick, short walk into town. We enjoyed the lounge downstairs for a chat in the evening (we were a family of 5) and the gardens were beautiful.
We look forward to coming back again.

Room Tip: The room on the top floor looking out over the mountains was first class.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thesharrons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed two nights before heading to Killarney. We were not huge fans of Killarney and headed back to Kenmare. Great B&B! Clean, nice rooms. Ten minutes max walk from town. Great breakfast and even snacks in the evening. We will be back if we ever return to Ireland.

Room Tip: Try to get the front upstairs room for a romantic get away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iRun2EatFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

My friend and I recently stayed two nights at the Rockcrest House, and we wished we could have stayed longer! This B & B is gorgeous and spotlessly clean! And the owners are friendly and generous, and their breakfasts are delicious! Can't recommend it high enough. You will not be disappointed!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheryl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kenmare hotels
0.3 mi away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
959 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
1.1 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Park Hotel Kenmare
Park Hotel Kenmare
#4 of 6 in Kenmare
676 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coachmans Townhouse Hotel
0.2 mi away
O'Donnabhain's Guesthouse B&B & Townhouses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockcrest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockcrest House

Address: | Gortamullen, Kenmare, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Kenmare
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Kenmare
Price Range: $98 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rockcrest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Rockcrest House Luxury B&B Accommodation in Kenmare, designed with comfort in mind. Whether you want a relaxing weekend break or an action-packed outdoor adventure, it is the perfect place to spend your vacation and discover the joys of Kenmare and Kerry. At Rockcrest House we pride ourselves on providing a first-rate service in luxury surrounds at an affordable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Rockcrest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockcrest House Hotel Kenmare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing